Minecraft and a Year of Statistics

So now that I have the long winded reflection post out of the way, here is something lighter.

Also a pretty Minecraft sunset

Also a pretty Minecraft sunset

One interesting side-effect of playing on a single server for 99% of my one year Minecraft career is that my stats for that server are pretty much my overall stats.  So here we go.

General Stats:

  • Games Quit – 762
  • Items Dropped – 539
  • Fish Caught – 148
  • Junk Fished – 16
  • Treasure Fished – 9
  • Talked with Villager – 919
  • Traded with Villager – 921
  • Cauldrons Filled – 2
  • Water Taken from Cauldrons – 3
  • Interactions with Brewing Stand – 39
  • Chests opened – 11,996
  • Trapped chests triggered – 166
  • Hoppers searched – 1,108
  • Droppers searched – 4
  • Records played – 2
  • Ender chests opened – 58
  • Items enchanted – 71

I like that it is “games quit” rather than started for no real reason.

MOB Stats:

  • MOB Kills – 14,601
  • Damage Dealt – 89,672
  • Damage Taken – 6,086
  • Players Killed – 0
  • Number of Deaths – 35
  • Animals Bred – 1,087
  • Zombies killed – 1,424 (killed me 3 times)
  • Skeletons killed – 851
  • Spiders killed – 526
  • Creepers killed – 512
  • Zombie Pigmen killed – 255 (killed me 4 times)
  • Magma Cubes killed – 206
  • Blazes killed – 185
  • Cows killed – 153
  • Slimes killed – 140
  • Sheep killed – 135
  • Silverfish killed – 129 (killed me 1 time, don’t go AFK!)
  • Chickens killed – 110
  • Ghasts killed – 98 (killed me 1 time)
  • Cave Spiders killed – 75
  • Endermen killed – 72 (killed me 1 time)
  • Witches killed – 54 (killed me 3 times)
  • Rabbits killed – 19
  • Squids killed – 15
  • Bats killed – 2
  • Ocelots killed – 1
  • Wolves killed – 1
  • Unaccounted for kills – 9,638 (dunno, just copying the stats)

I am not sure what else is inflating the MOB kill number, which is on a different page from the individual MOB stats.  The Ocelot and Wolf kills were both accidents while trying to tame them.  Doh!

While Zombie Pigmen have been directly responsible for more deaths than any other mob, Ghasts and Skeletons have both knocked me into lava, and my death, multiple times.  Ghasts have also set me on fire, which lead to my death, as well.  So I think they might be the MOB most dangerous to me.  I learned to use the bow and arrow specifically to kill Ghasts.

Crafting Stats:

  • Crafting Table interactions – 6,335
  • Furnace interactions – 2,176
  • Most Crafted item – Stick (needed for rails, torches, fences, tools, and more)
  • Most used item – Pick
  • Most depleted item – Pick
  • Most dropped item – Fish (from the Guardian farm no doubt)
  • Most mined item – Stone
  • Most picked up item – Cobblestone
  • Most crafted block – Stone Brick

The mend enchant has meant using diamond tools which can be repaired by experience globes, so I haven’t crafted many tools since 1.9 came out.

Travel Stats:

  • Walked – 2,273.26km
  • Sprinted – 20.96km
  • Crouched – 24.56km (most of it backwards)
  • Swum – 16.04km
  • Fallen – 8.54km
  • Climbed – 29.39km
  • Flown – 14.49km
  • Dove – 9.19km
  • Minecart – 591.01km
  • Boat – 105.06km
  • Pig – 335.71m
  • Horse – 129.3km
  • Elytra – 0mm
  • Jumped – 94,150 times
  • Times slept in a bed – 560

I do most of my travel by foot, though that includes every movement not covered by any other travel method.

I ended up turning off the auto-jump that came with Minecraft 1.10 because it was way too easy to walk over barriers I had put up to keep me from falling into lava and the like.

Minecarts are the most hands-off travel, while boats are the most efficient, so long as there is water where you are going. (And now that boats don’t break when you sneeze on them.)

Horses are great, but you have to keep an eye on them and they need a path 2 blocks wide and 3 blocks high.

And then there is the pig, which I rode just because Bhagpuss brought it up the last time I put up some Minecraft stats.  Not a very good way to travel, since the pig moves at  about walking speed, but amusing for a lark. (You can compare travel speeds with the chart here.)

Riding a pig away from Farm Station

Riding a pig away from Farm Station

So that is what I have after a year.  Sticks and stone and picks and a lot of walking.

6 thoughts on “Minecraft and a Year of Statistics

  1. Wilhelm Arcturus Post author

    @Bhagpuss – If I recall right, instead of feeding it a tasty fish, which will turn it into a pet cat after a few times, I beat it to death with one. I had searched for a quite a while to find it too. It was not a happy time.

    In addition to the wolf I accidentally killed doing something similar (beat it to death with the bone I was trying to give it), there is out there in the world another wolf I successfully tamed, my first, which I left behind because I didn’t know you had to click on it to let it follow you. So presumably it is still sitting right where I tamed it waiting patiently for my return.

    Like

  2. mrrx

    Usually it’s pretty boring to read about “This game is GREAT!” and little else. Keep the rants coming about games you like, both the good and bad parts.

    The interesting thing about Minecraft for me (at the moment) is that it does hold up if your whims decide to move you back to playing it. Still fun. The state of gaming hasn’t “surpassed” this sandbox game, at least as far as it reaching me.

    Like

  3. Evrett

    Terraria>Minecraft. Minecraft can continue toexist because it has a free version sopoor kids can play it..but still Terraria is so much more interesting and creative, not to mention smarter and better looking.

    Like

  4. Wilhelm Arcturus Post author

    @Evrett – I don’t want to knock Terraria, but the fact that it is a 2D side scroller, more akin to something like Super Mario Bros. than a 3D open world MMO, is pretty much a deal killer for me.

    Also, while Terraria has done well, with more than 12 million units in sales, I don’t think a “free version” for “poor kids,” by which I think you must mean the not-yet-released-so-not-actually-a-factor education version, is sufficient to explain Minecraft‘s much greater sales figures.

    Like

  5. .xyd

    “instead of feeding it a tasty fish… I beat it to death with one”
    Hilarious. Can’t wait to see if you get a post from PETA. ;-)

    The whole Terraria thing… VHS vs Beta, Mac vs PC and now Minecraft vs Terraria. I played Terraria and I just don’t get it — the limited world, side-scrolling and wacky craftables didn’t hold my attention: Two hours of my life I’ll never get back. But, the beauty is we have a choice.

    Wish I had more time to play any game right now.

    Like

Voice your opinion... but be nice about it...

