jump to navigation

If It Can Go Wrong, It Will Go Wrong… At SOE July 15, 2014

Posted by Wilhelm Arcturus in entertainment, EverQuest, Sony Online Entertainment.
Tags:
trackback

I was actually trying to get to the EverQuest forums this morning.  There was a rumor going around about the Fippy Darkpaw Progression Server.  It was possible that one of the raiding guilds was going to down-vote the unlock of the next expansion, Underfoot, because they wanted a couple more weeks to farm gear from the current expansion live on the server, Seeds of Destruction.  There hasn’t been a down vote since the Gates of Discord fiasco back in mid-2012, when that expansion was voted down three times running before finally going live in June.

Pure rumor, with likely nothing behind it, but it is so rare to hear anything about the server that I thought I would follow it up and see it anybody mentioned on the results on forums.  Only I couldn’t get to the forums.

Sony Online Entertainment appeared to be down.

more titles in the past than in the future

A quick run through the usual sources turned up a post by the ever vigilant Feldon at EQ2 Wire, who noted that SOE had somehow forgotten to renew one of its underlying domains, sonyonline.net, and that, after a considerable grace period, fell off the internet.  Since SOE uses that domain for its own name resolution for its sites and games, that pretty much kicked the company offline.

It is Tuesday, we were expecting downtime in any case, right?

Word is that SOE has reclaimed the domain and that it should be propagating across the net even as we speak.  If you are in a hurry to get to an SOE site, Feldon has some tips over at EQ2 Wire on how to speed things up.

The question remains though, how did this happen?  The rumor is that the email address receiving such notices from Network Solutions had gone unattended.  That is speculation, of course, but I have enough experience to know that if  you lay enough people off, something important like that will get missed.  And, hey presto, your domain resolves to a site offering EverQuest and WoW gold!

What I saw on my iPad this morning

What I saw on my iPad this morning

Interesting that EverQuest gold (which should be platinum) is still a thing.  I thought inflation, F2P, and general old age issues had killed the currency market for EQ.

Anyway, not exactly in the same league as the 12+ days of downtime SOE experienced back in 2011, but it is still an SOE thing.

Addendum: Smed speaks

I want to give him the benefit of the doubt, but who gave Network Solutions the “wrong email?”

Better.

Addendum: TechDirt sums it all up.

Comments»

1. bhagpuss - July 15, 2014

This story confused the heck out of me, not only because of the sheer, jaw-dropping klutziness it suggests (used to that where SOE are concerned – indeed I consider it part of their charm) but because I played Everquest this morning with no problems whatsoever.

Indeed, it was immediately after I’d finished playing (only 6% to go to 88!) that I checked Feedly and found Feldon’s warning. I immediately tried the EQ forum and that worked fine too. So it was a crisis that would have passed me by entirely even though I was apparently there as it was happening had I not read about it on EQ2Wire.

Like

2. Wilhelm Arcturus - July 15, 2014

Yeah, I might not have noticed it at all except for the bit of Fippy Darkpaw news I was looking for. For me the EverQuest site still resolves to nothing on my main system, but resolves to a domain camping site on my iPad. The internet will take its time.

And yes, part of SOE’s charm to me is their “can’t catch a break” and “We’ll keep shooting ourselves in the foot until we get it right” history.

Like

3. Wilhelm Arcturus - July 15, 2014

I do wonder how many game companies are checking their domain registration details today thanks to SOE’s reminder?

Like

4. John 'Genryu' - July 15, 2014

Temporary fix here but massively incompetent on the part of SOE:

Right click on your network icon > Open Network and Sharing Center > Change Adapter Settings (at the top left) > Right-click on your connection that you are using Wireless etc. > Properties > Internet Protocol Version 4 (TCP/IPv4) > Properties > Use the following DNS server addresses > Set these as following

Preferred 8.8.8.8

Alternate 8.8.4.4

Like

5. qyte - July 15, 2014

At this moment both google dns above and opendns fail to resolve to anything but fake sites. I hope they fail to interpret any cookies regarding login details :)
Boy that would be sheer bliss!

Like

6. Anonymous - July 16, 2014

It would have been a real joke if someone else got the *.net before SOE could renew/reapply for it

Like

7. Anonymous - July 16, 2014

back to world of warcraft for me im done with planetside shit game full of crap and those retard gm at planetside dont know shit first lagg than that shit with losing weapon optics long loading bar etc etc more shit incomming 2 years on the air and gg nightmare

Like

8. SynCaine - July 16, 2014

Nice to see the new kid on the MMO block learning basic lessons about the business. Can’t wait to see what SOE delivers when they release there first MMO, should be really exciting!

Like


Voice your opinion... but be nice about it...

