A Tech II Blueprint At Last!

After eight tries, at roughly 2 million ISK a try, I finally saw this message:

chrigsuccess.png

Yes, I successfully created a Cargohold Optimization II Blueprint!

Of course, again, EVE has a new twist in store for me.

The blueprint copies I was working with allowed 100 runs. I thought, somehow, that the number of runs I would end up with on the tech II end of thing would be a number… well.. BIGGER THAN ONE!

chrigbpc2.png

250 million ISK invested and I finally see a result, only that result is not so valuable at all.

Yes, much of what I invested went towards skills, which I get to keep and which I can continue to use, but I thought I might be able to get some of my investment back. However, looking at the contracts market, somebody is trying to sell the same blueprint, only with three runs (is that another random factor?) for 50 million ISK and failing, so the outlook for my being able to sell in single run copy for much… if I am able to sell it at all… looks pretty bleak.

Still, I actually possessed the blueprint now. That is something, right?

I thought perhaps I could use the blueprint to produce some tech II rigs myself and sell them to help make some of my money back. But then I looked at the bill of materials.

chrigbom.png

I have never received any of these items as a salvage drop, so I went to the market to get pricing. I found the following average prices:

  • Interface Circuit: 3 million ISK each (37)
  • Power Circuit: 5 million ISK each (22)
  • Single-crystal Superalloy I-Beam: 6 million ISK each (31)
  • R.A.M.-Armor/Hull Tech: 40K ISK (1 per run)

So to make ONE of these, I need 407 million ISK which, ironically, is almost exactly how much ISK I had when I started this little project. And, if I want to use the blueprint’s single run to its maximum, I would need a cool 4 billion ISK. Ouch.

So it appears that in my desire to explore invention, I have really pursued the wrong path as I cannot get back to where I was and I cannot afford to go forward.

Anybody want to buy a blueprint?

13 responses to “A Tech II Blueprint At Last!

  1. All of those materials except the RAM can only be salvaged from Tech 2 wrecks – i.e. Players in the Assault Frigates, Force Recons, Interceptors and the like, so not easy to get hold of. As far as I know, no NPCs drop those, although possibly they might turn up in 0.0 Magnetometric exploration sites?

    Want to buy some datacores? :D

  2. I’ll trade you a tech II blueprint for some!

    Ethic, as I understand it (which means I could be totally wrong), you can only copy blueprint originals. If you could do invention, make a tech II blueprint, then copy that for all it was worth, the market would quickly be saturated.

    But I haven’t actually tried to copy it, so I could be wrong

  3. Wilhelm2451, you’re quite right. Invention only creates BPCs – and only BPOs can be copied.

  4. Tech 2 salvage drops from any ship, but tech 2 ships drop more, and bigger ships drop more. Want some tech 2 salvage, kill a blackops BS. :)

    That said, t2 rigs are VERY rare and expensive in relation to other t2 items. I’d suggest to recoup losses on skills and so on, go for t2 ammo or mods. I believe they have a higher success rate than ships or rigs.

    Furthermore, the number of runs and the quality is determined by what decryptor you use, but I’m not a carebear like you lost, so all of my knowledge is only what I picked up in passing.

  5. invention has basic items it needs the bpc, the interface and the datacores
    The numer of runs on the bpc is important it influences the end result
    most ships though only get 1 run so there its not so a factor
    But you can also add a decryptor that alters your invention
    there are those dat give better succes chance some more runs , some less waste etc
    So they are a must if you want to make money in invention
    second you can increase your succes rate by adding an item to your invention ,preference a better meta level then a t1 mod(must be same mod and meta level is displayed on mod info page

    for now I would suggest get some good r&d agents and get mechanical datacore, it’s like free isks in the game as they are wanted and you can use them too in you invention

    if you feel any better my first succes was a 1 run t2 cap recharger
    made it and still have it :)

    and a rig t2 bpc is worth money i’m sure you’ll be able to sell it but to start invention do something easy like a mod
    ships for instance have 50% les chance off succeeding vs mods

    don’t give up now you made the biggest step you got the skills and the interface now start making a profit :)

  6. Think you have to use a bpc with the max amount of runs to get more runs per copy, though the math seems to be a little vague. One seems very low, bad luck I think :(.

  7. Oy that sucks.. I JUST finished training the skills I needed to start invention.. I was going to start with small stuff, like drones..

    Good information here though.. I’ll happily learn from your experiences!

  8. if you are going for invention make sure you get those skills up to lev V
    below to much risk of not succeeding

  9. Pingback: Invention

  10. I like to rat in .5 space in DED 4 areas and have looted Interface circuit, Logic Circuit, Micro Circuit and Power Circuit from the larger ships in the DED 4 spaces. Over the past 6 months I’ve amassed about 50 of the above, combined.

    I also looted a blueprint copy for the DareDevil. It has a production limit of 30. I have enough materials to make all 30. How do I tell it to make all 30?

    Thanks

  11. Invention is both easy and much cheaper than buying.

    I plan on making Wolves.

    so on Market 30 – 40 mill each

    I have brought everything including books and items to make at least 2
    total cost 100mill and a bit

    however now each wolf costs me roughly 5mill to make

    at 300 mill sell price I make 25mill a go

    plus I get a wolf

Voice your opinion... but be nice about it...

