Daily Archives: January 23, 2009

A MUD History Wiki

After the Wikipedia purge of entries on MUDs and MUD History there was much wailing and gnashing of teeth.

But then, after the initial shock wore off, people picked themselves up and start in on the business at hand, the preservation of all that MUD history and lore.

And so the MUD Wiki was born over on Wikia.

Yes, this is not actually breaking news.  There was a comment on one of my posts on the subject almost two weeks back announcing the creation of the Wiki.  I held off on doing a post on the subject because, frankly, there are few things on the web as dull as a freshly created Wiki.

But now some time has gone by. Those axious to get things started have had time to get articles going.  There are actually things to read.

Raph Koster has put up a big article on LegendMUD.

There is the article on Threshold RPG which was moved over from Wikipedia and which was one of the entries marked for deletion that got the ball rolling on all of this.

There is even a very nice write up on Island of Kesmai, which brings back memories for me.

No entry on TorilMUD as yet, but I suppose I could fix that if I put my mind to it.

So go check it out.