My Age Based on My Video Game Preferences

There is a short, somewhat visually oriented quiz over at BuzzFeed that will attempt to guess your age based on your video game preferences.

Some of the questions were straight up simple for me to answer.

There can be only one... hundred and one... or more...

There can be only one… hundred and four… or more…

Others were… more obscure to me.  And there were not that many questions, so the whole thing was soon attempting to assign me an age… or no age at all.  I got this:

Every age is no age at all

Every age and no age

So that’s it, the blog is going to change to The Ageless Gaming Noob.  I have certainly been around for almost every generation of video games, though I have never been the best gamer on any block.

Of course, when I went back to take the thing again I got a different result, no doubt due to different answers on the questions that had no real meaning… and thus triggered no specific response… to me.  I ended up as a mere teen.

I don't want to be a teen again!

I don’t want to be a teen again!

That can’t be right.  I certainly am not big on streaming or league gaming, and I certainly remember a world without the internet.  It was a grim place of half-guessed trivia and not quite knowing where you had seen that actor before.

I blame knowing how many Pokemon there were for that result.

Anyway, a moment’s distraction on the internet… which I suppose is like pointing out a drop of water in the ocean, but there you have it.

11 thoughts on “My Age Based on My Video Game Preferences

  1. Pingback: Can We Guess Your Age Based On Your Video Game Preferences? | Aywren Sojourner - Just a Geek Blog

  2. zaphod6502

    I agree with Bhagpuss. I got early twenties in the test which I think was skewed because of the internet answers. I am actually 49 and started my computing hobby with the Commodore PET 2001 (1977). :)

    Like

  3. carson63000

    Sweet, I’m twenty years younger now than I was when I got out of bed this morning!

    I think it was skewed by the assumption that all old gamers played on old Nintendo consoles back in the day. Never owned or even saw one, myself. C=64 all the way.

    Liked by 2 people

  4. Wilhelm Arcturus Post author

    @SynCaine – Believe me, I asked myself a few times, “Do I really want to link to BuzzFeed?”

    I’ll have to retweet a dozen stories from The Onion/ClickHole to pay for that.

    Like

Voice your opinion... but be nice about it...

