jump to navigation

Quote of the Day – Bored With All Games October 2, 2013

Posted by Wilhelm Arcturus in General, Quote of the Day.
Tags: , ,
trackback

Right now, I’m pretty bored with all games

-Mark Pincus, former Zynga CEO in a Wall Street Journal interview

On the one hand, his longing for the early days of FarmVille, to which he claimed to be “addicted,” is an understandable emotion, at least to me.  I certainly long to relive the early excitement of some games.

On the flip side… really, FarmVille is the pinnacle of your gaming excitement?

F-Ville

F-Ville

But I think it is clear from his history that Mr. Pincus was looking for a way to make money in life, not a way to make games.  I particularly like this old quote:

I did every horrible thing in the book, too, just to get revenues right away. I mean we gave our users poker chips if they downloaded this Zwinky toolbar which was like, I don’t know, I downloaded it once and couldn’t get rid of it

Yeah.

Well he made money and left his mark on an industry.  I still wonder what Lord British thought we was getting into before Zynga pretty much fell apart.

Hat tip: Game Politics

Comments»

1. mrrx - October 3, 2013

Wow. Unbelievable.

Like

2. Wilhelm Arcturus - October 3, 2013

It is probably my cynical outlook, but it actually seems fully believable to me in hindsight. He spoke a lot about dirty tactics, metrics, addiction, and whales in the past, but I am not sure I have ever seen anything from him about liking games.

Like


Voice your opinion... but be nice about it...

