Daily Archives: January 8, 2009

Arming for Utgarde

We did not get back to Utgarde Keep last Saturday.  Skronk and Ula could not make it, so Bung, Earl, and I rolled around Howling Fjord for a while doing some quests.  Both Earl and I used alts as were are both starting to creep away from the rest of the group in experience.

The big surprise of the night was, after doing the quest The Cleansing at the top of a mountain, we failed to notice that completion of the quest gave us the spell Slow Fall, so we were quite surprised when, riding the steep paths back down the mountain, our mounts seemed to take flight.

Not A Flying Mount

Not A Flying Mount

I have to hand it to some evil genius at Blizzard who slipped that one in, because it fooled us!

We did not stay on too late, but Bung is closing in on 72.

Meanwhile, I have been working on some of the suggestions people gave on last week’s post.

I respec’d Vikund to retribution again, following the path outlined at Elitist Jerks in their forum on paladins.

This will be his third time going down the retribution path.  I keep changing back to protection because I am, I guess, and old school paladin who, as Skronk puts it, “never dies, but neither do his enemies.”  I am good at protection, I like it, I am used to it.

Retribution, on the other hand, will take me some work to get used to.  I have to figure out a good cycle of attacks and how to manage my power, because it seems to drain away too quickly.

Following that up, I went out to the auction house and bought up some spiked cobalt armor, which is bit on hit rating and strength to help boost my damage.

Same Style, New Color

Same Style, New Color

And then I got myself a big old spiked club with which to beat on things.

cehotb

That was the biggest I could find.  Not as cool as that board with a nail through it I had once, but it means business.

And, finally, I have been running a couple of daily quests on a regular basis to improve my standings in hopes that one of the quartermasters might have something nice for me when I get to revered.

My regular run is Break the Blockade, the one where you bomb pirate ships from a captured zeppelin.  Not that I haven’t had my own issues with the quest.

Paladin in the Water!

Paladin in the Water!

I hate when I forget that my avatar is faced one direction and the camera another.  And you cannot even bomb the pirates from the water.  At least I got to say hello to the fjord penguins.

Howling Fjord Penguins

Howling Fjord Penguins

They didn’t seem to hold a grudge for all the times I tried to bomb them.

The other daily I run… daily… is Steel Gate Patrol which has the advantage of being fun and yielding up two super health potions on completion.  I know you can only use one potion per fight, but when I am down to 2 or 3 in my bag, I tend to put off using them until it is too late.

I know others in the group are looking into honing their own DPS after last Friday’s post, so if we get together for Utgarde again this Saturday, we should do better.