Xbox One – What’s in a Name?

When it comes to the recently announced Xbox One, I am not the target audience, having no desire to get another gaming console.  That is all going to pass me by.  Gaming middle age and such.

But I have to admit, when it comes to naming,  I’m with that clerk.  Shouldn’t “one” be the first in line?  Isn’t that what we could reasonably call the original Xbox?

I get the all-in-one entertainment center symbolism and such, having paid at least a little attention to the announcement.  But still, you know some parent somewhere is going to disappoint their child by coming home with an original Xbox they got off Craig’s List for “really cheap.”

Sony will never has this problem with the PlayStation 4.

6 thoughts on “Xbox One – What’s in a Name?

  1. HarbingerZero

    You know that whole “jumping the shark” thing, where you just know, after this, its all different? I think it may be time to make this my gaming middle age, and make the 360 my last console.

    Like

  2. Polynices

    Microsoft is horrible at numbering things.

    Windows 1, 2, and 3 weren’t too bad. Then Windows 3.11. OK. But Windows NT, Windows 95, Windows 98, Windows 2000, Windows XP, Windows Vista then reverting back to Windows 7 and now 8. Hopeless!

    Counting XBox, XBox 360, XBox One is tame in comparison.

    Like

  3. Carson

    I would have called it “Xbox Prime”. But maybe the people who work in marketing are smarter than me.

    Oh look! I made myself laugh! Hohohohohoho!

    Like

  4. Wilhelm Arcturus Post author

    @Polynices – Well, all of those OSes you have listed actually had version numbers. When you need to identify them programatically, you get a numerical value as a return. Though, if I recall right, Windows 7 returns a version of 6.1 or something equally stupid, so they get you either way.

    Like

Voice your opinion... but be nice about it...

