LOTRO Survey – Not for 64-bit

Turbine sent me an email asking me to take a survey.  They want to make the game better and all that.

Aragorn wants to know what you think!

The poll starts off in a common enough way.  They ask about what game systems you own, what gaming and news sites you read, what MMOs you’re aware of, and what MMOs you play.

Then, once you’ve gone through a couple of layers of that, the poll put up a confidentiality agreement.

They want to show you something new and cool.  You can’t tell anybody, but they want to know what you think.

You just have to download this plugin for your browser.

Only that plugin doesn’t work with 64-bit operating systems.

No special secret cool preview thingy for me I guess.

I have to wonder how this will skew their results?

I am going to guess that you’re more hardcore gamer is going to have gone for 64-bit to be able to access more RAM.

Anyway, the future path of LOTRO is apparently in the hands of those with 4GB or less of RAM in their system.

8 thoughts on “LOTRO Survey – Not for 64-bit

  1. stargrace

    I too did this survey, then was told (with no message etc) that I didn’t qualify to progress the survey any further, and thanks for the 10 minutes it took me to fill all of that out. Ah well.

    Like

  2. Dickie

    I didn’t even get that far. After entering my age, I was told I didn’t qualify. Apparently the 24-45 year old male set isn’t what they’re going after with this survey.

    Like

  3. Wilhelm2451 Post author

    @Dickie – Well, I fall into that age range (for the moment) and they were ready to show me cool stuff… until I hit the 64-bit problem. But I also got to answer that I had a Wii, a DS, a Mac, and a PC on the game platform page. Maybe that made things roll my way.

    Like

  4. mbp

    This is quite bizarre. It isn’t just hardcore gamers who have 64 bit these days. For some time now even the most unambitious high street machines have been 64 bit.

    Are you sure this isn’t a scam?

    By the way the title of your post scared me. For a moment I was worried that the main client had some problem with 64 bit.

    Like

  5. Juan

    I took the entire survey. 24-45 year old male. 32-bit OS.
    You didn’t miss a thing. At most, it would be considered some readily realizable ways of monetization.
    And, no, there wasn’t a Title given at the end of completing the ‘Survey Deed’. Bummer.

    Like

  6. wraith808

    This quite bizarre… I was able to progress quite far, then it told me Chrome wasn’t supported. So I switched to Firefox (I was curious after what happened to you), and went along for a while more… then it told me that it couldn’t display an image. So I tried it in IE, and had the same problem. Their sampling is going to be quite small…

    Like

  7. Wilhelm2451 Post author

    @Juan – If there had been a title at then end, I would have gone and taken the survey on the wife’s computer.

    @Wraith – Yeah, they teach you all the foibles of effective and accurate survey taking in college if you take statistics. It is always disappointing to see people make those mistakes anyway.

    Like

Voice your opinion... but be nice about it...

