Daily Archives: February 11, 2011

Truly the Official World of Warcraft Magazine!

They just had to ship four issues of the magazine within a year to live up to being a “quarterly” publication.

But here it is, a year and a month since I wrote about the first issue of the magazine (which is to say, some time after I received and read it) and that fourth issue is nowhere in sight.  Issue two showed up in May, and issue three just after BlizzCon back in October.  But now we’re in February.

And lest you think I misread the fine print, here is what you see when you go the magazine site to subscribe:

One year, four issues.

The site itself still shows the cover for issue three, so I’m pretty sure I didn’t miss issue four somehow.  They were all keen to get me to resubscribe a while back lest I miss an issue.  It looks like that was a bit of an exaggeration.

Who knew that when Future US took on the job of creating a WoW magazine that they would also adopt the Blizzard credo of slipping dates and shipping only when they were ready?

فأر أبيض

That was a search term that brought somebody here.

فأر أبيض

That’s a new one on me.

Actually, it isn’t a new one on me.

It means, approximately, white mouse according to Google.

In Arabic, of course.

Interesting fact: When you cut and paste Arabic, it goes from right to left.  Which makes sense, since the language is read from right to left.  I’m just surprised to find that Microsoft knows that.  And makes it work right.  Sort of.

If you’re going to paste Arabic into a post that is otherwise in English, write the English part first, then do your pasting.  Because once you’ve pasted that into your text editor, the cursor can’t decide which direction it is going.  There is the Microsoft touch I was looking for.

But we were talking about white mice.  Or “white mouse” rather.

I get a surprising number of people coming here for that particular search term because I once did a post that featured a white mouse picture.  The post was about Derek Smart.

But nobody comes here for anything about Derek Smart.

They’re here for the picture.  This picture.

The internet.

It is apparently organized like my mother-in-law’s house.

Really.  That isn’t a mother-in-law joke.

That one is reserved just for my mother-in-law.

If you’ve been to her house, you would understand.