jump to navigation

And Then I Told My Daughter About Pet Battles… October 22, 2011

Posted by Wilhelm Arcturus in Blizzard, entertainment, Pokemon, World of Warcraft.
Tags: ,
trackback

I mentioned the pet battles system coming with the Mists of Pandaria expansion to my daughter this morning.

Go Totodile!

Once she made the quick Pokemon connection in her head, she was back on the “When is this coming out?” and “We are totally getting this expansion!” train.

Clearly we have an indication of the target audience for this expansion.

Well, I guess I am interested to see how the pet game plays out as well.  I already have most of the companion pet achievements already and I am certainly no stranger to Pokemon.

I am wearing my Pokewalker even as I write this.

Comments»

1. Piacenza - October 22, 2011

PVP for companions. I guess that’d be CVC. Suddenly I think of Jude Law in kabuki makeup.

2. Aufero - October 22, 2011

The pet battle thing does provide a heavy-handed hint as to the intended customer base, doesn’t it? That’s okay, as long as they don’t make me grow crops to feed my pets.

That would be LotRO.

3. ScytheNoire - October 22, 2011

And this post shows exactly why WoW will lose yet more of their customer base.

They are obviously planning to go free-to-play and are looking to cater to a younger audience and the Asian market more than their former fan-base.

WoW is basically done for the adult MMORPG player.

4. Psychochild's Blog » Thoughts about WoW and pandas - October 24, 2011

[...] I'm not surprised that Pokémon-lover The Ancient Gaming Noob and daughter are happy, my reaction is definitely more "Meh." Pet battles were an option in EQ2, but I could [...]

5. Mists of Pandaria is a great name « Hardcore Casual - October 24, 2011

[...] Kung Fu Panda to Saturday mornings, are you saying anything else? And is TAGN going to start double-posting real Pokemon and WoWmon updates? Will we be able to tell the [...]

6. West Karana » Daily Blogroll Oct 26: Pandamonium edition - October 26, 2011

[...] World of Warcraft is offering a kid-friendly expansion. This is — and I’m being entirely serious about this — a genius move. Many of the [...]


Voice your opinion... but be nice about it...

