Daily Archives: March 19, 2024

Taking on Yagluth in Valheim

Since we are on our third pass though Valheim since it opened up into early access Potshot and I have been doing pretty well when it comes to each of the biome bosses.  Eikthyr, The Elder, Bonemass, and Moder all fell in pretty reasonable fights.

But Yagluth is a bit different.  We never quite got around to Yagluth on our first run, there being nothing past the plains biome at that time.  And our second run was… well a bit of a fiasco.  I had to leave for about an hour mid-way through it only to come back and find the corpses had continued to pile up.

So this time around Potshot and I were going to make sure we were prepared.  He had dug out a shelter below the altar while had a portal in it to make returning to the fight on death quick as well as some lighting and a campfire to speed hit point regeneration.

The safe room under the altar

We had also fully upgraded our gear, had weapons and the best arrows chosen for best effect… he was using Frostner while I opted for the raw damage of a black metal sword… and had been building up a supply of food and potions to support the effort.

The plan was to get in there, summon Yagluth, take the fire resist potions, then I would kick off the Bonemass buff first, we would fight him and Potshot would trigger the Bonemass buff again if we were still going when mine wore off.

I had read that with the fire resist potion and the Bonemass buff I could get in there and melee and ignore his damage for a bit, taking a medium health potion at need, then backing off if things got too spicy.

And this worked for a bit.

Yagluth in melee range

Just look at that health bar.  He was down about 25% and we were just about a minute or so into the fight.  This was going to be easy!

And then he asked about the air speed velocity of an unladen swallow… erm no… then he unleashed his nova attack on me and my health points fell drastically as I realized that I had forgotten to take the fire resist potion.  I could not get out of the fire in time and died.

There I am, dead on the ground

Well, we had lots of food back at base.  I ate, consumed a fire resist potion… yeah, I know they are called “meads” in Valheim, but I only remember that about half the time… and sat for a bit to let my health build back up, all while Potshot was dancing around with Yagluth on his own, before jumping into the portal and emerging from under the altar to the battlefield again.

I ran, grabbed my stuff, put on my armor, and got stuck into Yagluth again.  Now, however, I had fire resist but no Bonemass buff, so I was a little more vulnerable.

Also, we had received some visitors in the form of a pair of natural growths from the tar pit close by.  I had drained the pit, but they still spawn occasionally.  While they are not as fear inducing as they were when we first encountered them back on our second run, they are a pain to deal with and especially so if you’re kiting a boss around.  That tar spray attack, which saps your mobility, is a killer.  So I died again.

I did the same routine, got back into the fight, and was dealing with a second growth when my hit points once again put me in peril of another death.  I headed for the safe spot under the altar.  Potshot got in a bit deep and ran for the shelter as well, going down just on the front step.

Sigwulf down just within reach

He came back, got his stuff, and we both rested a moment to get back to full health, then emerged to take it to Yagluth one last time.  I could see my hit points slipping and took a health potion as we laid into the boss, his health now down to just a sliver… and down he went.

Yagluth defeated

On the battlefield was his trophy, destined for the henge back by our main base, and the three torn spirits, the drops we needed to open up manufacture of things in the mistlands.

The battlefield clears as the fight is done

We collected those up and headed back to our base.  The torn spirits were tucked away in our storage room and we headed over to hang Yagluth’s trophy at its designated spot.

The Yagluth trophy mounted next to Moder

That unlocks the Yagluth buff, which boosts your resists to fire, frost, and lightning for five minutes.

So our next destination is the mistlands.  We had already scouted a spot and had already gotten in over our heads, which in part prompted us to defeat Yagluth.  But we’ll get to that next time.