The Coming of Civilization VII

It might not be unreasonable to ask if we really need a Civilization VII, but there it is, having been announced at Summer Games Fest.  We’re getting Civ VII.  Do we want lucky number 7?

Wishlist now, buy in 2025 or so…

And I don’t even mean that in some of the more obvious ways, like “do we need another 4x strategy title?”  I mean, sure, my Steam library already has enough unplayed or underplayed titles in it, why would I add more?

But there is always room for another GOOD game in the world, and few titles have engendered as much support as the Civilization series.  Just last year I went back to see if I could play all of the Civilization series variations.  And I could.  And you can to, if you have the patience.

Maybe what I mean is whether or not we really need another Civilization launch experience.

As a day one purchaser of Civilization versions II through V, I can attest that the experience became remarkably predictable.

The game will, of course, be extremely resource intensive.  Traditionally a Civilization title will barely run on any but the most current hardware and won’t run at its full potential until we’re a few more processor generations down the road.

That will lead to turning down the graphical settings… and the graphics will always be completely overblown with tiny levels of detail that you will see once, then cease to notice or care about half a dozen games into your experience… and being unable to take on max opponent matches unless you are willing to patiently wait for the computer players to get on with it already.

Then there will be the bugs and crashes.  Fortunately, we’re now in an era where patching is automated… though that has the perverse effect of many publishers just pushing whatever they have on launch day with an eye towards fixing things going forward.  So the game crashing on day one is practically a hallowed tradition and one I expect will continue.

Same as it ever was

The fact that the plan is to ship on PlayStation, XBox, Switch, Windows, MacOS,and some flavor of Linux (probably the SteamOS version) doesn’t make me feel better about stability.  I mean, one of the traditional broken aspects of a Civ launch is some portion of the multiplayer, and adding in the promise of full cross-platform play just multiplies the things that could go wrong along with the compromises that will need to be made.

As an aside, while I have played a number of titles that work well cross-platform, I have also had to endure my share of UI choices that are slow and awful on the PC, but which were put in place because of console requirements.  I hope Sid doesn’t forget where most the units are going to sell.

And then there is the game itself, which has reached a state where it seems to require a couple of expansions before it really settles down to a solid representation of the vision the team had when they set out… or to be really enjoyable… though Civ VI just became more gummed down in minutiae for me.  Will what we get in 2025… and you can bet it will be more like Holiday season 2025 than New Years Day 2025… be worth rushing out to grab?

Then what will the price point be?  The new normal is $70, but there will no doubt be additional premium versions in the $100-$150 range that add additional civs and other digital items.  And Sid might decide it is time to roll the dice with $80-$100 as an initial price for a series so well known.

In with that initial price, plus the day one DLC, plus the forthcoming paid expansions, there will no doubt be a game pass to buy as well.

As an MMORPG player, the who concept of the “game pass” still isn’t clear to me.  It feels like a bet, like you pay up front with the promise you’ll get all the new content for the next year covered, but there is no guarantee as to what that content will be and so it could be “great, best purchase ever” or it might mark me as a huge sucker.  And the industry hasn’t done much to reassure me on all of that.

Finally, we get to the big question, the giant freaking elephant in the room, the raison d’etre that must underlay this whole announcement… after six runs at the Civilization idea… or eight if you count Alpha Centauri (which you absolutely should) and Beyond Earth (which you can freely ignore in my book)… what is going to be new, different, or otherwise make what might be iteration 9 stand apart from its predecessors?

Well, Sid sure as hell isn’t saying.  The line on the official site is:

The award-winning strategy game franchise returns with a revolutionary new chapter. Sid Meier’s Civilization VII empowers you to build the greatest empire the world has ever known!

And the teaser trailer does do much save imply that there will be the usual overwrought cut scenes that you’ll turn turn off after a couple of runs because they’ll become dull on repetition or crash your system… both options have precedent.

I have been turning those options off since the palace thingy in the original Civilization.

I mean, I like the idea of reworking the franchise, but “revolutionary new chapter” could mean many things.  In my head I would like a reexamination of what may the early titles great and keeps them playable to this day in a way that might unencumber the state of play now exemplified in Civ VI.

But, with the state of tech right now, it might mean AI, blockchain, VR headsets, and an attempt to create a metaverse 4X title.  Has anybody seen Marc Andreesen skulking around?  That would surely be a bad sign.  I don’t think Sid Meier would need to stoop to that level, but then again, I could say the same about some other industry luminaries who have sold out early and often in the last decade.

We can also add in the fact that Sid isn’t getting any younger.  He’s Jerry Seinfeld’s age, and look how out of touch Jerry has become, an old man yelling at kids to get off his damn lawn.  And while I can’t speak to Sid’s views on cancel culture and the ability of comedians to be offensive, it does feel like, at the historical rate of release for Civilization titles in the 21st century, he might not be around for a Civilization VIII.

As such, he may see this as his legacy project and be tempted to pour in everything he has ever dreamed about in the past.  It is a temptation.  I hope he can restrain himself and maybe channel a bit of the Steve Jobs “less is more” philosophy… though who am I kidding?  What Civ title has ever showed such restraint in any quarter?

All of which is a whole lot of speculation because, aside from the teaser, we won’t get any REAL information about the game until they do a game play demo in August.  So we’ll have to wait.

In the mean time, I went over to Steam and did as commanded.  It is now on my wishlist.  For all my gripes above, I want to see where this is going.

One last roll of the dice Sid, for you and me both.  You might not have it in your to make another Civ title after this and, given the history of Alzheimer’s in my family, I might not have it in me to wait around and play another Civ title.  At some point “one more turn” will become “one last turn” for the both of us, so make it good.

Related:

 

9 thoughts on “The Coming of Civilization VII

  1. grimmtooth

    I can’t say I’ve been pleased with Civ VI. Hell, I haven’t really been pleased with anything after Civ III if I’m honest, but Civ V is way more enjoyable than its sequel. A lot of my issues have to do with the new systems that they’ve brought in that don’t really seem to be integrated into the game all that well. As with Religion in earlier versions, it may take two to three Civs for them to finally get it right. Because, you know, they won’t back anything out – like Blizz, they can’t admit that screwed up.

    I’ll buy it, but, like with VI, I’ll wait for it to go on sale.

    Like

    Reply
  2. bhagpuss

    That explains why Civ VI was 95% off on Steam yesterday. I was wondering.

    On the topic of Seinfeld as an “old man yelling at kids to get off his damn lawn”, I often think of starting a regular feature on the blog called “Old Man Says Something Dumb”. I’d have a good, new example almost every day. Then I think of the old glass houses line and try to rise above it all.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. Wilhelm Arcturus Post author

      Yes, I did not mention that all the Civ stuff is on sale on Steam. I got two bits of Civ V DLC that I had yet to purchase for a whopping 90 cents.

      My fear is that any such “old man yelling” venture would end up dedicated to Bill Maher and Piers Morgan most days.

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Jon Camp

    I started playing at Civ2, went back and found a copy of Civ1 to see the differences and liked it also, though prefered Civ2 for sure. I don’t think I did Civ3 as a day 1 purchase, but did buy it and liked it as well as, if not more than, Civ2. Civ4 released and word of mouth was that Civ3 was better, so I never bothered to try that one. Civ5 came and I played the hell out of it and loved it. Somewhere in all of that I played Alpha Centauri and Beyond Earth and loved AC, while merely enjoying BE.

    Civ6 came and I didn’t like it at 1st, but when I went back to Civ5 I found myself missing features from Civ6, so I guess it grew on me, but then the expansions came out and felt like they made it worse (back when I still blogged, I blogged about the game, and not liking the expasnions as they came out, even), so I stopped playing and uninstalled it some years ago. Never went back to try Civ5 again either.

    At times I’ve felt like trying to re-kindle my love for the series by watching streamers/let’s play vids of it, but everyone’s just flexing on how they only play on Deity and they all play the exact same way becuz it’s necessary to overcome the NPC opponents’ advantages so it’s incredibly boring to watch, so that didn’t help either.

    As a result, I actually have no interest in Civ7 right now, though if word of mouth is good after release, then I guess I’ll see then.

    Like

    Reply
  4. PCRedbeard

    I certainly hope that Sid won’t follow the same path trodden by Richard Garriott, Chris Roberts, and other PC gaming/software pioneers down the rabbit hole of grandiose self-delusion and crypto snake oil selling. That’s such a low bar to jump over that it’s sad that is the bar.

    Civ V and VI were interesting, but they haven’t even come close to the number of times I’ve played I and IV (and to a lesser extent III). Hell, or even the number of times I’ve played Stellaris or Master of Orion or… You get the idea.

    Me personally, I wait. Ever since Cataclysm, I’ve not gone out and bought a game on release (or even pre-release), and I typically wait until months have passed before pulling the trigger on a game and/or expansion, typically during a sale. (What I did on Mists, for example, was to start a new toon and leveled that toon until I got to L85, then I went out and bought Mists of Pandaria to start the new zones.)

    Like

    Reply
  5. Lewis Maskell

    I have bought every other Civ game, so the smart money says I will get this one. Just not probably at release.

    Time being the biggest issue.

    And I am getting warier now too. I am never going to replicate the excitement of the original, of Civ 2, or Alpha Centauri. And it is both unfair and unrealistic to expect that. I also know too much, in a sense. A bit too much aware now of how the sausage is made, as it were.

    I will still hope it is a success though. This series has brought me so many thousands of happy hours, I wish future generations many thousands more :)

    Like

    Reply
  6. davekay

    I loved Civ II, and Alpha Centauri, and Steam assures me that I have almost 3,000 hours logged in V. But VI bounced off me, I liked a few of the new features but not the game. Which leaves me interested in VII, but not exactly salivating for it. Will the series continue the kind of things I didn’t care for in VI, or move in a direction I prefer? No idea, but this won’t be an automatic purchase for me, though it’s on my wishlist, too.

    Like

    Reply
  7. SynCaine

    My total playtime with any Civ game is always how well it plays in multiplayer, so hopefully they improve on that over Civ6. Will most likely be a day-one purchase, baring something else coming out around that time and pushing it off.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

Voice your opinion... but be nice about it...