jump to navigation

May in Review May 31, 2013

Posted by Wilhelm Arcturus in entertainment, EVE Online, Lord of the Rings Online, Month in Review, Rift.
Tags:
trackback

The Site

Aside from putting all of my banners in a post where I (and everybody else) can easily find them, general site related news has been pretty slim.  And after a month of record setting page views, things are back down to the level of mere mortals… and down a bit from even there.  Not writing as much about actual games takes its toll.

So this month I will do what I often do, and pick on some dubious WordPress.com feature.

This month: Reblogging.

If you have a WordPress.com hosted blog and you use the somewhat dubious WordPress.com Reader (let’s just say it is not going to replace Google Reader in its current state), among the options you get is to reblog the posts you read.

Reblogging SynCaine - Always Fun

Reblogging SynCaine – Always Fun

And if you click that, you get a short excerpt of the post added to your own blog as an independent post.

Which is okay, I guess.

It appears to be an attempt be a bit like Tumblr, where people with picture focused… Tumblrs… repost from each other all the time, which means you will see the same picture over and over in whichever of the many Tumblr silos you happen to follow.

However, with WordPress, it looks kind of awkward.  The post before this one is a reblog, so you can see what I mean.  I picked on Tesh for this, since he has pictures, which adds to the effect.

All of which is neither here nor there, except that 99% of the time I see anybody use this feature is in attempt to create some insta-blog with content.  At least three times I have had some blogger reblog every single post on my other blog, EVE Online Pictures.  I can see no good reason to spend the time doing that.

Since my other blog is all pictures, I think maybe those rebloggers really belong on Tumblr.  Or maybe my picture blog does.

One Year Ago

I played Portal finally.  Now Zoidberg makes the cake joke!

I wrote about camping rare mobs and how this all came from the fact that MUDs used to crash pretty often.

There was the Newbie Blogger Initiative thing.  I summed that up already this month.

On the Fippy Darkpaw server, The Gates of Discord unlock vote shut down that expansion.  This caused some hard feelings.  And then it failed the vote again.

38 Studios went tits up due to managerial incompetence.  Not how you run a start up.  But the myth of what greatness might have been lives on, fostered primarily by those whose reputations would benefit from such tales.

The instance group was clearing out King’s Breach.

Diablo III came out and… error 37.  Then error 75.  And installer problems.  High expectations, huge sales, its always online nature, and memories of past Diablo games probably doomed it the eyes of many.  Still, we played it a bit.  I compared it to the beta version of Torchlight II, its primary foe in the click to kill genre.  I moaned about atmosphere and the influence of WoW on it.

And then I complained about talent trees.  Most people seem to like them more than I do.

But mostly I was on about EVE Online.  There was a summary of Burn JitaHulkageddon V came and sort of went.  There were spoils from the war in the north to be handed out.  OTEC actually got out there, putting aside differences, to defend its financial interests.  We blew up an IRC CSAA in Cobalt Edge.  There was a question as to whether PLEX was cheating.  I mined in null sec for the first, and so far only, time.  There were stats about Escalation and Hulkageddon and just ships being blown up in general.  And I made a post around John Smeldley’s tweet about Drakes and new missile graphics.  He dropped me a note in reply.  Turns out he is not only a huge EVE Online fan, but was in the CFC as well.  As Mittens would say, one of us.

Five Years Ago

My daughter and I were finishing up the final battles in the base game of Pokemon Diamond as well as staging our own gym battles.

In EVE Online CCP gave us a date for the Empyrean Age as well as giving us all a gift on the five year anniversary of the game.   Meanwhile I was building battleships, refining my Drake fittings, and laughing at a the EVE Online guide to talking smack.

Oh, and I was being propositioned in a standard Goon scam.

In World of Warcraft the instance group was doing some quests to level up a bit because the Mana Tombs were proving to be a challenge.

And, in the industry in general, Turbine got $40 million dollars to play with (wonder where that ended up) while Age of Conan launched amid immediate declarations of success and failure.

New Liking Blogs

The following blogs have linked this site in their blogroll, for which they have my thanks.

Please take a moment to visit them in return.

Most Viewed Posts in May

  1. Running Civilization II on Windows 7 64-bit
  2. So What is the Verdict on Google Reader Alternatives?
  3. Further Mutterings about MMO Revenue Models
  4. New Blogger Initiative a Year Later – Who Survived?
  5. It is Never Too Late to Head to Mordor
  6. Considering Star Wars Galaxies Emulation? Better Grab a Disk!
  7. Memories, Timelines, and the Bigger Picture
  8. Rift to go Free to Play on June 12
  9. Diablo III – Now Featuring Hyperinflation
  10. Party in Amarr – EVE Celebrates 10 Years
  11. Blizzard – WoW Subscribers and the Diablo III Economy
  12. The First Computer Game I Ever Played

Spam Comment of the Month

Spamhaus a bunch of liars and criminals

Spreads slander about isps and their customers

Blackmails ISPs to comply to their rediculous “demands”

[two additional pages in the same vein cut]

When I get semi-literate automated comment spam claiming that an organization dedicated to fighting spam is bad, I want to applaud their work.  Spamhaus must be doing a good job if spammers are taking time out of their evil ways to criticize them.  Poor spammers are sounding butt hurt.  Plus who doesn’t love to nitpick about the difference between slander (spoken) and libel (written).  Though who knows, maybe Spamhaus is saying things aloud about spammers as well as publishing lists.

EVE Online

It has been relatively quiet for me in EVE.  There was the 10 year anniversary.  I did go on a couple of small fleet ops.  I actually ratted a bit to earn some ISK.  Mostly I have been training skills, which is something that goes on with little interaction from me.  The goal, I think, is a carrier.  I am currently working on Jump Drive Calibration V.  And I am about to hit 99 million skill points.

Lord of the Rings Online

The approach of summer has seen a return to Middle-earth.  How far will we get?  We shall see.  I am already into the Lone Lands, a place where many a summer group has left off.  I have to say that now, after six years, the lifetime subscription I purchased back at launch was officially a good deal.

Neverwinter

We have started to look into this.  I am not sure where it will lead yet.

Rift

Rift seems to be on the back burner for now.  It goes free to play next month.  We shall see what that ends up meaning in the both the short and long term.  Details have been sparse.  One interesting idea that has been broached is selling additional crafting skill slots, so you could work with fewer alts.  But would you spend $50 to have one character with all the professions?

World of Tanks

Somewhere along the line I just stopped playing this in May.  I am not sure when.  So call it a break.  I still have more than half a year in which to make it to my tier IX tank goal.  There is always the 8.6 update and all the arty changes to come.

Coming Up

As mentioned, Rift goes free to play next month.  That should at least make for some discussion if they find some new way to serve up F2P.

In EVE Online, the Odyssey expansion comes out.  That will shake some things up in null sec, to the point that there is a promise of war.  Fun stuff.

And, at some point over the next month, barring a last minute reprieve, I am going to have to have to switch from Google Reader to some other RSS feed reading tool.  Despite all the helpful feedback, I am not sure where I will go yet.

Comments»

1. TeshTesh - May 31, 2013

I’ve been befuddled by the reblog function. It seems a little worse than useless. Mind you, I’m usually happy to get the word out on projects I’m working on, but yeah, someone using it as a content substitute… that’s kinda screwy.

Like


Voice your opinion... but be nice about it...

