Couch Podtatoes Podcast Episode 80 – A Daybreak Retrospective

In one those “a joke that ends up with a life of its own” moments, a “demand” that I appear on a podcast ended up with me actually appearing on one.

Izlain at Me vs. Myself and I apparently drew the short straw amongst the podcast community and so I ended up on the Couch Podatoes Podcast episode 80.

CouchpodtatoeGraphicThe topic discussed was Daybreak Game Company, formerly Sony Online Entertainment, and how they and their games have fared over the year since that transition.  We track the timeline, gush about the state of EverQuest and EverQuest II, ponder DC Universe Online and PlanetSide 2, cast a critical eye on the H1Z1 split, and wonder whatever became of EverQuest Next.

For those interested, you can find the podcast here.

It has actually been a while since I was on a podcast.  I think the last one I was on was the VirginWorlds five year anniversary podcast, and the ten year anniversary is next month.  Doing the podcast was fun.  I enjoy talking about video games.  Actually listening to myself on the podcast is another matter.  My voice never sounds like I think it sounds and I can hear every malady that afflicts me in it.  I am clearly not completely over that bout of pneumonia I had in December.

Anyway, there it is!  Enjoy!  And a big thanks to Izlain for having me on!

(Also if you’re not into the “what are you playing” segment, which I must admit, as a listener, can be tiresome, you can jump to the 10:50 mark where the meat of the discussion begins.)

2 thoughts on “Couch Podtatoes Podcast Episode 80 – A Daybreak Retrospective

  1. Syl

    Whaaat, how can there be no comments on this? Well, rather late then never! :D
    It was fun to finally hear the voice of the venerable Wilhelm, although I guess it could’ve been tracked down in the past! Your voice has less of that elderly sarcasm I am used to from your blog! ;)

    Like

  2. Wilhelm Arcturus Post author

    @Syl – My voice on that podcast is indicative of my general mood when talking or writing about video games. I like to play the cynic card and shake my fist at things, but I am generally smiling when I do it. Text is insufficient to convey mood, so people seem to come away from my writing seeing a different spin than I intended now and again.

    Liked by 1 person

Voice your opinion... but be nice about it...

