Daily Archives: August 16, 2015

How to get Your Steam Left Hours Down

Steam Left is the web site that calculates how many hours of play time you have left before you can claim you have “finished” the games in your Steam library.  You can find the site here.

Back during the Steam Summer Sale I was looking at how many hours I had left.  It was a good year’s worth of work, playing 40 hour weeks, using the standard “2,000 working hours in a year” rule of thumb I learned ages ago.

74 days would get me through the summer...

Your Steam library… it isn’t a job, it’s an adventure!

I knocked off a couple hours myself this summer, but I found a way to bring that number down some more.  My daughter was complaining of summer boredom so I installed Steam on her computer and logged my account in and told her to play whatever she wanted.  She has an iMac, so she couldn’t play everything on the list, but there are (to me) a surprising number of titles supported both Windows and Mac OS.

So for about a week she went through and played Sim City 4 and Tropico 4 (which was a real bargain when I grabbed it) and a few other titles.  All in all she ended up playing about a dozen hours worth of Steam games before she moved on to other things.

So, with 1,767 hours left on the estimate, I still have about a year of full time work to go on my library, but at least a few hours were knocked off.