Diablo III – Hey, This Might Ship on May 15

One of the big announcements last week was that Diablo III was slated to be released on May 15, 2012.

There were lots of re-broadcasts of that announcement.  It was big news.  I think one of my favorites was from the team over at Runic Games, who are making Torchlight II, clearly a Diablo III competitor.  Their message makes clear what most of us know, that there is room for more than one game in any genre.  I am on board for both games.

In fact I have been checking my Battle.net account every so often to see if I have been let into the Diablo III beta.  Not that I want to test, or even need some help on deciding if I want to buy it or not… I am already committed via the WoW 1 year subscription deal…  but just because I want to play the game already.

I won’t say I have been waiting for this for 10 years… I was a long time enjoying Diablo II and its expansion… but clearly there has been some need for it for the last 5-7 years.  How long has it been since 800×600 was an acceptable maximum resolution for a game?  That wasn’t so bad when we all had analog CRT monitors, but in the age of LCD displays which really, really want to display in their native resolution, it has gotten tiresome.

My honest first thought on playing World of Warcraft was, “Why wasn’t this ‘World of Diablo?'” (Of course, if you look past the graphics and the lore, a lot of WoW was borrowed from Diablo, but that is another story.)

Anyway, when I checked Battle.net this past weekend, I found that I was still not in the beta.  Oh well.

However, my account was active for certain aspects of Diablo III.  I could download the installer and I could set up parental controls.  I went for the installer, which seemed like a better idea than trying to download SWTOR for a free day of play, and which was an overnight download as well.

7.6 GB of download later...

And so there it is, the installer splash screen.  But that is about all there is to it at this point.  If I try to install, all I get is this message.

No install for you... yet

But at least the installer is there and waiting for me.  Only two months left before I can start patching and playing.

Back when the Activision-Blizzard quarterly report said that Diablo III was slated for Q2 2012, I assumed the usual Blizzard math, which requires you advance by one unit whatever estimate they give you unless they give you the actual launch day.

This time though, they look to be on track.  Granted they had to pull PvP from the game, but my response to that was pretty much, “PvP?”

One thought on “Diablo III – Hey, This Might Ship on May 15

  1. Pingback: Diablo III First 20 minutes of gameplay | TrendSurfer

Voice your opinion... but be nice about it...

