The Great Uninstall

Once in a while I get the urge to clean up my hard drive.  Installing the Vanguard Beta 5 client was one of those times.  One of the performance recommendations I read was to defragment your hard drive after the install and patching process was done.

This brought back memories of the early EverQuest II days when daily patches and an tendency to thrash the pagefile on my drive would have me defragmenting once a week.

And once I start thinking about defragmenting the drive, I start thinking about cutting down on what is actually on the drive in order to speed up the process.  Thus the weeding began.

I was able to dump quite a bit from my attachments folder along with a trailer for Transformers on DVD that Sony slipped in on me with Echoes of Faydwer, but it is always the games section that takes some thought.  Here is what I ended up dropping from my hard drive.

Battlefield 2

I bought it and probably played about 10 hours online before EverQuest II came out.  I think I have played another 4 or 5 hours since then.  While I liked the game when it came out, MMOs have since swallowed my gaming time.  Also, I have purchased none of the expansions or bonus packs, so the last time I played I was somewhat limited in the servers on which I could even play.

Battlefield Vietnam

I played a lot more of this, mostly the Point of Existence mod, than I played Battlefield 2.  There seems to be a trajectory here.  I played a ton of Battlefield 1942 (95% of that in the Desert Combat mod), a lot of Battlefield Vietnam, a little Battlefield 2, and I have not bothered to purchase Battlefield 2142.  Anyway, BFV and various mods went to the recycle bin.

NetHack

I really liked Hack, Rogue, and NetHack way back in college.  Every once in a while I get the urge to play it again, so I go search the net to find the latest binary.  I play it for an hour, then it sits dormant on my drive until I get around to cleaning up.  Until next time, NetHack! (If you get the urge, you can find NetHack here.)

Civilization IV

It was a shame to uninstall this, but it had to go.  While I like Civilization IV more than Civilization III, it still was not a winner with me.  Plus, in the long standing tradition of Civilization releases, you always have to upgrade your machine to get it to play smoothly, and I haven’t gone there yet.  One Civilization game remains on my drive, Civilization II.  When calculating hours of play versus money spent, Civilization II is the all time winner for me.  I still play a game of it every now and then.

TacOps

A game you have probably never hear of.  In 1996 when I picked up a copy of this game, it was very cool.  It is a tactical war game that is similar to the Avalon Hill war games I played in my youth, only the computer takes care of all the accounting for you and there are NO HEXES!  That’s right, somebody figured out that in translating war games to the computer, you can leave the hex grid behind.  The computer can do all the movement math for you.  I bought the 4.0 version last year when Battlefront Games had a sale.  Again, this was something of a nostalgia buy.  The problem with TacOps today isn’t so much that it is exactly the same game, but that the maps you play on are the same size as they were in 1996.  Maps that filled the screen when I was running at 640×480 are tiny now on a 1600×1200 LCD.  The maps do not resize, so you are stuck playing in teeny-tiny mode, which was too much for me.  When I need a war game fix now, I play Combat Mission: Afrika Korps, which remained installed.

HalfLife 2

I bought this game again purely because I was reading Christopher Livingston’s HalfLife 2 based comic “Concerned.” (My original copy disappeared at some point.) I actually ended up playing through most of the game on the easy setting, but have not really touched it in the last few months.  That and the fact that I am not a big fan of Steam and having to be on the net to play a single player game sent this one to the uninstall list.

The Result

All of that, plus some other bits and pieces I deleted, just about balanced out Vanguard.  And in the end, I am not sure that the defrag helped Vanguard at all.  At least any improvement was not noticeable to me.

But cleaning up my hard drive gives me a good feeling all the same.

2 thoughts on “The Great Uninstall

  1. Ohgr

    Wow… I haven’t seen the word “NetHack” come out of anyone else besides me and my brother in a LOOONG time. Although I guess I’m just a “young’n,” since i play the graphical version from Falcon’s Eye found here.

    And as for HL2… well, you should reinstall it when Goldeneye:Source goes live.

    Like

  2. Wilhelm2451 Post author

    I used to be quite the addict at one point, pre-graphical front end. Just last weekend, as I started to pack up my office in anticipation of our moving this spring, I found a binder with the full printed out version of the NetHack manual from 1991, which I no doubt had to FTP off of some site back in those pre-web days.

    Like

Voice your opinion... but be nice about it...

