jump to navigation

And So Went The Azeroth Advisor February 4, 2010

Posted by Wilhelm Arcturus in entertainment, World of Warcraft.
Tags: ,
trackback

I’ve meant to do a quick post on this cool thing called the Azeroth Advisor for a while now.

When I first tried it my main characters were level 80 and its value was somewhat dubious.  But then we re-rolled horde and its guide to where to adventure and annotated maps became useful.

But this morning I found this in my mail box:

Thank you for being a subscriber to the Azeroth Advisor.

We are writing to inform you that as of February 17, 2010, the Azeroth Advisor service will be discontinued. Over the past two years, we’ve really enjoyed providing personalized guidance for new and experienced players of Blizzard’s World of Warcraft. However, we’ve decided to focus on the development of our own entertainment products, including our upcoming MMO codenamed Copernicus.

For the next 2 weeks, please continue to use the Advisor services, and take the time to save your maps and newsletters offline for future reference. After February 17, we recommend removing the Advisor add-on from your WoW AddOns directory and deleting the service from your launch items (instructions for doing so can be found below).

If you’ve enjoyed the Azeroth Advisor, we encourage you to sign up for the 38 Studios newsletter to ensure that you’ll be among the first to hear news about Copernicus and other products. You can also follow our feeds on Facebook and Twitter, or visit our official website. (Please note that this will be the only email you receive from 38 Studios unless you opt-in to receive the 38 Studios newsletter.)

Look forward to exciting news from 38 Studios in the coming months. We’ve sincerely appreciated being able to contribute to your enjoyment of World of Warcraft, and we wish you all the best.

Thanks!
The Azeroth Advisor Team at 38 Studios

So that is one more post I waited long enough on for it to be moot.  Yay for efficiency.

38 Studios, which sounds like they are a bit on the edge when it comes to money, or at least when it comes to Curt’s money, bought this little site, tinkered with it a bit, then threw it away.

Buh-bye Azeroth Advisor.

What else do you say at that point?

We’ll never know how Azeroth Advisor might have done if 38 Studios hadn’t bought it.  It was a pay-to-play service before 38 Studios acquired them, which might have fit in better with some site like FilePlanet or Curse.  I was never clear on why 38 Studios did buy it, not that I expect them to explain such things to me personally.  There was some tech there they wanted I would guess.  But they did buy it, I hope they got what they wanted, because now they’ve killed it.

If you were using the tool because you played WoW and found it useful, you might be excused for not jumping for joy and running off to sign up for the 38 Studios newsletter.

Comments»

1. Jason - February 4, 2010

I would suspect they bought it for the technology. An idea they felt was worth investing in for their own future game. Now that they’ve worked out all the bugs, kicked the tires and all that, I’d expect a similar Advisor system to be present when they finally launch their own game.

Like

2. Esri - February 4, 2010

I was disappointed to learn the Advisor was going away. I’ve quite enjoyed using it. But I suspected when 38 Studios bought it that they’d get what they wanted out of it and then let it go. Of course, I didn’t play WoW or use the Advisor then. ;)

I’m hoping they do put the Advisor idea to good use in Copernicus. It’s quite a fun little tool.

Like

3. Genda - February 4, 2010

I remember when they bought it that they were interested in the tech, and decided to continue to operate it for whatever reason. With the recently reported concerns about (lack of) outside investment I can see this as a non-essential operation that they have decided to cut loose.

Like

4. boatorious - February 5, 2010

It’s a shame blizzard decided that they wouldn’t allow paid addons — a lot of great addons and resources have either gone away or just have never been made . It’s also a little puzzling since they are going to sell maps in SC2.

Like

5. We Fly Spitfires - February 5, 2010

I think I signed up but then never installed the software for it. I didn’t really see it as being necessary. With add-ons like QuestHelper the game is kinda easy enough as it is.

Like

6. Wilhelm2451 - February 5, 2010

QuestHelper is a little more focused than AA was.

There wasn’t really an in-game addon aspect to AA. You would run the uploader tool and the service would mail you a report on your characters with information about what zones were viable to quest in at your level, what instances were within reach, what new skills you might have gotten, tips about battlegrounds, and how some of your stats compared up against the average user.

Plus it would send you annotated maps of zones to help you find the quest givers in the first place.

For a level 80 character, not so useful as I said. But if you were new to WoW and MMOs, it might be quite handy. Except that it will be gone in 12 days.

Like

7. Saylah - February 9, 2010

I loved AA. It was a bit of RP genius that tied something external to the game. I could read about what I’d done recently and where I, my character was going next. I think AA is more of a magazine than an add-on or tool. I looked forward to getting it like I enjoy getting the next copy of Living, Bon Appetite, Poets & Writers, etc. How awesome it would be to have for Allods going in from the start. :-( I’d actually pay to have something like this for my MMOs. Yeah, I’d drop 2-bucks a month for a personalized newsletter, in the RP context of the game.

Like

8. Exavier - January 5, 2012

I used to write for the Azeroth Advisor before I quit WoW. They had me working on the WotlK beta and pretty much anything related to Death Knights (in beta anyway) and anything for end-game content relating to Paladins, specifically Retribution. I had a hard time understanding why people would pay for it though, considering there’s so much free, easily-accessible information on the ‘net, but after reading a few of their articles I realized they only hired the best. I was pretty honored to have been a part of the team before they got bought out, they were great.

This was the first of two articles I did on Retribution that got them interested in me:

http://wowarchive.yg.com/thread.html?topicId=104544938&sid=1&pageNo=1

Like

9. Exavier - January 5, 2012

Err, three*.

Like


Voice your opinion... but be nice about it...

