A Titanic Proposal

In which the author takes complete leave of reality, virtual or otherwise, and then puts a lot of random things in bold type.

Krones over at Plaguelands has been playing one of my favorite EVEMon games, which is:

HOW SOON CAN I FLY A TITAN?

Actually, he was writing about a bit more than that in his post, but he mentions doing this in there, I swear.

Playing this was something I started doing as soon as I found out what a Titan was.

At first I thought a Titan was some sort of giant, armored, space Trojan, but it turned out I was just looking at the Amarr version.

Side Note: All non-authoritative posts about Titans, and you don’t get much further from authoritative than you do around here, must, by custom, make reference to the phallic shape of the Amarr Titan.  There is a good shot of its shape linked to this post.  The Amarr Titan is actually called an Avatar, a name that would certainly fit if it showed up in Second Life, where phallic Avatars are quite common.

Anyway, how do you play?

You open up EVEMon… you have EVEMon, right?  If not, go get it here and set it up for your character already. (You need a character in EVE Online as well, so if you don’t, don’t bother grabbing EVEMon.)

Anyway, open up EVE Mon, create a new plan, go to the ship browser, select the Titan of your choice (Caldari Leviathan for me, please), and click the “Add Skills to Plan” button.

It is likely that you will get a “Suggestion” at the bottom the window that will help bring in the date a little bit.  Go ahead and add that to the plan as well.

For Wilhelm, my main, the answer consists of 22 skills with a total training time of:

168 Days, 15 hours, 14 minutes, and 19 seconds.

That assumes perfect end-to-end skill training, something that even I am not obsessive-compulsive enough to accomplish.

With some time slippage between skills, I could still reasonably be capable of flying a Leviathan by April Fool’s Day, 2008, if I start on the plan this week.

Even my miner, who is considerably behind Wilhelm in skill points, could been guiding that Leviathan around in EVE by June 1st, 2008.

Both plans are dominated by a few long duration skills:

Advance Spaceship Command V: 27 Days
Caldari Battleships V: 43 Days
Capital Ships V: 76 Days

Three skills, 143 days of training.

Of course, this plan assumes a few other things as well.

The first is that I have the attention span to fulfill the plan.  I have 18 days to go before my miner can fly a Hulk and I can barely stand it.  It is far more likely that around day 40 I would suddenly decided I wanted to be capable of building a player owed space station and veer off on some other training plan.

The second is that I could somehow afford it.  These skills cost money.  The total estimated cost for the skills is 5.5 billion ISK, a number I am about 5.498 billion ISK shy of at the moment.

The most expensive one is the Caldari Titan skill, which is 5 billion ISK alone.

That pretty much dwarfs the second in line, Capital Ships, which is a mere 400 million ISK.

And the third and final assumption is that I could actually do something with this skill if I actually overcame the previous assumptions.

EVE Mon tells me that a Titan is worth about 50 billion ISK.  That is a lot of dough, Jack.

The problem is, I cannot just go out and buy one, even if I had 50 billion ISK jangling around in my pocket.  This isn’t a Caracal, a ship I now have experience buying.

I have to build the damn thing.

Building a Titan requires skills in and of itself, dominated primarily by the 67 days for Capital Ship Construction V.  At least that skill is only 75 million ISK to purchase.

So skills to build and fly put me out to August 1st, 2008.

And while I am out picking up those skills, I might as well buy the blueprint I will need for the final assembly of the ship, which runs a steep 63 billion ISK, but which is at least readily available.

And then we get to the bill of materials for the Titan.

Oh boy!  Look, we don’t even want to start listing this out, do we?  Go in game, find the blueprint on the market and look at the bill of materials.  I need over 6700 parts of 16 different types to assemble this dream ship.  Alliances spend a lot of time building these pieces.  But let’s assume we can buy them readily on the market.  A cursory look at the price of parts shows them between 5 and 9 million ISK a piece, so that is where the 50 billion ISK price comes in.

Then, with my skills all set, the parts on hand, and the blueprint ready, I just put it all in the oven for 8 weeks and, boom, my very own Titan!

I just have to have 120 billion ISK sitting around and about a year of training and construction time.  I would actually only need about 55 billion up front to get the skills rolling and to start buying up the parts, and could hold off on the 63 million blueprint until near the end.  That gives me plenty of time to earn the money for it!

And I had best earn a little extra money, since I probably want to equip the ship when I am done.

Then, within a few days of being done, somebody will come by and blow it up I am sure.

The one thing I do wonder, after the all of the silliness above, is whether it is worth it to skill up Capital Ship Construction and start building parts that could be used for a Titan.  Is there any market there, or are alliances pretty much self-sufficient when it comes to production?

10 thoughts on “A Titanic Proposal

  1. syncaine

    You forgot the assumption that you have access to a capital ship yard, in 0.0 space. Oh, and that the ship yard does not get blown up in the 8 weeks that you are building the titan. If it does, bye bye 50 billion ISK.

    Other than that though, getting a Titan is somewhat easy, right?

    Like

  2. Wilhelm2451 Post author

    Oh, I cannot just submit that job at the Caldari Navy Assembly Plant in Jita? Ooops.

    I guess a diversion into player built/owned stations would indeed be justified!

    Like

  3. krones

    All I need to do is win the lottery and the Titan will be mine. When the reporters ask me what am I going to buy first during the flaunt your massive cardboard check ceremony I’ll respond with, “I’m buying a Titan and then a flying octopus, beyotccch!” A flying Octopus could be handy, I’d train it to slay other octopuses that didn’t fly.

    I play EVEmon more than Eve. I guess this is normal activity for super noobs. I’m a station simmer.

    Like

  4. Debes

    Right. Clone bay, jump portal, etc, etc.

    Any alliance building a titan will be self-sufficient. Those parts are also used for moms, carriers, dreads, and freighters which do have a non-bob market, however. You might be able to make some cash there, but I’m not familiar with the market myself.

    Like

  5. BitterOldPunk

    I was doing back-of-the-envelope calculations with Eve Mon on this very subject today. Then two prat battleships ate my hapless mining Osprey for lunch and I came abruptly back to reality. Yikes.

    Staring at my pod twirling in station, I thought, maybe I should stay docked and train some trade skills. Do some manufacturing. Maybe some mineral research. Nice, safe mineral research.

    Like

  6. Eric

    From what I remember people in my corp used to make money by building some of those parts, but as someone mentioned above, they are also used in carrier production. Maybe carrier production is something you’d want to look into for the future.

    Like

  7. Crazykinux

    Eh eh, never knew about the EVEMon game. Now I’ve got hours of pleasure (or torture) ahead of me!!

    Looking at flying an Obelisk, there are two things I notice: on the good side I’m less than 2 hours away to be qualified to fly one, on the flip side, I gotta find over 700million ISKs to buy one!

    Like

  8. Escoce

    You know, its funny but its REALLY funny, but speaking of the obelisk. Before you own one, it takes forever to make the money you need to buy one. Once you own one though, your income potential skyrockets and you can make back the cost of the obelisk in a week or two.

    It’s a big difference and changes your attitude towards the game. Money becomes the enabler and lets you do ricky things you would never have thought of doing before.

    Like

Voice your opinion... but be nice about it...

