Not Ready for a Return to Azeroth

I have to hand it to Blizzard.  They took their WoW Token idea and made it very easy for players to buy one to get back into the game.

With the World of Warcraft 11th anniversary hitting this month, I decided to see if I could log in with a level 20 or under via the Starter Edition to get the the obligatory Feat of Strength “being there” achievement so I could brag about it and pretend I was subscribed at the time or some such further down the road.

But when I logged in and got to the character screen, Blizzard popped up a dialog that said I had 200K gold sloshing around on various characters and wondered aloud in a not-so-subtle bit of copy if I wouldn’t like to just drop 35K gold on a WoW Token right now to reactivate my account.

WoW Tokens have gone up in price; not to the 90K gold some were predicting, but they are at least up past the original 30K opening price.  Still, I figured I could afford it, so I pressed the button, restarted the client, and was good for another 30 days.

I then collected and put on the Edwin VanCleef costume and the Inflatable Thunderfury, Blessed Blade of the Windseeker that were part of the anniversary package.

Vikund as Van Cleef

Vikund as Van Cleef

That got me two achievements.  Also, there was the now usual anniversary booster.

11tokenthing

Then I was standing around in my garrison, so I went back to business and collected the items from my followers who had all been out on missions since July.  That got me an item that yielded another achievement.

Then I spoke to King Varian Wrynn, who happened to be standing around in my garrison, took the quest he was offering, and went off to build a ship yard for my garrison.  Another achievement there.

Ships, I need lots of ships...

Ships, I need lots of ships…

That lead me on into the intro quests for Tanaan Jungle.  I did that then started on the quest chain in the jungle, ran through a few of those quests, and then called it a night.

And then went a full week before I realized I hadn’t logged back in again.

I am not sure there was anything wrong with Tanaan Jungle, though running through the garrison routine started to put me to sleep.  I suspect I am just to ready yet for another return to Azeroth.  We still have a long way to go until WoW Legion hits, even if the eternally optimistic keep saying that it COULD ship before summer.

I was interested to see who from the instance group was logging in.  Earl had been on recently.  He never unsubscribes and is a dedicated player.  And Bung had been on recently.  The rest of us in the guild though had been offline for months.  So perhaps the time is not yet ripe for a return.  I think that will have to wait until we get a firm date for WoW Legion.  At that point we can get back in, finish up Warlords of Draenor as a warm up and then set sail for the Broken Isles.

Still, that leave a hole in my usual routine, not having a fantasy MMORPG I am actively playing.

5 thoughts on “Not Ready for a Return to Azeroth

  1. bhagpuss

    I have to say that leveling a Gnome Hunter from scratch sounds intriguing. Especially with the “Most Mechanical pets will be challenging to tame, requiring you to first locate them and then use your Hunter abilities in unusual ways” pitch. Missing out on the original Hunter pet-taming routine is one of the things I regret from not playing WoW in its first half-decade.

    Like

  2. Wilhelm Arcturus Post author

    @Bhagpuss – The hunter changes across the board all sound interesting. Having a ranged + pet, melee + pet, and a ranged with no pet spec will give the class more variety.

    But that, like the gnomes, isn’t coming until WoW Legion hits next summer.

    Like

  3. Syl (@Gypsy_Syl)

    I wonder in which instance it becomes even too absurd for Blizzard to call it ‘achievements’ when all you’re doing is random things of zero challenge or consequence.

    And Legion is so NOT shipping before summer! =D

    Like

  4. Earlthecat

    Hey- Sorry I missed you! Let me know if you log back on. I have a new alt and there’s nobody left to invite him to the guild. So lonely…

    Like

  5. Wilhelm Arcturus Post author

    @Earl – I’ll pop in some today and this weekend. I still have 21 days left on the WoW Token and I feel mildly interested in an least earning back my gold while I’m there. Heh.

    Like

Voice your opinion... but be nice about it...

