Hanging on the Telephone

I have had an urge for a while to write about the telephone.

What an oddly mundane topic, right?  A bit random too I suppose.  But here we are.

By the time I was old enough to be aware of what a telephone was, it was already an appliance in nearly every home.  By default homes in the suburban tracts of Silicon Valley where I grew up had a wall mounted rotary dial, set about 5 feet up the wall, in the kitchen/dining area, often with a long springy, spiral cord so you could roam about most of that area of the house.

The one in the house I grew up in was black, but my grandmother’s house had a yellow one, very much like the one pictured below.

The phone on the wall in Mountain View

I grabbed that image from an Etsy store that specializes in restoring old phones.  That was much easier than digging out the actual phone from my grandmother’s house, which I snagged some 30 years ago when cleaning it out, and which is in a box in the garage somewhere.  Or I am pretty sure it is.

Our house only had the one phone, but you could have the phone company come out and install an extension in another room.  Same phone number, different phone.  My grandmother had a matching yellow desktop rotary phone on the nightstand next to her bed, a popular location for a second phone in many houses.  My grandparents… my father’s parents… also had a second phone in their house, a conservative black model, that sat on the big desk in what one would call the study or the den.

The Western Electric Model 500, a fixture on desks and counters for decades

Image once again borrowed from the site linked above, although this time I do not have this actual model stored in the garage anywhere.  I kind of wish I did.

I still remember the phone numbers attached to most of those phones.  Not only were they printed on that little circle of paper inserted in the center of the dial by the phone company, but they never changed.  My ability to remember them is because I dialed them so many times in my life when I was young no doubt.

There are exceptions.  My father’s parents were less apt to use the phone, and looked on it as a bit of an intrusion into their home.  We rarely called them at home.  The phone ringing at their house was generally expected to be on the order of national news or a death in the family, or such was my 6 year old view of things.

Then again, they were also out on a farm in the central valley of California, in the 209 area code, which was very rural.  The one time I can remember using their phone to call home and wish my dad a happy birthday, I had to go through an operator to make what was a long distance call to our home in the 408 area code.

You dialed the number, to the operator your central office extension (last four digits of your phone number) and the are code and number you wanted to reach, and the operator made the connection for you.  And the operator was almost always female.

This was around 1975 or so.

Otherwise, the phone at their house only rang when there was bad news.  We visited them in person or wrote them letters otherwise.  Being on the farm was like being on an island.

By this point you might be getting to the “cool story bro, but what is the point here, why the telephone thing?” level of engagement here.  I mean, we’ve all used a phone, right?

The thing is, the phone and phone related technologies are something of a through line in my life.  Bilbo’s poem about the path from your house leading you to far away places if you don’t take care resonates with me when it comes to the phone.

My apparent lifelong need to communicate with strangers didn’t start with Twitter or this blog or forums or UseNet.  I was calling random people on the phone, often in strange and sometimes unlawful ways, back when I was in grammar school.

And telephone related technology has been the central path for most of my career.  I had a modem back in 1986 (purchased from Potshot) and learning that and starting a BBS gave me a leg up when suddenly modems became very important.  I managed to get my first few jobs in tech largely because I knew about modems and the company needed that knowledge.

I have, over the years, gotten jobs, promotions, and special assignments because I knew about modems, fax protocols, caller ID, ISDN, speech recognition, Voice XML, and how to program various phone line simulators.

I was almost never an expert at any of those things.  It was always a matter of being the one eyed guy in the land of the blind.  And so most of my career has been influenced by the telephone and related technology.  I spent a long run in interactive voice response… automated telephone answering systems, the hated phone tree where getting to a live person is often a chore… to the extent that it is likely that if you live in the US and you’re over 30 you have probably heard something I have worked on.

Even now, in my current job, while I am fully away from phone technology, I still work on apps that have to function on a smart phone.

Anyway, be warned.  Posts about phones are in the offing.  This is the intro post.  I’ll get into tales from my youth soon enough.

10 thoughts on “Hanging on the Telephone

  1. Marathal

    Back in the 70’s, my dad had a computer repair business, wait what? Hardly anyone had computers back then. Yeah I know. He serviced corporate systems. Big massive machines at GE, or card file systems at big hospitals. And terminals at law firms. The terminals were kind of boxy, most had the keyboard built in, some had a separate keyboard and monitor. Those fit into a desk that had a pivoting arm able to hold up one of those old 15 inch monsters. The desk weighed about 300 pounds. I know because I spent most weekend’s as a teenager helping move them. But back to the terminals. We had to open one up one day and here I was expecting lots of complex circuits. In the end it was a mother board and mounted along side was a touch tone phone. It didn’t have a handset, or a cover. Just the base and the guts. It was kind of crazy to see.

    Oh and don’t forget to mention about homes getting a teen line as a second number.

    Some good memories here. Thank you

    Like

    Reply
  2. Wilhelm Arcturus Post author

    @Marathal – I remember, up until the mid-80s, that used computers held considerable value rather than being considered scrap after a year or two. There was a used computer store chain in the valley for a while.

    My brother got that phone for himself thing… and got a black WD500 like the one in the picture. I didn’t go there until I got a modem.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  3. Tirnel

    You prompted some good memories with this post. I mostly remember the wall phones and desk phones you pictured. One would think the switch to a portable phone my senior year would have stuck but nope. Now, ironically, I am one of those smart phone people who use it for every thing but calling someone!

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  4. Archey

    Interesting thought about talking to strangers. I never ran a BBS but I was an avid user, mostly for two reasons: I was in the military during their peak and by the time I got out the Internet had killed them dead, and secondly because I lived in rural Louisiana and there were already more BBSs than people who knew how to access them.

    And funnily enough, my wife and I were just telling our older kids how we used to look through the phone book and identify the fancy/rich people by the fact that they had a children’s telephone listing.

    And finally, there was some point I remember in my early teens when you no longer needed to rent a phone from Ma Bell but you could buy your very own. I am not sure what occasioned it, but it was a sea change at the time.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  5. Wilhelm Arcturus Post author

    @Archey – Owning the phone was part of the lawsuit that ended up breaking up AT&T (at least temporarily). One of the complaints was that there was no competition and AT&T required customers rent a phone from them. They ended up having to allow users to buy their phone or supply their own and, in some locations, had to go replace the hard wired setup they had installed and replace it with the soon common RJ11 jacks that we saw everywhere for a while.

    I remember a service crew coming to my grandmother’s house and redoing the jacks.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  6. PCRedbeard

    @Wilhelm, I know you likely know this but the AT&T of today is not the AT&T of when we were kids. When AT&T broke up there were several “Baby Bells” that arose from the ashes. Back in 2006-7, AT&T “bought” Bellsouth, but in reality Bellsouth and Cingular Wireless kind of took over AT&T. Given that AT&T had gone through so many layoffs and restructuring under Robert Allen back in the 80s that AT&T was frequently referred to as “Allen and Two Temps”, it all kind of fit in some Karmic justice.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  7. Shintar

    My family still had a rotary phone in the 80s, though it was becoming a bit old-fashioned by then and many people had ones with buttons instead. I don’t think anyone had them on the wall or had a second phone… that seemed to be one of those things that we only saw in American TV shows, heh.

    I’m happy to hear you’ve got more posts planned though, because when I saw the end approaching I thought: “Whaaat, you can’t just start talking about phones and then stop there, so much more has changed about the way we use them!”

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  8. Pallais

    A few years before my parents moved to the small town where I grew up, folks had convinced the owner of the local telephone exchange to update it. He decided to go whole hog on the update, so they went from party lines where your number was something like ‘two long rings and one short ring’ to all private lines with touch tone phones. The local phone company used to boast they were the first in the state to have touch tone phones.

    I kind of wish I had been there before the conversion just to be able to say I had used that old, old system, but mostly I’m glad I didn’t. I still had to know how to use a rotary phone (lost art these days) when I visited other places or when I grew up and moved away to live in some small towns outside the areas I worked. (It is funny that the rotary phone ringer is still a universal ‘the phone is ringing’ sound in movies and television despite how few of them are actually in use.)

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

Voice your opinion... but be nice about it...