Guild Wars 2 – Officially Live Today

Fools rush in… and get the best names.

-Somebody who didn’t get up at 3am last week

It is Guild Wars 2 launch day.

The head start is out of the way.  Those who wanted official Tyrian baseball caps now have them… or have until September 12th to claim them.

They totally fit in…

And that was a lot of people.  A successful MMO’s worth of people.

The faithful and the hopeful spent their weekend putting the new game to the test, and hitting the level cap in a few cases.  Judging from the traffic coming out of the official GW2 Twitter account, the head start was not without its issues.  But Error 42 hasn’t quite achieved the fame of Error 37.

The individual issues were probably bad enough that it if they all happened to you, you could build a pretty decent case for another MMO launch failure.  Especially if you behaved badly or chose a name unwisely.   Or, if you were in a more benevolent mood, you could call it a huge success, best MMO launch ever… if you had gone totally soft, that is.

And while it is now launch day, and time for the unwashed masses to join in, I am not playing yet.

Guild Wars 2 was on my 2011 MMO outlook, which I wrote back in December of 2010, as a game of interest, but the time is not right.

For the moment I already have enough on my plate with Rift and EVE Online.  If I rushed out and bought the box, I probably would not play it until I was done with one of those two games for a while.  You know how it works when you have a subscription game and a non-subscription game, you tend to play the one for which you are paying a monthly fee.

Doubly so since I was never all that enthusiastic about Guild Wars.

But that is okay.  All of you playing are blazing the trail, finding the issues, and making the world safe for those of us who will follow in your wake.  And I will watch with interest what people have to say about the game now that it is live.

This gives me time to consider my choices for the game, starting with which race.  Fortunately Starfleet Dental has put together a chart detailing the races of Tyria to help me choose.  This important document, which I encourage you to read, goes through the races, the potential, influences, and uses.

Can’t go wrong here…

Well… not without uses I guess…

Then there are classes and such to work on as well.

And dances.  No MMO is complete these days without dance steps.

Plenty awaits me… when I get around to it.

10 thoughts on “Guild Wars 2 – Officially Live Today

  1. Gripper

    The only hiccup I had was early Saturday morning, it was down for about 2 hours, then came back up. Hit the normal lag spikes etc – I do love the overflow server process they have, when you are trying to get in your server and its full or in que – then you bounce to an overflow server and keep rolling. Heck I played for a few hours just with a group of guys and stayed with them on an overflow.

    Like

  2. Wilhelm Arcturus Post author

    @Ardwulf – Well, I did not see a lot of alternatives for GW2 issues related posts. The happy warm glow is still permeating everywhere.

    So you get the “Hater” crown. Wear it in good health.

    Like

  3. Aufero

    I’ll get around to GW2 after I finish with The Secret World. (Or as I like to call it, Story Driven Single Player MMO 2 – Now with less WoW and George Lucas!)

    Hopefully starter zone overpopulation will have died down by then.

    Like

  4. Pingback: GW2: Entertain me once, get $60. Entertain me twice, get $15 « Hardcore Casual

  5. HarbingerZero

    I played the snot out of the game this weekend, which is not what I had planned, and I had not problem one. Then again, TSW got kudos for its launch and my main character is still glitch-locked to hell and back. MMO Launches are getting to be more and more of a YMMV event I guess.

    Like

  6. Pingback: Guild Wars 2 | Rogue Blogger

Comments are closed.