jump to navigation

Hot Blaugust Nights July 31, 2014

Posted by Wilhelm Arcturus in blog thing, entertainment.
Tags: ,
trackback

August is in the wings, waiting to bring with it the usual end of summer ennui on the gaming front.

Nothing new ships.  Very little gets announced.  The releases we are looking forward to are generally somewhere off in autumn.  At times it feels like you should join half of France and just take August off.

Over at Tales of the Aggronaut, Belgahst has proposed something to help bloggers get through August.

He calls it Blaugust.

Blagust_No_BR

The basic idea is simple: Put up a post a day on your blog during the month of August.

There are of course rules as to what counts, but to sweeten the deal there is also a community cross-linking thing going on, some potential prizes, and some topic suggestions that you can use or ignore at your pleasure.

Belghast explains it all in The Gospel of Blaugust, including the whole Anook aspect of things, which I am still pondering.  Go check it out.

Now, I suspect the immediate reaction from some will be that more posts are not necessarily better.

True enough.

But over the long term… just about eight years at this point… I have often found that longer “thinking” posts sometimes get overtaken by events and look horribly naive or just uninformed even a year later.  (Granted, that might just be me or just the things I write.)

On the other hand, some things that I have hesitated even to post, things like a game launched, an expansion shipped, some numbers were announced, or the ever amusing quote of the day, turn out to be nuggets of information I fall back on later.  Nothing like having a library of past Smed quotes when he is off on his latest bout of enthusiasm.

Basically, never stop posting.

Anyway, we shall see.  I come pretty close to posting once a day as it is, and Belghast looks like he’ll give us a pass if we get in 31 posts during the month, so I might actually be able to play video games on the weekends still rather than writing about them!

Comments»

1. bhagpuss - July 31, 2014

The last thing I’m ever short of is something to write about. I would easily be able to post a 10 sentence post every day. Especially if I stopped using so many clauses. Hell, I could just cut and paste my comments on other blogs on an average day and have five or ten posts that length.

On the other hand the reason I don’t already post every day is that the long posts I currently tend to write take me, on average, two to five hours each and what I really want to do is make them a LOT longer. Ideally I’d be writing 5000 – 10000 essays on most topics. The amount of stuff I have to leave out is frightening.

So, I think I’ll pass. Looking forward to reading all those extra posts though.

Like


Voice your opinion... but be nice about it...

