The Next EverQuest Progression Server will be Named Ragefire

Daybreak has posted up in the forums that, while the poll is still open, the name “Ragefire” is currently so far ahead that no other name appears to have a chance.

The name celebrates Zordakalicus Ragefire, a dragon from the Skyfire Mountains of Kunark.

Ragefire hanging out..

Ragefire hanging out..

As was mentioned in the comments of my post about the current polls, among the things he drops is an item for the Water Sprinkler of Nem Ankh quest.  The name is also probably the easiest on the list to spell/remember, which was my reason for picking it. (Lockjaw, the other easy name is running a distant second.)

Name choices

Name choices

Meanwhile, the polls are still open in game for a couple more days and, since there was no mention of other options clearly winning, there is still time to influence how this server will be run.

4 thoughts on “The Next EverQuest Progression Server will be Named Ragefire

  1. bhagpuss

    Ragefire is okay I guess. Not my favorite but it’ll do. I voted Lockjaw but I have reservations about that as well, since I used to be terrified of getting locjkjaw as a child because of horror stories my grandparents told me about people they’d known who’d died of it.

    Gorenaire sounds like some kind of French road-crossing guard, Myrlokar sounds like a brand of sandwich wrap, Yelinak sounds like a small south american rodent, Meldrath makes me think of Victor Meldrew and Anashti Sul makes me want say “Bless You”. Opal Darkbriar is too long and kind of weird as the name of a server somehow.

    Ragefire it is then.

    Like

  2. Wilhelm Arcturus Post author

    @Bhagpuss – Yeah, there was something about my grandparents that made them feel the need to bring up lockjaw whenever anything with some rust on it was present. Not a happy name for some of us, so probably best that it appears out of the running.

    Like

  3. Ogreatgames

    I don’t really love Ragefire, but the name is tolerable. Ultimately the server really doesn’t matter. But I like the fact they are doing a poll to chose the name.

    Like

  4. Wilhelm Arcturus Post author

    @Ogreatgames – If I recall right, they used a forum poll to pick the last name, Fippy Darkpaw which was, likewise, the runaway winner from the pack. The interesting bit for me is that they are polling on the other aspects of the server. We shall see what we end up with.

    Like

Voice your opinion... but be nice about it...

