Daily Archives: January 13, 2009

Thirty Million Skill Points

I have not done much in EVE Online over the last two months.  Work, the holidays, other games, and being sick have all conspired to keep me from leaving the station in EVE very often.

But, with EVE, you can always progress while sitting still thanks to their skill training system.  I just crossed the thirty million skill point marker, putting me only seventy million skill points behind one of the most trained guys in the game.  If only he’d stop and let us all catch up.

I seem to be on a steady pace with skill points.  I hit twenty million skill points about seven months back, and ten million skill points about seven months before that.

And what have I been training over the last seven months?  Wilhelm’s skill points are divided up as follow:

Engineering:       5,738,540
Spaceship Command: 5,172,255
Science:           3,733,898
Trade:             3,224,591
Industry:          2,426,441
Learning:          2,001,963
Missiles:          1,662,223
Mechanic:          1,165,016
Gunnery:           1,061,607
Social:            1,011,275
Electronics:         998,658
Leadership:          680,544
Drones:              656,785
Navigation:          454,434
Corp Management:      11,770

It looks like a lot of stuff in the engineering tree.  Engineering went from 6th on the list last time around to first place by a fair margin.  Of course, engineering is where all my shield tanking skills are located, always useful for a Caldari pilot.

Spaceship command also went up a decent chunk as I skilled up to fly battleships and to prep for the freighter I never purchased.

As a percentage increase, leadership went up the most, going from 8,000 points to 680,544 points.  That increase mostly reflects getting Mining Foreman V (512,000 points alone), along with working on some of the fleet combat boosting skills.

So while science, trade, and industry all went up some, I appear to have spent most of the last seven months working on combat skills.

Wilhelm has 170 known skills, only up 10 since I hit twenty million.  I guess I have been concentrating on improving my current skills versus chasing new careers.  The skills are spread out as follows:

Level 1: 20 skills
Level 2: 18 skills
Level 3: 30 skills
Level 4: 61 skills
Level 5: 41 skills

The biggest jump seemed to be in level 5 skills.  I now have 15 more skills capped out.

There were a couple I needed to prep for that oft mentioned (but never purchased) freighter and then I started working on shield related skills while I was semi-idle and just running a mission now and again.  Level 3 skills actually went down in number, while the other levels went up a bit.

And, of course, the metric against which we all measure ourselves:  After the last seven months of training, I am almost exactly 22 days closer to being able to fly a Titan!

Go me!

I should be reporting on forty million skill points some time in late July/early August if I keep up this pace.