Daily Archives: November 15, 2010

X-53 Touuring Rocker Mounts

It is like the WoW account phishers aren’t even trying any more.

What with Cataclysm coming up shortly, the WoW account scammers are losing the biggest gun in their arsenal of late, the bogus invite to the Cataclysm beta.

Now they appear to be casting about for some new hook with which to lure people.

And so it was that I got this phishing attempt:

Subject: X-53 Touuring Rocker Mounts


Blizzard Entertainment to celebrate the 5th anniversary, special thanks to the old players, if you invite your friends participate in World of Warcraft before, you can get: Human Warrior: Archilon Shadowheart Action Figure or World of Warcraft  Pet: Pandaren Monk.you are drawn in the system to receive your gift.

Pleast visit: [completely bogus, not even trying to hide it URL] X-53 Touuring Rocker Mounts.

We look forward to working with you in the World of Warcraft: Blizzard Entertainment to celebrate the 5th anniversary.

You may safely disregard any warning messages that appear to alert you that the beta opt-in application is unsigned. For more information, refer to the Blizzard Support website

Beta Account Support

Blizzard Entertainment
BLIZZARD (noreply@blizzard.com)

This isn’t a phishing attempt.  This is some sort of calculated insult to my intelligence.

I want to track this person down not to bring him to justice but just to say, “Dude, WTF?  Is that the best you could do?  Or were you just trying to piss me off?”

I mean, Touuring Rocker Mounts?  Are we talking about concert groupies here or what?

And the World of Warcraft 5th anniversary?  That was, you know, A YEAR AGO!

Then the email switches over to talking about a beta opt-in application.  What? What does that have to do with groupies or WoW’s 5th year anniversary?

But I am assured that whatever this opt-in is, I can safely disregard any warnings about missing or unverified digital certificates.   Or at least I think that is what the message means.

And the salutation is from Beta Account Support.

Finally, the email address “noreply@blizzard.com” is helpfully added to the end of the message.

Really?  You call this social engineering?  This is your best shot?