October in Review

The Site

There comes a time when every man feels the urge to spit on his hands, hoist the black flag, and start slitting throats.

- H.L. Mencken

Despite not really playing much, it ended up being something of a World of Warcraft month here.

I am sure the people in Anaheim are not interested in my advice, but look at this chart.

That is a sudden rise in nerd interest in retro WoW, culminating in a record number of page views for a single day here at TAGN.  That interest is reflected in the “most viewed posts” list for the month down below.

To me, that says there is some money to be mined in WoW nostalgia.  Yeah, I know, small sample size and all that makes for statistical irrelevance.  But it still feels like there is some interest out there.

As for how much money, I couldn’t even begin to guess.  Probably not enough to even catch Blizzard’s eye while WoW is still in fat city with millions of subscribers dining on fine panda flesh.

But maybe some day it will seem like enough.

Until then though, I guess the black flag is the only choice for the nostalgic.

Yarr.

On Year Ago

We all said farewell to Steve Jobs.

Tobold was predicting that CCP would go bankrupt in 2012.  Still two months left in the year, but it seems unlikely to come to pass at this point.

I summed up what I liked and disliked about Need for Speed: World.

I got Civilization II running on Windows 7 64-bit.

I started another contest.

And I recalled the start of the alien invasion!

Gaff and I went back to TorilMUD to mess around with the Tako Demon.  I have to remember some MUD command syntax to get his corpse afterwards.

Then there was BlizzCon.  The instance group was already bemused with Cataclysm, and the mention of Pandas did not revive our spirits.  Pet Battles seemed interesting at the time.  In coming to grips with the Pandaria announcements, I assumed that I would end up buying the expansion.  Another bad prediction from last year.

And then there were other WoW related things, like the announcement of the Guardian Cub, which some people predicted would be like PLEX in EVE Online.  How did that work out?

On Fippy Darkpaw, after much complaining, SOE seemed to suddenly wake up and start doing things.  Problems were, you know, solved!  It was becoming a kinder, gentler server.  Sort of.

And then there was Rift.  We started scouting it as a potential home for in instance group after the disaster in EverQuest II.  The scouting went well enough that we all ended up in Telara.

Five Years Ago

Five years ago I finally finished my training and was actually flying a Hulk!  Being mining focused, I went out and calculated which asteroids were the most profitable to mine.  Veldspar rated surprisingly high.

I also figured out that with 120 billion ISK and a year of training, I could fly a Titan, but I couldn’t fire the main weapon system.

Blizzard made its first big cut in the amount of experience needed to get to level 60 in WoW.  It seemed like a good idea at the time.

There was the Station Access Savings Calculator.

EA announced it was buying BioWare.  It seemed like MMOs might be in EA’s future again, as BioWare was already known to be at work on one.  Meanwhile, I was trying to work up a set of criteria on evaluating whether an MMO would be a success or not.

I was going on about THE REAL PROBLEM with voice chat in video games.

Mario Kart Double Dash was our Wii game of the moment.

I found one of the rare Golden C-3P0 mini figures in a LEGO package.

The instance group finished up Zul’Farrk and started in on Mauradon.

Gods & Heroes: Rome Rising was put on indefinite hold, which lead to a headline contest.

And, as usual, with the coming of Fall, the rains, and a new expansion I again became nostalgic for EverQuest.

New Linking Blogs

The following blogs have linked this site in their blogroll, for which they have my thanks.

Please take a moment to visit them in return.

Most Viewed Posts in October

  1. The Nostalgic Call of the Emerald Dream
  2. Emerald Dream – Shovel in the Snows
  3. Running Civilization II on Windows 7 64-bit
  4. Diablo III vs. Torchlight II – A Matter of Details
  5. Further Adventures in the Emerald Dream
  6. SWTOR – Two Years After EA Louse
  7. The Final Achievement
  8. Considering Star Wars Galaxies Emulation? Better Grab a Disk!
  9. Blizzard Relents, Lets Me Cancel WoW Early
  10. Emerald Dream – Murlocs Never Evolve, Defias Never Forget
  11. In Search of the Hetzer
  12. Rift – It’s a Soul New World

Spam Comment of the Month

Other Studies Indicate That Young Males Of Asian Descent Are Also Likely To Participate In Online Gambling!
[And that was just the name field]

Search Terms of the Month

when you get to a certain number of files it just falls apart
[I haven’t really been covering Windows 8]

games of thrones winter is coming meme snow shovel
[That is a new one on me]

eve drake meme
[This one appears to actually be a thing]

how realistic is eve online space?
[Lord of the Flies realistic!]

tortanic look out iceberg
[Too late, it is already sinking into F2P]

EVE Online

It was a quiet month for me in EVE, for the most part, at least until the very end.  I went on a few quiet strategic ops for the CFC.  Then things wrapped up with a bang with us jumping into an enemy fleet in G5ED-Y and the IRC CSAA battle spicing things up.  Mostly though, things seemed to be going on in other time zones.

Other than that, I am trying to focus on training up my skills to fly the Alpha Fleet doctrine Rokh battleship.  The final piece I need is tech II large hybrid turrets, but to get there I need to get small then medium trained up first, all of which is a long trail of training and I am easily distracted.  Which is how I ended up with torpedoes V because… Phoenix maybe?

Rift

The instance group is approaching the end of the original Rift content.  We are closing in on level 50 and there are only a few dungeons left to explore.  Of course, Storm Legion is coming, and will show up before we are finished.  But it is already having an impact on the group, something I will go into with tomorrow’s post.

World of Tanks

I have been having a good time diving into WoT again.  This month has seen my most concentrated play since the game went live.  I still cannot spend a whole evening playing the game.  I am still only good for a few matches at a sitting.  But I have been launching the game more regularly.  I am not sure if I will even get to the higher tiers without buying a tank for gold, but I am farther along than I have ever been.

World of Warcraft

I have been playing a lot of WoW for somebody who isn’t actually playing WoW officially.  The whole Emerald Dream nostalgia tour.  It has been quite the voyage of re-discovery.  I am not sure how far I will go on the server.  But for now it remains fun in a refreshing way.

Coming Up

What isn’t coming up in November?  On the MMO front we have:

  • Darkfall: Unholy Wars
  • EverQuest – Rain of Fear
  • EverQuest – Chains of Eternity
  • PlanetSide 2
  • Rift – Storm Legion
  • Star Wars the Old Republic – Free to Play version

That is too much stuff, and I feel at least a little tug from each of those items.  Yes, Darkfall and SWTOR are unlikely candidates, and I am already all-in on Rift and their Storm Legion expansion.  Meanwhile, the smattering of SOE offerings has my attention as always.

Of course, not all is well in the land of MMOs.

November will see the demise of City of Heroes, as NCsoft shutters another MMO.  An eleventh hour reprieve seems very unlikely as NCsoft appears to have decided to shut down the game and then put up some window dressing to make it appear that they pursued other alternatives.

And the Project: Gorgon Kickstarter, which I wrote about earlier in the month, looks like it won’t meet its mark.  Still, this won’t kill the project since it was not an attempt to “make a MMORPG for $55k,” but just a way to fund specific aspects of the work.  Project: Gorgon will go on.  There is a lot more than $55K in labor invested in the game already.

If nothing else, November will be a month of milestones.

4 thoughts on “October in Review

  1. Ahtchu

    I like these historical posts.
    For the record, my metrics echo yours. Albeit our blogs are serving wildly different purposes, my post calling for a preservation of classic was met with a 400% gain compared to the average. I’d wager Milady and some of the other bloggers who dipped back into the ‘challenging era’ have similar metrics.

    Like

  2. Kaltrop

    I feel sorry for Tobold. He used to feature an interesting blog but it degenerated into a bunch of hate-laced posts against the MMO genre. Now he mainly posts boring AD&D tabletop stories.

    Like

  3. HarbingerZero

    I feel bad for Project: Gorgon. There is some really good stuff there. I think the KS campaign could have been a little tighter and better polished, but even then it was well short. I hope they give it another go later on down the line.

    Like

  4. sleepysam

    If they can similarly restore my guild and amount of available playtime from that part of WOW, they could make some real $$.

    Like

Voice your opinion... but be nice about it...

