Choosing the Tenth Galactic Student Council

I went with the Galactic Student Council metaphor just about seven years ago when the EVE Online Council of Stellar Management ran its first election.   And here we are today with the election of the 10th council kicking off.  (The whole thing started off with six month terms, which is how we got ten in seven years.)

CSM10There are 75 candidates out there vying for 14 spots and several bloggers have attempted to cover the candidates in order to give us some insight as to who stands for what as well as broader stroke views of the election itself.  Now, as polls have opened, people are posting their endorsements.

And I am still sticking with the Galactic Student Council metaphor.

That metaphor isn’t meant to denigrate any of the effort that those elected have put in during the past or plan to put in during the future.  Those that get elected are for the most part honest, forthright, and hard working, and CCP ought to feel lucky to have them.

And it doesn’t mean that I won’t vote.  I will likely vote the straight CFC party ticket, though I’d vote for Sion and Endie regardless.  Frankly I can’t wait for Endie on the CSM.  He wields metaphor like somebody wielding… a thingy… very deftly… or something.  I envy his way with words.  And people like Sugar Kyle and Steve Ronuken are on the CFC ticket, though I might bump them up the list.   And I want competent people around so when CCP deigns to ask their advice, so they get a good response.

No, that metaphor is a poke at CCP.  The CSM is a creature of CCP’s own making.  They control it and within the bounds of its work the CSM only has exactly as much power and influence as CCP allows it.  CSM members can have real power, but that power really only exists when they take things out of school, as happened with Incarna or the bonus room, neither of which were happy, comfortable moments for CCP.  That is clearly not the CSM CCP dreams of.  And the stink coming from behind the curtains of CSM9, where CCP basically refused to deal with an elected candidate, but wouldn’t remove him or own up to the situation, just makes me roll my eyes.  If you want to pick and choose who you deal with, then don’t go through the pretense of elections.

Anyway, like a minority of EVE Online players out there, I will go cast my vote.  I will also happily collect my “so you’re still subscribed” free blueprints for a special shuttle and my “please vote, we’ll give you some goodies” collectables.  All the details are here on how and when to vote and what prizes you get.

Diplomatic Shuttle... Caroline's Star not included.

Diplomatic Shuttle… Caroline’s Star not included.

And then the election will be over, the new CSM will be announced, and the whole thing will go into the background… or even more so into the background… for most players.

I sort of pay attention to what is going on and I would find it hard to pick out the right candidates out of a list of 75… how can we be sure all these people are running for the right reasons… and as amusing as I would find it to inflict former CFC member (elapsed time as in GSF, ~8 minutes) Xenuria on CCP for a year, I do want somebody I think I can trust around when the time comes.

So if you want help figuring out who to vote for, there are plenty of suggested ballots out there, often with detailed reasons why you should select a given candidate.  Here are a few:

Anyway, go vote when you’re ready.

2 thoughts on “Choosing the Tenth Galactic Student Council

  1. Rohan

    You know, this is never going to happen, but as someone who follows Eve for entertainment, I would love to see Gevlon get on the CSM. The community reaction would be glorious.

    Like

  2. Wilhelm Arcturus Post author

    @Rohan – Yeah, the dream comedy CSM would have to include Gevlon and Xenuria, which would be like mixing matter and anti-matter.

    You can say a lot of things about Gevlon, but he does make EVE Online more interesting.

    Like

Voice your opinion... but be nice about it...

