Pet Battle Enthusiasm Unleashed

I often find that there is a threshold of knowledge that, once passed, really enables me to get into something.  One moment I am tentative and uncertain.  Then I hit that critical mass of information and suddenly everything accelerates and I feel like I am, for lack of a better phrase, “really into” whatever that is.

That can be quite a transition.  I remember clearly hitting that transition with Civilization II, which is probably part of the reason that it remains my favorite game in the franchise.

Anyway, I am pretty sure I experienced a similar transition when it came to pet battles last week.  Before my last post on the topic, battle pets were something I did a little with every day, but it was really a secondary activity where I had little focus.  After that post, thanks to just a few bits of information that flowed my way via comments and Twitter, it was almost ALL I did i Azeroth.

So a big thanks to the people who left suggestions.  I think the biggest one was the PetBattle Teams addon, which made managing regular sets of pets… well, I was going to say easier, but since the standard UI does so little for you in that regard, I am going to go with “possible.”

PetBattle Teams on the right side...

PetBattle Teams on the right side…

With that I was able to organize some regular sets.

I also found that spot in the Vale of Eternal Blossoms, over by where the Golden Lotus daily quests are, that a couple of people mentioned.  The many pet groups that spawn over there… enough to keep three very active players leveling pets up going non-stop it seems… are mostly aquatic types and, as it turns out, I have quite a few pets good against aquatic at this point.

Fighting a multiple blue spawn in the Vale

Fighting a multiple blue spawn in the Vale

While crows were suggested as a pet, I found that the pair of my level 25 Waterfly and my level 25 Sandy Petrel were good enough to keep me going during the 8 minute cool down on pet heals.  I boosted quite a few pets over the course of the week.  In that area, if your level 1 pet can survive that first round and get swapped out, it jumps to level 5, after which it can generally survive a round even if it takes a hit.  From there the pattern seems to be two levels per fight up to level 11 or so, then one level per fight up to 15, and then two levels per fight up to about 20, at which point I am generally ready to let them face the world for the last few levels.  20 levels in less than 20 fights isn’t bad.

Of course, the area has its oddities.  I am not sure what is going on with that lake in the middle, but it seems to have two surfaces.  That makes the spawns there a bit problematic.

Under one surface, but over another

Under one surface, but over another

And when that spot got over crowded a couple of times, I was able to fly down to the river along the southern border of the Valley of the Four Winds where another host of aquatic encounters are available.  Lots of turtles and otters.

Amongst the first pets I raised up were Rascal Bot and a Shimmering Wyrmling, both of which are strong versus flying type pets.  I needed those because the first couple of battle pet masters I met after Ashlei were heavy on flying types.  Once those were available, I was able to add two more masters to my daily list of fights, and then a third once I leveled up a mechanical type.  You can see I have teams set up to battling them with their names, Vesharr, Taralune, and Cymre.

And with those opened up for daily farming, the suddenly I have 16 pet charms coming in each day, and for fifteen I can buy a Marked Flawless Battle-stone, since I have levels covered from another direction now, which upgrades any pet to rare quality.  So a lot of those poor quality pets I picked up along the way can suddenly become viable team members.

With all of this activity my rogue, who was just shy of level 96 when I posted last week, rather suddenly found himself hitting level 99 based on little more than pet battles.

Pet battle experience, it is a thing

Pet battle experience, it is a thing

Pet battles are something I need to spread out amongst alts it seems.

And, of course, with all that activity on the pet battle front, I rolled up a few achievements.

Yes, all those pet battle achievements in a row...

Yes, all those pet battle achievements in a row…

The most important on that list was probably Draenic Pet Battler, which unlocks the level 3 pet menagerie building in your garrison.  Well, it does if you are level 100 and such, but it is account wide, so Vikund was able to benefit from all this work by alts.

Another building to level 3

Another building to level 3

On the list of achievements, I do find it amusing that I got the one for raising 30 pets to level 25 before I got the one for raising 15 pets to level 10.  If you catch them above level 10, as I have on many occasion, they do not count as being raised to level 10.  You have to actually level them through that point.

So while the score of my profile over at Warcraft Pets has not changed dramatically, it is poised to improve if I keep up on this path.

score up from 1352

score up from 1352

On my list of things to do now is to work on the remaining battle pet masters in Draenor and find some more pets to fill out areas in which I am weak.  I am not well stocked against undead, I need a couple more mechanical types up to 25, and I have to find a few more flying type pets.

5 thoughts on “Pet Battle Enthusiasm Unleashed

  1. Wilhelm Arcturus Post author

    Amongst the time I spent doing pet battles over the last week, there was a three hour structure shoot op in EVE Online that flew unopposed, so I was able to spend a good portion of the time tabbed out of EVE and in WoW leveling up pets.

    Like

  2. @ericscho

    Have you been to northrend, there are a few interesting flying and dragonkin pets out there. And not much competition since the place is all but deserted ;).

    Like

  3. NetherLands

    Personally, my most-used Mechanical Pets are the Clockwork Gnome (Dwarven Archeology), the Mechanical Pandaren Dragonling, and the Personal World Destroyer (Quake and self-repair).

    You might also want to look into getting a Mechanical Yeti (pattern from a Quest in Winterspring, Engineers only; has Call Lightining and Ion Cannon) as it is a central combo-piece that is easy to get and can be built & sold.

    For flyers, the various Moths are generally your friend, and against undead it’s frogs and turtles (Pandaria has several of them).

    Note that a) the level 3 Menagerie opens up a strong Abomination pet (of which you can acquire more if you get more Level 3’s) and b) 6.1 will ease up the Menagerie Quests, going by the notes.

    Of course there are far, far more options, but these are what I would personally describe as a good basic set.
    (still in shock about the whole SOE thing).

    Like

Voice your opinion... but be nice about it...

