jump to navigation

First Peek at Retribution December 5, 2012

Posted by Wilhelm Arcturus in entertainment, EVE Online.
Tags:
trackback

I did get a chance to look at Retribution after letting download while watching a DVD and listening to my daughter complain that the internet was slow.  Maybe that is the answer to my hardware doldrums question.  Maybe I should look for a better internet service, if there is one.  You would think, living in Silicon Valley, I would have options, but last time I checked it was just the phone company and their lowest level of service available.

Anyway, the download finished and I was able to log in for a bit.

New Splash for Retribution

It wasn’t long enough to explore features with the depth that others have, but I got to poke at a few of the new things.  I had queued up a couple of before/after scenarios for just this occasion.

The first was the impact of the heavy missile nerf on my Tengu ratting ship.

Tengu missiles before Retribution

Tengu missiles before Retribution

113km range and 664.1 DPS before.

Tengu missiles after Retribution

Tengu missiles after Retribution

79km range and 629.5 DPS after.  Oh, and the print is bigger, never a bad thing for me, and it shows me the damage type of my ammo now.

That is a bigger range hit than I was expecting.  Basically, a 38% nerf in this situation.

Damage per second, on the other hand, was down just over 5%, which was less than I expected.

For my ratting purposes, this is pretty low impact.  Range is never an issue and the damage reduction won’t add a lot of time to clearing a site.  At least not enough that I feel the need to switch over to assault missiles before I have finished off my supply of heavies.

I haven’t looked to see how my fleet op Drake now performs, but I am again glad I spent a lot of the last couple of months investing in gunnery skills.

Then, of course, there are the circles.  That seemed to be one of the UI themes for Retribution, put everything in circles.  So my target list went from this row of squares:

Guristas are all squares

Guristas are all squares

To a row of circles:

Rounding out Guristas

Rounding out Guristas

The circles take a little more space across the top of my game window, and I have to look more closely to tell how much damage a target has take, though that last bit is something that will likely get better as I get used to the new UI.

And, of course, there more circles in space indicating the ships you have targeted.

Target meatballs

Target meatballs

They certainly makes targets more visible in space.  And, when combined with the new camera target tracking option, which shifts the camera to point in the direction of your currently selected target automatically, you can maintain better situational awareness when you need it.  I did not really need it for ratting however, and it started giving me a bit of motion sickness… something I do not usually suffer from… so I turned that off pretty quickly.

Finally, I was interested to see who would top the bounty list on the first night.  Neither individual nor corporation bounties listed anybody I recognized.  But for alliance bounties, our friends at Gentleman’s Agreement were at the top of the list.

Kill Gents, If You Please...

Kill Gents, If You Please…

Granted, this was the first night, and those bounties are probably pretty small at this point (I saw bigger for both single pilots and corps), and thus easily influenced by individuals.

But while I knew our allies in Gents were ever eager to get into fights, I figured that Goonswarm would be at the top of the CFC bounty list.  I am sure that will change over time.  But for now, Viva Gents!

I will be interested to see how the updated bounty system works out.  Will it give carebears a way to fight back?  Or will it turn into a more sophisticated griefing tool?

Comments»

1. mbp - December 5, 2012

@Wilhelm said: “You would think, living in Silicon Valley, I would have options, but last time I checked it was just the phone company and their lowest level of service available.”

That’s bizarre. Are you sure it isn’t that the denizens of the centre of world technology have moved on from the humble internet into something new – brainwaves or teleporter links perhaps?

Like

2. NoAstronomer - December 5, 2012

” Will it give carebears a way to fight back? ”

Of all the ways that the bounty system might change the game I would consider that the least likely.

Like

3. Wilhelm Arcturus - December 5, 2012

@mbp – Part of the problem is that Silicon Valley has been described as “a hundred suburbs in search of a city.” People are spread out over the valley in single family dwellings and low density apartments. So there is no “if we run a fat pipe to point X, we’ll get a good payback because it will cover a lot of people.”

We also got cable TV back in the early 70s, but it was done on a city by city basis and so, as potential infrastructure, it is crap. It barely works and is the reason so many people have satellite dishes on their roof.

So while I live less than 10 miles from the biggest internet pipe on the west coast… it runs by Standord and right through the old Netcom offices at 2 N. Second Street… there is no economic incentive for anybody to bring any but the bare minimum out to me.

@NoAstro – Well, that was why I linked the forum post from a carebear who seemed to think it was working in that way. And EVE is like a petri dish for unintended consequences. I will enjoy seeing how this plays out.

Like

4. Jackal - December 5, 2012

Bounties put on faction war pilots. corporations and/or alliances are being collected in an extremely short period of time …. because fights are being had and the other side is collecting … no business for bounty hunters here.
Also, new CrimeWatch makes it murder on any neutrals coming in … no GCC to worry about after you warp off from gate guns.

Like

5. evehermit - December 5, 2012

PVE looks and sounds noticeably better. While that gloss will quickly wear off, it is the sort of thing which will help new player retention. I agree about the new circle target locks – it makes it harder to quickly check the status of what you are shooting at.

Like

6. Aufero - December 6, 2012

I heard someone yesterday was putting 100k bounties on everyone in the newbie help channel, so the new bounty system is getting off to a good start as a (not terribly) sophisticated griefing tool.

Still, if it means some of Eve’s multi-trillionaires spend some ISK encouraging people to blow each other up, it’s probably all to the good.

Like

7. Aufero - December 6, 2012

Forgot to mention above – apparently they’ve done away with the jukebox in this patch? No idea why, it always seemed like one of Eve’s better features to me.

Like

8. Stabs - December 6, 2012

100 million bounty on our alliance – all collected already. Good times. Can’t wait till our next alliance meeting where we’re planning to put bounties on the speaker any time we hear something we don’t like.

Like

9. Wilhelm Arcturus - December 6, 2012

@Aufero – Yeah, I have no idea why they pulled that. The EVE Online music was part of what got me back to playing the game after I tried it for the first time.

@Stabs – I am just waiting for bounty silliness when we get in the next war. I have been tempted to put a bounty on Gaff just for fun, but then he’ll put one on me, and I only have one character at this point and have to actually move around in high sec now and again.

Like


Voice your opinion... but be nice about it...

