jump to navigation

One More Hallow’s End Achievement To Go October 26, 2010

Posted by Wilhelm Arcturus in Blizzard, entertainment, World of Warcraft.
Tags: , ,
trackback

Again, as with Brewfest, the completionist in me wants to finish off that one last Hallow’s End achievement.

Unfortunately, that last achievement for Hallow’s End is a bit of a pain.  This will be my third year on it and it is simple a matter of luck as to whether it gets done or not.

Two Masks Left

Right now though, rather like Gordon, I am feeling a bit of WoW malaise.  Cataclysm is a month away.  I’ve been on, read up on my specs, tried out the new skills on a few characters, but am generally in a holding pattern until Cataclysm hits and the instance group returns to Azeroth.

So I am not on enough, or interested in logging on enough, to go do a trick or treat every hour in hopes of getting those last two masks.  Blood Elf masks.  Damn Blood Elves.

I do get on to do the Headless Horseman once a day.  I was having a problem with WoW locking up during the Headless Horseman event.  Fortunately, Larisa was having the same issue, and a comment on her post pointed me to an addon that fixes a tool tip crash that seems to be afflicting WoW of late.

The addon basically suppresses tool tips and prints them out in your chat window instead.  A simple fix.

Not that my locking up seemed to slow down the demise of the Headless Horseman.  Even with a disconnected Ret Pally, three groups I was in killed him and I logged back on to find I had the daily quest done.

So I suspect that I won’t finish this achievement again, despite this being my third run through Hallow’s End.  We shall see.

Comments»

1. Gavendo - October 26, 2010

I feel your pain. A guildie and good friend of mine is also on her third year trying to get this achievement and stuck at 3 masks left.

I’m on my 2nd year and I’m missing 2 masks. RNG is a cruel lady however and I’m guessing I’ll spend a few more years working on this achievement. :)

Cheers,
Gav

2. *vlad* - October 27, 2010

You are doing well to have so many masks. I think I have half as many, but then logging on to do just this every hour is as tedious as feeding a tamagotchi.

3. Wilhelm2451 - October 27, 2010

We were pretty into it last year and the year before, so I am well along with the masks.

And tonight I got the Blood Elf Male mask, so just one to go. And what a tease if I don’t get it. Bleh.

4. ScytheNoire - November 1, 2010

I started this season needing only four more of the masks to complete my list, only got two during this season. So two left, and that was for most of the holiday. I hate RNG.

On the other hand, the Sinister Squashling and Headless Horseman mount were dropping like crazy for just about every one. They really upped the drop rate for those.


Voice your opinion... but be nice about it...

