Neocom II for EVE Online

Third Party utilities are part of what makes EVE Online the game it is.  Without them it would be a much poorer experience.

I have been using the Neocom app on my iPad for a few years now.

Neocom for iPhone & iPad

It hooks up through the API interface and lets you view all the usual bits of information about your EVE Online characters.  You can see you wallet, your skill queue, your in-game mail, you financial information and such.  Basically it has about everything I could ask to keep an eye on, and is all bundled up in a reasonably attractive package.

So I was definitely interested when I heard that there was a Neocom II app available.

This version is made with moon goo

The Tech II indicator on the upper left corner turned out to be fairly apt.  The requirements are higher and you cannot fit as many characters.

Neocom II is a rewrite of the original Neocom app that dispenses with the old and now somewhat neglected API interface in favor of CCP’s single sign on interface.

In some ways this change is great.  When you use the SSO interface you get a lot more information out of CCP about your character.  Probably the biggest change is that SSO knows about Upwell structures in a way that the old API has not been updated to handle.  You want to see your assets in citadels, get details on sales from them, or see your market orders in such structures, you are now set.  You also get more detail on a number of things.

The down side… the bigger fitting requirement I suppose… is that the “single” in “single sign on” in this case seems to also indicate that you can only sign into a single account at a time with the Neocom II app.

Previously, with the original Neocom app, I had injected APIs for characters across four accounts and was able to swap between them in the same way you can have multiple characters in EVE Mon.

With Neocom II I can have more detail, however I am limited to viewing characters on a single account at a time.

Fortunately, the two apps are not incompatible so I just run them both on my iPad, with Neocom II keeping an eye on my main, who does most of my market stuff, and the older Neocom to peek in on the status of a wider ranger of characters.

If you have just one account, the Neocom II app is all you need.  It is a very nice addition to the family of third party EVE Online apps.  However, being a new app, it does have a few minor flaws.

For some reason I cannot make up its mind as to how many skill points I really have.

The larger number is correct

I don’t know if that is a flaw in how the app is calculating or if CCP is handing the app a bad value… or a value that is calculating something different, like all completed skills, leaving out the one being trained.

And while the app now includes assets in Upwell structures when calculating your total wealth, for some reason it believes I have 31 billion ISK in blueprints.  The old app put that number at about 300 million, and was very optimistic in that call.  Again, I am not sure if CCP is handing over bad data or if it is the app.  I do know I ought to just get rid of those blueprints.  I have a pile of blueprint copies from back when I was doing invention and I am sure they have no value at all.

Anyway, a nice little app.  It runs on the iPhone as well, though I prefer not to put it there.  I don’t need to stare at my characters that much and the small text on the small screen means I need to put on my reading glasses to see what is going on.

2 thoughts on “Neocom II for EVE Online

  1. Stormwaltz

    Poking through my old character data in the original NeoCom inspired me to return to EVE for a while. A really good app.

    Like

  2. Shirrath Gao (@Shirrath)

    NeoCom II does support multiple accounts, but CCP’s login screen is a bit counter-intuitive in this regard. It will remember what account you used, so when you see the character list, tap Cancel. You’ll get an error message, but that’s just CCP being CCP. Close the browser and click the Sign In button in Neocom II again. Now it should let you log in with a different account.

    Like

Voice your opinion... but be nice about it...

