Daily Archives: February 28, 2009

February in Review

The Site

February was quite a busy month for the site.  In fact, it ended up being the busiest month ever in terms of page views and such so far, which isn’t bad considering we’re talking about the shortest month of the year.

Of course, the surge in traffic had nothing to do with any eloquence on my part.

No, all I had to do was mention Pokemon for that.

A picture of Shaymin is worth a thousand page views… more, really.

So, if nothing else, I have a new most viewed post this month, the first change in the top spot in some 17 months.

One Year Ago

The month started out with our Pirates of the Burning Sea enthusiasm waning.

The instance group was kicking off its Outlands efforts, after running the required equipment upgrade quests, with Hellfire Ramparts, though first we ran through lower Blackrock Spire and got access to Upper Blackrock Spire.

Turbine announced that Lord of the Rings Online had extended its agreement with Tolkien Enterprises out until 2014, with an option to go to 2017.  As a lifetime member I applauded this extension.

I went to GDC up in San Francisco and had dinner some members of the VirginWorlds Podcast Collective plus Alan “Brenlo” Crosby, and got pictures to prove it. (I had a beard then… and I have a beard now… this is becoming a winter routine for me.)

My daughter got a Nintendo DS for Valentine’s Day.

We played a little KartRider, which is still MIA here in North America.

I defended myself against some slander about me being a dwarf.

I summed up the annual EverQuest Nostalgia Tour.

And I found out my blog was worth $61,534.86,though I couldn’t figure out how to cash in.  Since then, the value of the site has gone down.  I blame the economy.

New Linking Sites

Please visit these sites that were kind enough to link here.

I still have a bit of a backlog of sites.  I like to keep this list short every month so people are more likely to notice individual blogs.  Of course, the list is usually short because I cannot find so many linking sites.

Most Viewed Posts in February

  1. Shaymin Event at Toys R Us
  2. Play On: Guild Name Generator
  3. How To Find An Agent in EVE Online
  4. Getting Upper Blackrock Spire Access
  5. Warhammer – Anger and Denial
  6. Players as Excuse
  7. 2009 MMORPG Progdictionations
  8. Is There Hope for a Science Fiction MMORGP
  9. What Is A “Tank” In EVE?
  10. Five LEGO Video Game Titles I Want
  11. My Mom Plays WoW
  12. Iconic Distraction

Spam Comment of the Month

Did you by any chance on the agenda c trick a consideration that you are old or uninitiated? I’m ineluctable that not, the mechanism is that you are common, but people round are either old or callow, and that’s event all the time. What did you suppose nearby retired people when you was 25. And you cogitation that you’ve got to do so much in the presence of getting retired after you reached 54. But you should get that the the most prominent events is that as earlier you start retirement planning, the happiest person you

[huh?]

EVE Online

There has been lots of activity in EVE Online over the last month, with Potshot and Gaff back in the game along with regular commenter and co-worker Bluelinebasher.  Even Darren is making his cyclical appearance in New Eden, influenced no doubt by the enthusiasm of Jonathan on SUWT #43.  We’ll have to get EVE voice going and have Jonathan do a mission briefing in his Beavis voice, ala his performance on Witty Ranter #16.1.

Lord of the Rings Online

I have been trying to advance my main and now my alt in LOTRO, but other games have been taking priority.  The combination of usually having to play solo (while friends are on in EVE) and the lifetime membership damping that need to play while I am paying has taken some of the edge off.  Still, that does mean that every time I get in, I have a full blue bar of bonus experience to help me along.

Of course, then my video card blew out playing in the fields of Bree.  I’m sure I’ll be back in LOTRO soon.  Tistann is closing in on 30.

World of Warcraft

The instance group remains on hiatus as real life has kept one member of the team out of action.  I hope we’ll be able to get back together some time in March.

Meanwhile, most of my WoW time has been spent playing with my mother and daughter exploring the starting zones of Azeroth.  That has been a lot of fun.

Coming Up

I am sure I will have something to say about Pokemon Platinum in March.  It is now on pre-order through Amazon.com for myself and my daughter.

The Game Developers Conference in San Francisco is coming up towards the end of March.  I grabbed an Expo Pass again this year and will be up there to cruise the booths and find people on the Thursday of the show.  Is anybody else going to GDC?  I suspect tough economic times will keep the spectator crowd down.

Other than that, I cannot really see myself playing anything other than EVE, LOTRO and WoW for the near future, so expect more on those three.

Maybe somebody will tag me with that “Sixth Screenshot” meme.