Age of Kings Gets an Unofficial Expansion

Age of Empires II: The Age of Kings is one of my favorite RTS games from what I would consider the peak of the RTS era, where we also had StarCraft and Total Annihilation.  Three great games.

Age of Kings took what was good about the original Age of Empires game and refined it to what I feel what really the optimum state of the series.  It was good to the point that a lot of features in Age of Kings were eventually back ported into Age of Empires.

After that, the series had little new to offer me.  I was disappointed by both Age of Mythology and Age of Empires III, and never bothered with the more recent Age of Empires Online.

But I still drag out the disks for Age of Kings now and again to play it.  It is one of the games I wish somebody would update and put on GoG.com or Steam.  It has been out since 1999 and feels its age in many ways, not the least of which is how out of date the official web site for the game is.  Check out this classic ad from the site.

xbox2001

I guess I should be more surprised that there still is an official web site.

Anyway, I would like a version that didn’t need the CD, supported higher screen resolutions, and worked with an online game connection service out of the box.  I have written about it and some of its problems a decade and more down the road previously.  While I like and encourage Game Ranger, the only method I know of playing Age of Kings with remote parties at this point, I wish it was a little more tightly integrated.

And while I am wishing for things that I am unlikely to get, I might as well wish for a new expansion for this 20th century RTS.

And, as unlikely as it seems, I might be getting that last bit.

A team got together and created Age of Empires II: Forgotten Empires, an unofficial expansion for Age of Kings, complete with trailer, because if it isn’t on YouTube, it isn’t really a thing, right?

Actually, you need the Age of Kings: The Conquerors expansion, so it is sort of an expansion of the one official expansion to the game.

It adds the Italians, Incas, Indians, Slavs, and Magyars to the game, along with new map types, a new campaign, and new AI types.

Forgotten Empires - The Italians

Forgotten Empires – The Italians

That last piece seems especially interesting.  I will have to take a closer look at this.

Anyway, it is nice to see another old-ish game I still enjoy getting some attention.

Find the expansion and related information here.

4 thoughts on “Age of Kings Gets an Unofficial Expansion

  1. Wilhelm Arcturus Post author

    I downloaded and tried it last night. The new AI options definitely change things up a bit. Of course, it has been months since I last played, so it could have been my struggling to remember build order and such.

    One of the updates with Forgotten Empires is that it does now support higher srceen resolutions. So in addition to the other updates, I now have tiny minions on my screen… but at least they no longer look pixellated.

    Like

Voice your opinion... but be nice about it...

