EverQuest II Time Locked Expansion Servers – To Beta or Not To Beta?

The Daybreak team got the two beta servers, one PvE and one PvP, for the nostalgia bound EverQuest II time locked expansion server project they have been pitching for a bit.

That is Daybreak's graphic for the idea

Should probably just be “Nostalgia Servers”

Maybe a bit later that they expected, but at least on the same day as planned.

The question now is whether or not to dive in.  The instructions given in the forums are easy enough to follow.

Beta client is on the list

Beta client is on the list

Though if you don’t want to re-download the whole client again, Feldon at EQ2 Wire has you covered with some additional download details.

While they are testing out a queuing system for the server, things will otherwise be pretty much as announced previously.  I have a post that lists out the details that have been shared so far.

There is still no Isle of Refuge, so the starting zones remain the Frostfang Sea and Darklight Wood.  There was a “more on this later” tacked on to the end of the starter zone bullet point, but I do not know if we have heard anything else beyond technical reasons why bringing back the Isle of Refuge would be a huge pain.

Unlike the EverQuest progression server beta, you will have to have an All Access subscription in order to play on this beta server.  No free peek at nostalgia this time.

So now that it is there, do I dip my toe in and see what things look like?

I am generally not fond of betas here in my dotage.  When I was younger I would throw myself into such things, but now I often feel my time is better spent elsewhere as I tend to value the progress and virtual possessions I accrue, so knowing it will all be wiped shortly… and perhaps repeatedly… can be a disincentive.

On the other hand, I am genuinely curious about how popular such a nostalgia driven servers will be.  Even with key elements of the old days missing… just keep chanting “Isle of Refuge” over and over… there has to be some draw.

My earliest screen shot of EQ2 - Nov. 14, 2004

Can you even get to this zone anymore?

Just being able to start out on a fresh server that won’t allow transfers is going to bring a few players in.  Some people will do it just for the challenge.  And there were reports that the queue was already in play, though that could just be Daybreak setting the server limits low just to see if the damn thing even works.

I will have to consider whether to play or not this weekend, though given the pace Daybreak has been setting lately with these projects, if I deliberate long enough I might be able to go straight to the live versions of Stormhold or Deathtoll, the PvE and PvP servers respectively.

4 thoughts on “EverQuest II Time Locked Expansion Servers – To Beta or Not To Beta?

  1. Gripper

    I played on it last night, to be honest I think that Daybreak should maybe name it something else, as I started playing during the Fae, not sure what expansion that was, but from the chatter I was watching, everyone thought it would be like the old days. What it is though is all classes and races, and then essentially holding you at the level, and instances and content are not there until the xpac is released.

    I still like it though, as it really generated people interacting since you need food, bags things that people make.

    I played about an hour just more or less dinking around, and really considering what class do I really want to be! I had thought coercer/support but that is all I have done – maybe I need to branch out!

    But from my perspective it fits what I want it to be – a clean start and allows a casual player like me to enjoy content at a steady pace rather than an entire game with X amount of expansions hitting you in the face!

    Like

  2. bhagpuss

    The only possible reason I can see to play on the beta is to be public-spirited and give up your time to test things and help the Live version launch as smoothly as possible. The reason we are supposed to volunteer for beta tests in other words.

    There’s obviously nothing new to see, they’ve said they expect it to be a short beta so there’s no prospect of playing it instead of the Live version, and I don’t think they’ve mentioned anything about rewards, so unless you’re feeling altruistic it seems pointless.

    I’m still not sure I’ll even bother with the Live version although Deathtoll might be fun in a masochistic kind of way. I’ve never played on a PvP server in EQ2 either so it would be something new.

    As for the screenshot you certainly can go there (I expect you knew that and were just being rhetorical). All they took out with the village revamp was the villages themselves. All the original low level zones you could actually fight in are still just the same as they always were. I leveled my Channeler in Forest Ruins only a couple of months back.

    Like

  3. Tim

    My digital likeness is TradeMarked through Common Law, the Magna Carta, and the Dred Scott decision.

    Like

Voice your opinion... but be nice about it...

