The Zynga Business Plan Moves Forward

My daughter and I were watching Spongebob together when we saw a commercial for this:

Hungry Hungry Herd

Technically, it is not a simple rip-off of some other company’s idea, the classic Zynga approach, because Hasbro owns Hungry Hungry Hippos, and Zynga and Hasbro are in bed together on this one.  But it certainly feels like a poor recycling job to me, with 50 Farm Cash thrown in as a “Digital Value for Parents Inside!”  I suppose at least they are pretending to feed adult addiction to the game rather than overtly suggesting the kids go log on and play.

Of course, in looking this up, I found that Hasbro and Zynga have recycled a few other classic games with a FarmVille theme.

I would add that there is even a CityVille version of Monopoly… but what brand hasn’t gone for their own version of Monopoly at this point?

6 thoughts on “The Zynga Business Plan Moves Forward

  1. Shadow

    My 2 year old loves to play “Hungry Dogs” more than any other game around. (which even a Google search can’t find me a picture of the box)

    Like

  2. Wilhelm Arcturus Post author

    Yes, my daughter moved through the age range where Hungry Hungry Hippos was the best game ever. Marble attrition is the bane of the game though, as young kids seem to be able to send them flying in unexpected ways.

    I think it is still sitting in the closet gathering dust with Twister, The Game of Life, Monopoly (required by law), a 1980s edition of Trivial Pursuit where 25% of the trivia is now out of date, and my copy of Ticket to Ride which I will probably never play again after I got the iPad version.

    Like

  3. Patrick

    To be honest, I get the feeling that Zygna is desperate to find other markets to tap now that the revenue they receive from Facebook games has taken a massive nose-dive.

    Like

  4. Wilhelm Arcturus Post author

    @Patrick – I cannot disagree with your general sentiment there. But for this item, I think it was an attempt to cash in on Zynga popularity when it was a lot closer to its peak.

    There is some lead time in a mash up like that. To start with, you have to take four hippos and make them look like a depressed and distended sheep, horse, cow, and pig. And then you have to get your injection molding line in Shanghai running day and night to build up stock based on your optimistic projections.

    I plan to wait for this item to hit the rack at Nickel City or some other dollar store competitor, then buy one so I can pull it out at some not-so-distant date and say, “Remember when FarmVille was a thing?”

    Like

Voice your opinion... but be nice about it...

