The Instance Group Resurgent in Azeroth… Sort Of… And Hallow’s End

We decided to get our collective act together and get into the game so as to get used to the new realities of WoW 6.0.

And we tried.

However, due to authenticator problems, bronchitis, and a previous engagement, only Potshot and I ended up in game last Saturday night.

Such is life.

We decided that, just two levels shy of the cap, we probably no longer needed to stick with the group on levels.  We both chose to run through some of the quests in the Kun-Lai Summit area, which has the advantage of having a series of fun/interesting quests and a 24-slot bag as a quest reward.  Even with the new bank tab for crafting materials, I will still lunge for and bag space upgrade.  I have been trained to do so over the years.

Kun-lai Summit

Kun-Lai Summit Map

We didn’t bother grouping up as we were on different quests in the zone, or even getting on coms, but we chatted on the guild channel as we moved through the zone.  I got my bag and we both hit level 89.

However, I could not stop there.  The next day I got on, I wrapped up the zone and moved into the Townlong Steppe until Alioto hit level 90.

Level 90

Level 90

I did that for a number of reasons.  90 unlocks a few things, including the ability to train flight form, which is one of the main reasons you should level up a druid.

I love when I can fly by the form hasn't drawn yet...

I love when I can fly but the form hasn’t drawn yet…

I was a bit confused to find that they had consolidated the three travel forms into a single button that just transforms you into the form the game thinks is most appropriate.  I can no longer be the Nelk (nigh elf elk) on command.  On the other hand, when my flying form dives into water, it changes to the water form, and back when I jump out, so there is some upside.  I’ll get used to it.

Of course, there was another reason I wanted another level 90… Alioto is my 4th character to hit the level cap.  I wanted another bite at the apple every day when it came to the Headless Horseman.  You can queue up once per day per character for a shot at the horseman, with just about everybody looking to get the mount drop.

So that is what I do, four times every evening.  I log in each of my level 90s an hope to get that drop.

There he is again...

There he is again…

On the one hand, the fight is pretty easy and the queue time is pretty short.  On the other, I wonder just how many times I will have ended up killing this guy over the years looking for that mount.

Unlike Brewfest, it turned out that I had one more Hallow’s End achievement.  Somehow I had neglected to hit all the candy buckets in Pandaria last year, so I rounded that up.

Anyway, most of the group has resolved their issues… or gotten healthier… and it looks like we might make our full return this weekend.  We shall see.

Voice your opinion... but be nice about it...

