jump to navigation

Do I Put My Gear Score on My Resume or Not? July 1, 2010

Posted by Wilhelm Arcturus in Blizzard, Casual Games, entertainment, Humor, World of Warcraft.
Tags: , , , ,
trackback

Every time I read something that says that being a gamer is something you should hide when you’re looking for a job outside of the game industry, I then proceed to turn around and find myself staring at an article like this, where a Fortune 500 exec, the CIO of Starbucks, claims that WoW made him the success he is today.  He even has his own blog about it.

How strongly does Gillett believe in the ties between Warcraft and business? Strong enough to warrant a blog dedicated to the subject, run by the CIO himself. And it doesn’t take long to see how running a guild and running a business are, in some ways, one and the same.

And that article points to a Forbes piece about how Entrepreneurs Get An Edge Playing Video Games. (Forbes is also telling us about the next FarmVille while they’re at it.  You can see that money draws attention.)

Of course, these guys are running raiding guilds and demonstrating the virtues of successful leadership both in and out of the game, while I’m just some bozo who likes to pretend he’s running around killing orcs, usually defying the “massive” part of the game by sticking to small groups.

Therein lies the difference.

I think I’ll leave WoW, LOTRO, and this blog off my resume for now.  Something like, say, finding Mankrik’s Wife unaided in the pre-Quest Helper days just doesn’t have the same effect.

[Homework: Find a successful, non-gaming industry exec who leads a guild in an MMO other than WoW.]

[Extra Credit Homework: Find a non-gaming industry exec who says that FarmVille, or any casual game, has contributed to his success in the workplace.]

Comments»

1. Bronte - July 1, 2010

[Homework: Find a successful, non-gaming industry exec who leads a guild in an MMO other than WoW.]

[Extra Credit Homework: Find a non-gaming industry exec who says that FarmVille, or any casual game, has contributed to his success in the workplace.]

The first is attainable. In fact I think you will be able to find someone without too much trouble.

The second one is also doable. On the same day pigs fly. And fell freezes over. And the Sox win the World Series again

2. We Fly Spitfires - July 1, 2010

Thing is, if the CEO of a huge company says he plays MMOs then everything thinks it fantastic. If the poor shmuck looking for a job sticks it on his CV then everyone thinks he’s a weirdo :D

3. sid67 - July 1, 2010

A few months ago I was in meeting and my bosses’ boss wanted to take a bio break. Until that point, I had never heard the term used outside of WoW. Made me wonder if he played WoW…

I’m certain I’ve given queues over the years that might have gave me away. The hardest habit to break for me is to NOT type “kk” in Instant Messages.

4. Green Armadillo - July 1, 2010

You and I at least have blogs to show for our hobby. That’s a tangible product that can exhibit positive qualities, such as initiative (to start and carry out a project), writing skills, analysis, and general online communication literacy. I have listed PVD on my resume when I feel that these are relevant credentials for the job I am applying for, though it’s not on my generic resume or my social networking profiles.

The people I feel bad for are the regular gamers who add facebook apps from MMORPG marketing departments to their profiles. There’s usually little to no benefit to the individual player for doing so, and my suspicion is that relatively few of the people who click the “like” button are fully aware that they’re sharing this information with potential employers without any context that would make doing so advantageous.

Perhaps there is a broader societal good to “outing” gamers who are continuing to carry out productive lives as a demonstration that it is possible to play MMORPG’s without job-ruining consequences. I’m just concerned that these types of social media promotions are unethical because the participants may not understand what they’re consenting to.

5. Kendricke - July 1, 2010

Bronte: far, far too easy. ;)

6. Wilhelm2451 - July 1, 2010

@Bronte: The homework was for the reader, not for me.

@Kendricke: Then share with the rest of the class please.

7. HarbingerZero - July 2, 2010

I don’t think this quite fits either category, but Kenyon Wells, one of the guys profiled in the documentary Darkon claims that the titular LARP group is the reason he is a successful business manager. He believes that leading his fantasy kingdom/clan gave him the confidence and social skills that led him to a) apply for the promotion and b) interview well enough to get it.

Whether or not he told his boss that is another story I guess, but part of the documentary does take place in his office at work, so…

To me this is a rehash of twenty (thirty?) years ago. In the eighties it was instant social/economic death to admit to playing DnD. Nowadays when it comes up in conversation, its usually followed by, “oh wow, yeah, me too, how cool is that.” I’m willing to bet we are on the front end of that transition process now with MMO’s…

8. Stabs - July 2, 2010

Regarding resumes you need to bear in mind what a resume is trying to do. It’s trying to get you noticed, to get you an interview, rather than being chucked in the bin with all the 200 other similar resumes they got for the same job.

You need to put something on your cv that removes it from the all too common
- I went to school, plus college
- I have done a few vaguely similar jobs
- I claim to have good IT skills and good people skills (just like everyone else who applies for any job anywhere).

Leader of a world first WoW raid guild would I think be pretty eye-catching. If 10% of the time it gets you an interview and 10% of the time it sends your resume straight to the bin then that’s actually an improvement if 99% of the time your resume goes straight to the bin anyway.

It does need to be something impressive in game to other WoW players though – stating that you demonstrated diligence teamwork and mental strength by leveling a character all the way to 20 will get called out.

That being said I don’t admit to playing MMOs myself. Because of what comes after a successful interview. If I get a job where they know I’m a MMO addict then any time I arrive late looking bleary or phone in sick they have to be wondering if I was up to 4am raiding. I’d prefer not to encourage them to think along those lines.

9. The Best Of The Rest: Why’d You Have To Go And Declare Independence Edition - We Fly Spitfires – MMORPG Blog - July 4, 2010

[...] The Ancient Gaming Noob asks if he should put MMOs on his CV or not. [...]


Voice your opinion... but be nice about it...

