Pokemon Download Event – Get Serperior, Emboar, and Samurott

I haven’t written about Pokemon in a while, mostly because I have been a slacker on the Nintendo front recently, largely thanks to garrisons in World of Warcraft.  I only have five gym badges in Alpha Sapphire.  But I still pay attention to the franchise and Nintendo sends me updates, like this one!

Between now and November 15, 2015, players of Pokemon Omega Ruby & Alpha Sapphire can download level 50, fully evolved versions of the starter Pokemon from Pokemon Black & White.

PokemonORASDownloadsUnlike most past download events, where you could just get the Pokemon over the internet, this one requires you to use the get with code option.  Fortunately, the codes are not too difficult, as they each correspond to their National Pokedex identity.  They are:

  • for Serperior enter POKEMON497
  • for Emboar enter POKEMON500
  • for Samurott enter POKEMON503

Otherwise the download follows the usual rules and requires you to stop by a Pokecenter in game in order to pick up the downloaded Pokemon.  They each have a special ability that will make them powerful/annoying in competitive play.  My downloaded Samurott, as an example, is immune to crits.  Fun.

And while I am always keen to download any Pokemon that Nintendo cares to throw my way, this event does illustrate one of my problems with the franchise.  I am often quite enamored with the initial versions of Pokemon, but the evolutions don’t really do much for me.  So while those three Pokemon are undeniably powerful, part of me wishes they stayed looking like these guys:

Snivy, Tepig, and Oshawott

They started as Snivy, Tepig, and Oshawott

Finally, you cannot just enter other National Pokedex numbers to download other Pokemon.  I tried on the off-chance that it would work.  It doesn’t… at least for none of the combinations I tried.  I didn’t think it would work, but I felt I had to give it a shot.

3 thoughts on “Pokemon Download Event – Get Serperior, Emboar, and Samurott

  1. Endalia

    I hoped it would work for a secret pokemon :( I like the original pokemon as well, not their final evolutions. I’ll probably breed the hell out of them once I caught a Ditto :D

    Like

  2. Wilhelm Arcturus Post author

    @Murf – I actually did that for quite a stretch with Tepig in Pokemon White Version 2. The problem was that he only gets a couple of key abilities once he evolves. I forget which one I was desperate for at this point, but I finally gave in and let him evolve after keeping him in his initial for through to about level 40.

    Like

Voice your opinion... but be nice about it...

