jump to navigation

The Wait is Over… For Some… December 13, 2011

Posted by Wilhelm Arcturus in entertainment, Star Wars: The Old Republic.
Tags:
trackback

A bunch of very happy people got this message in their email.  They can start playing Star Wars: The Old Republic today.  A list of servers await them, or one server if their guild has been assigned.

Early Access Invite

I hope nobody missed out because they sent one to me.  Sorry!

And, on a tangential note, I hope EA and BioWare have a lot of authenticators lined up to sell and can get them in the EA store soon.  Judging from my Google traffic, a lot of people want one.  SWTOR authenticator, and variations thereof, lead my search engine traffic by a wide margin.

Comments»

1. Kevin Auld - December 13, 2011

Would have hoped I’d get one… only entered my code… 7 months ago!

Maybe the EU is not getting that much of a headstart

2. Stabs - December 13, 2011

Well done!

Have fun in there and please don’t dawdle in the newbie area.

3. Darraxus - December 13, 2011

I havent gotten the invite today, but my friends did, which is kind of annoying since we plan on playing together. I was really looking forward to the game until I played the beta. Now I am still looking forward to playing, but not as much as I once was.

4. Wilhelm Arcturus - December 13, 2011

I suppose I could actually download the client, log in, and create a character to secure my name. Not that I have a Star Wars name I am sold on.

My pre-order was cancelled (by me) but I had already entered the code, so I get early access but can’t/won’t play once the game goes live… at least not until we’re done with Rift I would guess.

No wonder they declined to allow a grace period, what with people like me about.

5. pkudude99 - December 13, 2011

I still haven’t received an email invite, but I logged in about 5 hours ago and reserved some names. They’re just names I re-used from other games, not necessarily “Star Wars” names, but if I want them, I’ve got them.

6. HarbingerZero - December 14, 2011

In yet another BW fail, it was announced that you didn’t have to wait for the email, you could log in immediately without it. I say fail because this was “announced” on Stephen Reid’s personal twitter account. Not the first time they’ve pulled something like that either.

7. Wilhelm Arcturus - December 14, 2011

@HZ – Heh, yeah, I saw somebody mention that they had been able to log in before they had received an email. Too much fun on the big first day. I see they already have more than 100 servers listed for just North America. I wonder where that number will peak.


Voice your opinion... but be nice about it...

