January in Review

The Site

Well, there is usual load of things to complain about when it comes to WordPress.com.  Their new “upgraded” stats and writing interfaces remain sluggish and feature poor compared to the originals.  Then there was the momentary stats debacle around the middle of the month, where suddenly they fumbled and misplaced a bunch of data.  I was checked my stats and saw page views actually going down.  And while they seem to have mostly fixed things, there are still a couple of days where things numbers do not add up.

I am plugged into just about every notification system of theirs I can find and they NEVER use any of them to mention problems or warn in advance of upgrades.  They prefer to keep everything locked down, rarely responding to any inquiry with anything besides clearly copied and pasted phrases.  There is a certain irony in that, with them running what is essentially a communications platform.

Still, better than dealing with Google… or Yahoo… or AOL.

Anyway, aside from my usual bitching and moaning about mishandled technology, I seem to have added a bunch of new followers to the blog over the last month and a half.  Back at the start of December the number was ~200.

People who “follow” the blog, as I am using the term here, have to have WordPress.com accounts and then opt-in to view posts in the rather mediocre reader interface that WordPress.com offers.  More complaining, I know, but really you are better off using RSS and something like Feedly or FlipBoard.

But by the middle of January I had gotten this little achievement from WordPress.com.

500Followers500 isn’t a huge number, but adding 300 in six weeks after a couple years getting to 200 seems… odd.  All the more so when many of those clicking the “follow” button seem to be not at all game, or even entertainment, related.

I suspect that there is some SEO related “secret” that has caused this surge in followers.  Or maybe it is a Twitter-like thing, as I notice that some of those who follow then unfollow rather quickly… though that may be because WP tied following and email notifications together at some point, meaning you cannot just sign up to see things in their reader, you also have to get email updates.  Or, at least you get an email about getting automatic email updates.  The actual email updates never arrive.  So dumb.

Anyway, welcome new followers!  I suspect that most of you will never read this!

One Year Ago

Do I need to say more than B-R5RB?  That was the biggest single battle in the history of EVE Online when it came to total ISK destroys, most of it in the form of 75 titans blowing up.  Lots of big numbers in that fight.  It made it to lots of non-gaming news sites.  And I was there.  I am on six titan kill mails to prove it.  The whole thing was a hell of an event after the crash at HED-GP earlier in the month.

That about spelled the end of N3 in the southeast as the Russians rolled in with CFC support.  My joke about the power blocs seemed to be true.  What could possibly go wrong?

Meanwhile, Blog Banter 52 was focused on the EVE Online community.  All sunshine and lollipops there, right?  Otherwise it was a pretty slow month in New Eden for me.

Speaking of bloodbaths, SOE announced they were going to close four titles, Free Realms, Wizardry Online, Star Wars: Clone Wars Adventures, and Vanguard: Rise of the Saga.  Meanwhile, deadbeat Planet Side, which hadn’t netted a nickel of profit in years went 100% free to play.  Way to show favorites Smed!

Then there was how Hearthstone was going to inspire SOE to update Legends of Norrath, because SOE has been cast in the role of follower for a while now.  Also, never going to happen.

Then there was the question of when “Next” was, specifically EverQuest Next.  Things had gotten quiet already.

At least SOE made subscriptions cheaper, though not before pissing off their subscribers first.  SOE being SOE.

And then there was Lord of the Rings Online, which announced there would be no expansion in 2014… or raids or dungeons… which left people kind of wondering what was going to happen.  You want to know when people started to doubt the future of the game? It was with this.  I did point out that Turbine was not the only entity that tried to tackle Tolkien’s work, only to be brought up short at Helm’s Deep.

There was the Pantheon: Rise of the Fallen kickstarter.  Brad McQuaid was back, asking for too much money and promising too many features.  We know how that works out.  Even SOE closing his last title couldn’t push his pledge totals up to what he wanted.

Then there was World of Warcraft.  People were wondering what classes to boost to level 90. and what the so-called stat squish was really going to mean.  They also, in hindsight, pretty clearly broadcasted the Warlords of Draenor ship date, only few believed it.

Our own group was still running through the Cataclysm expansion, catching up from our year or so away from the game in places like Deepholm and the Vortex Pinnacle.  I was also lusting for living steel and making friends with the Netherwing at last.

What else?  Oh yeah, EA decided that maybe SimCity should be a SimCity game.  I was wondering if level cap upgrades were an aberration.  There was some naming policy shenanigans.  And there was my yearly MMO outlook for the year as well as the usual prediction.

Five Years Ago

Well, there was the usual set of ill-considered predictions.

Oh, and that Battlestar Galactia/Bohemian Rhapsody video on YouTube.  I liked that.

The first issue of The Official World of Warcraft Magazine shipped.

I was wondering how many people remapped they keys for games.

There was Hulkageddon II, from which I tried to draw lessons.  Always good for some gamer angst… and anger.

There was a certain amount of excitement on my part for Pokemon HeartGold and SoulSilver.  January was the ramp up time for Pokemon hype.

The instance group was still warming up on the Horde side, making it as far as Razorfen Downs.

And the whole forever argument around Tanks and Healers vs. DPS?  We were going on about that back in January 2010 as well.  The Dungeon Finder brought this all into sharp relief.

But the month was primarily about Star Trek Online.  I was obsessed.

I was making making up polls and contests around that Del Taco shuttle tie-in and silly lists of things to do while waiting for open beta.

And when it finally arrived, I spent a lot of time with the character creator, some of it to make my first character and some of it just in the name of science.  I customized my ship and wondered how I could get rid of the shields in my combat screen shots.  Did they ever change that? And I pondered whether or not it was a good idea to get a lifetime subscription.  The poll results said it wasn’t, but I did it anyway.  The majority was correct it would seem.

Oh, I did do one other thing in January 2010.

New Linking Blogs

The following blogs have linked this site in their blogrolls, for which they have my thanks.

Please take a moment to visit them in return.

Most Viewed Posts in January

A surprise link from Crossing Zebra’s vaulted a four year old post to the top of the chart this month.  And the rest of the list was made up of mostly recent posts, which is a rarity some months.

  1. Some People REALLY Want to be Goons…
  2. And What of Another Middle-earth?
  3. The Mighty Insta-90 Question – Which Class to Boost?
  4. And What of Another Middle-earth?
  5. Last Minute Molten Core
  6. A Warning to My Fellow Dummies
  7. Have Basilisk, Will Travel
  8. Level 85 in EverQuest… Now What?
  9. Tech 3 Destroyers and Other Tidbits from EVE Vegas Keynote
  10. Running Civilization II on Windows 7 64-bit
  11. Making Friends and Influencing Capsuleers the Gevlon Goblin Way!
  12. The State of the Garrison Address

Search Terms of the Month

planetside 2 memes
[I don’t think PS2 is there yet]

( a$.32;?
[This actually brings people to a World of Tanks screen shot here]

where in the world map are the halls of montezuma
[Well, for a start, they’re pretty far from the shores of Tripoli]

prince of persia 4 pc game under 40mb
[Size isn’t everything]

sunny sex noob photos in 2015
[Really, you don’t want to go there]

EVE Online

It has been a semi-quiet month for me in New Eden.  I am with the deployment down in Immensea, but I keep missing fleets.  Timers seem to require us to form up just as we are sitting down to dinner at our house.  Still, I got on the kill board a few times and hopefully clicked on enough participation links to keep my CEO happy.

I did pull my second account out of the corp and let the subscription lapse.  Aside from the very rare need for a cyno beacon, I hadn’t really been using him.  So I am back down to one account.

EverQuest II

After some fun in Norrath, getting a couple of characters into the Rise of Kunark expansion I decided my vacation from Azeroth was over and let things settle.  I will likely return at some future date to continue my better-late-than-never journey through some of the EQII content.

World of Warcraft

I am all about the garrisons.  Or that is what it feels like some days with five characters in Draenor.  Every day I log in there is some garrison maintenance waiting for me.  I have to keep those followers active and those work order queues filled because… because… otherwise the won’t be active or filled!  Doing that has left me with a single level 100 character.  I still have three level 94s and a level 95 to work up to cap, plus I have this absurd dream about getting one of my long disused Horde characters up to level cap.  I am going to need another 13 month content drought.

Coming Up

The final days of Massively and WoW Insider are upon us.  On February 3rd they will go away, though the nature of their disappearance has yet to be announced.  Where will all of those URLs resolve to on the 4th, if anywhere?  We are rapidly approaching the last minute, though I doubt there will be any last minute reprieve from Vice-President for Being AOL Zorg.

I do have to look into replacements for both sites in my reader.

In EVE Online we have another expansion looming, while in World of Warcraft 6.1 patch is on the horizon.  I suppose I will stop fretting about how it is changing from day to day since WoW Insider won’t be keeping me up to date on that.

And by Grabthar’s hammer, I will get my ship undocked and fly around in Elite: Dangerous.  Also, Pokemon.  I must get back to Pokemon at some point.

 

6 thoughts on “January in Review

  1. zaphod6502

    Massively to me will always be the website that could never get a handle on the phenomenon that is EVE Online or what made that MMO good. It was a representation of the bigger problem that they were always promoting MMO’s regardless of quality in the pursuit of ad clicks and revenue.

    I think in this day of self-publishing, blogs. and Reddit the Massively model is becoming increasingly irrelevant.

    Like

  2. Wilhelm Arcturus Post author

    @Zaphod6502 – I could write quite a list of issues that Massively had over the years, both around EVE Online and other games, not the least of which would be putting Syp in charge of reporting on the EVE expansion release notes. Seriously, he made at least one “I don’t play this game” error every single time.

    But I’d still rather have them in my feed than have them close down.

    Liked by 1 person

Voice your opinion... but be nice about it...

