Trinity First Glance: Issues

Trinity is up, and within the promised time frame.

Trinity - December 2007

Trinity arrives

The basic patch went quickly and I was in the game in a few minutes.

The “pretty patch,” the Trinity graphics upgrade, is a separate download that you have to activate through the preferences panel. I did that, relogged, and went in to see what I could see.

Window Pains

They resized and reset all my windows!

They unlocked the Overview from the Selected Item, Drones, and Fleet windows. Not the most annoying thing in the world, but since they went and reset all the windows, I am still nudging those damn windows to get them lined up as I like.

Then they made the freakin’ Fleet window huge! I use that window every day to coordinate my mining operation… primarily it allows my hauler to warp directly to my miner… but now it is multiple nested levels, so it took me a minute to even find my miner when my hauler invited him to a fleet.

And, of course, the Fleet window stuck itself between the Overview and Drones windows, screwing up my window arrangement yet again and shoving the Drones window practically off the screen.

Now, I am sure that the new Fleet window is very useful to some people out there, but it was a pain in the ass to me almost immediately.

Minor gripes, yes, but I cannot imagine anybody who plays the game thinking, “You know what this game needs? Windows that take up EVEN MORE SPACE!”

I Fly Ugly Ships

Then there is the Trinity graphical update. What about that?

Detail.

That is about all I can say. Everything has a lot more detail.

I could see a lot more edges, nooks, corners, and what not on my Mammoth and my Drake.

But it is like seeing a older television news anchor on HDTV. You realize that the you never knew really how old he looked, how many wrinkles he had, or that he has hair visible growing out of his left ear and a small drop of sweat on his cheek.

So my heavily textured ships do not look much improved. Meanwhile, the Hulk, a ship with a more smooth appearance looks about the same. The only really startling difference is that they took away the smooth yellow-orange beams of the mining lasers and replaced them with little silver blue pulses that are, graphically, a serious step down. They do not even light up the asteroids around them like the old beams used to.

Space itself looks about the same. Since I spend most of my time zoomed out enough that space is what I see most, I have to say I am, so far, very unimpressed with the graphics update.

Maybe that will change with combat, but I don’t see much “there” there at the moment.

Other Issues

They felt the need to enable EVE Voice. I had to go in and turn that off.

They broke EVE Mon, my most favorite EVE utility. I am sure it will be fixed soon though. [Fixed now!]

My section of the universe has gone down a couple of times. Not a big deal. Certainly to be expected after a big upgrade.

Oh, and one more thing.

CCP TRIED TO DISABLE MY BRAND NEW COMPUTER BY DELETING THE BOOT.INI FILE WITH THEIR INSTALLER!

Yes, I am somewhat pissed about that. It is a good thing I was on and got this message:

ccpbootfiasco.png

I actually downloaded the upgrade considerably after that time and still had the issue. Let’s hear it for truth and accuracy!

The link in this message sends you to a forum page that starts off with a post that, while technically correct, is not very helpful if you do not know what you are doing.

Of course, that is because they link a Microsoft Knowledgebase entry (Microsoft KB Motto: Only helpful if you know what you are doing, and usually not even then!) and then let it ride, with only a vague offer of more help to people whose machines were actually disabled. (And whom, thus, are probably not reading the forum post!)

While I am usually one of the more understanding people when it comes to companies making gaffes like this, I have managed to go 18 years in development and QA and not actually ship something that disabled a customers system on an install.

CCP, you screwed up!

12 thoughts on “Trinity First Glance: Issues

  1. mrrx

    The more I hear about EVE, the more I wonder if I should try it someday. It doesn’t quite sound like the teenager-driven PvP kill-fest that I kind of got into my head early on.

    Then again, I don’t want them hosing my computer either. I wouldn’t lose anything but it would be SUCH a hassle.

    Like

  2. Wilhelm2451 Post author

    I would not go as far as Heartless. I have gone weeks without some griefer pissing me off… but you cannot avoid it. PvP in EVE is consentual only if you stay in a station. Once in space, things can get annoying, even in “high security” where you are generally safe from outright destruction. Having somebody high speed bump your ship around while you’re trying to mine, for example,can really get on your nerves.

    Of course, the flip side is true. If some corp pisses you off, you can form your own corp, declare war on them, and hunt them to extinction, even in high sec, if you have the ability. I’ve gotten a couple of messages from corps forming to go after other corps plaguing an area I happen to play near.

    So, teenager-driven kill-fest? No. Darwinian survival game where power and PvP rules? More on track.

    I am a anti-social carebear most days, and I have a niche in the game at the moment.

    Like

  3. g0thicicecream

    It’s actually a lot of fun and very pretty, unfortunately I borked my computer before I found out what happened from installing an early version of the patch this morning, now I need to figure out which version of hal.dll I need to restore from my XP CD before I attempt to boot after recreating the boot.ini file. Funny thing is, my laptop didn’t have a boot.ini and is running XP SP2 and still booted anyways. Go figure. There are a few knowledge base articles on Microsoft’s site on how to recreate the boot.ini file and get it up and running again.

    I would recommend trying the trial of EVE if it might interest you at all. See if you like it, and it’s not a teenager pvp kill fest. I’ve been playing almost a year and have only been PK’d maybe 3 or 4 times, but due to my own mistakes. You can avoid the PvP aspect of it if you want to.

    Like

  4. Adhar Khorin

    The Amarr Maller looks amazing – shiny copper gold plating, completely redefined engine assemblies. The medium pulse lasers on it look deadly – love the little glowing bits. I must agree with the OP on the Hulk – but personally I thought it looks really sharp.

    Running on a bit older card (7600 series) means that I can’t (if I want to live long) run the game at max settings, but it didn’t stop me from taking some great screenshots.

    Still getting into the gameplay changes, but so far, loving the graphics.

    Like

  5. Pingback: Eve Blog Links

  6. michael, St Erroneous

    If you right click on the members of your fleet, you can “add to watch list”. This is new compact list providing warp/lock/comms options, intended to make the lives of remote rep players less painful.

    I suspect it will do what you need. :)

    Like

  7. Wilhelm2451 Post author

    Good call. Granted, it ADDED another window to the UI, giving me THREE windows to deal with my fleet. But at least I could minimize the other two and not have them hogging up so much space.

    Like

  8. michael, St Erroneous

    You’ve probably noticed this already, but the Trinity update patch on Tuesday seems to have gotten rid of blue mining lasers. Looks like they have restored the old effect.

    I guess nobody liked the new blue shininess. :)

    Like

  9. Wilhelm2451 Post author

    The old effect is back, but for some reason, I can only see if from the ship that is doing the mining now. My hauler, parked alongside, sees no mining laser activity.

    Again, a minor thing, but I used to use the laser graphics to judge what other people were mining if I was sharing a belt with somebody. That way I could judge how much more time I had in the belt.

    But it is always something.

    Like

  10. michael, St Erroneous

    I’ve just been been in a small shared-can mining op with my characters and four corp-mates, and I could see their lasers (and my own hulk’s) on my three screens.

    Trinity buggy? Colour me shocked. ;)

    Like

Comments are closed.