How to Find an Agent in EVE Online… Quickly and Easily!

I have mentioned in the past that the all-time second most popular post on this blog is:

How to Find an Agent in EVE Online

I wrote that post almost four years ago and it consistently brings people to the site via search engines.

And the sad thing was that nothing had really changed since I wrote that.  It was still a useful overview of how to find an agent that will give you missions using only in-game resources.

It was an annoying process, but one that people used to accept with the usual reference to the legendary learning curve of EVE Online.  It is difficult because it is meant to be so.  Go read the old process.  March or die.

But fret no more, as CCP has finally gotten around to making finding an agent easy.  Unlike the captain’s quarters, this is a new feature I am totally behind because it does exactly what it is supposed to, the way it should do it, with about the least amount of controls possible.  I give you the new agent finder!

Finding Agents for the Imperial Chancellor Corp

You pick the faction, you pick the agent level,  and, optionally, the corporation, agent type, solar system, or security status of the agent’s solar system, and it displays the agents which meet the criteria in descending order of proximity to you.

Basically, it answers the quest I used to ask a lot, where is the nearest level n agent for corp x, quickly.

So, as you can see in the above screen shot, level 4 agents for the Amarr corporation Imperial Chancellor are pretty darn close to my current location. (Can you name the system I am in?)

Meanwhile, level 3 agents of the Caldari corporation Wiyrkomi Peace Corps (which seems to have an awful lot of security (read “combat”) agents for an organization with the word “peace” in its name) are a bit more distant from my location.

Agents of peace... but not at any price

I know if I want to work with them I am going to have to pick up and move.  The have odd looking stations out in the unpronounceable sections of Caldari space, many jumps from where I am currently.

So far, this looks pretty good.  I almost wish I was still looking for agents, but I’ve built up my Amarr and Caldari faction pretty well to this point.

The only minor gripe I have is getting to the agent finder.

It does have a prominent place on your coffee table in your captain’s quarters.

Agent Finder and Daily Specials

It is hard to miss there.

But, if the novelty of the captain’s quarters has worn off already and you’ve gone to the static “station door” background, the location of the agent finder is a bit less obvious.

Instead you find a button for it in the People and Places window, which seems logical enough, though that isn’t where you would start off under the old process if you were searching for a new agent.

People, Places, and How To Find Them

I haven’t played with it enough to be sure there isn’t some hole in it or something missing.  But so far, for Incarna features, I have to give this one a thumbs up.  It almost makes me forget CCPs desire to go Viking and pillage our wallets to the maximum extent possible.

The only real question for me is why it took CCP so long to do this.

Now I have to go update my old post to point here with something cute like, “Looking for an Agent? There’s an App for That!”

What do you think of the new Agent Finder?

8 thoughts on “How to Find an Agent in EVE Online… Quickly and Easily!

  1. Aufero

    I love it. They should have added it five years ago. (If I recall correctly, there’s an inconspicuous link to it at the top of the agents tab in the station services window as well.)

    Like

  2. Old Tom

    I see CCP now gets props for replicating that the eve community has already built. I wonder if the creator of the wonderful web-based Eve Online Agent finder (www.eve-agents.com) will get a $99 license fee out of CCP.

    The plus of the web-based agent finder is that it doesn’t melt my GPU while using it.

    Been sad weeks for CCP …

    Missed the FW roundtable at the Fanfest .. have not responded to players begging for some love to fix FW.

    Ships for Aurum mini-debacle .. backpedaled as only an idea and temporarily shelved.

    The Community Killing License fee fiasco .. backpedaled as a working draft

    The Alliance Tournament let down .. Thrown final match

    Incarna being at best underwhelming .. 1 room, less functional than old hangar view, replicated functionality simply not as easy to use .. to say nothing of the tech requirements and heating problems

    Monocle-gate … need I say more

    And now .. the leaked internal newsletter showing CCP Soundwave’s (lead designer) opinion of Eve subscribers …

    Like

  3. Aufero

    *shrug*

    I don’t see a problem with duplicating popular fan-built utilities in the game. (I do see a problem with charging the dedicated volunteers who made your game popular extra money for doing so, but that’s a different issue.)

    Like

  4. Old Tom

    I don’t have a problem with it either .. except let’s give credit where credit is due.

    IMHO .. Chribba did it better .. and years ago .. and Chribba didn’t crash my computer doing it.

    Like

  5. Wilhelm Arcturus Post author

    @Old Tom – You’ll note that I stuck the caveat of “with in-game resources” in my text. I love outside web sites, but this is such simple information that I start off appalled that I could not get it in-game without pulling teeth. Depending on outside players, noble though they be, to provide what is really critical in-game information is a pet peeve of mine. I hates it.

    That said, I do try to live in the real real world and I do appreciate what individuals have done outside the game. I have used EVE Agents, and linked to it any number of times in posts, and it is linked up as an EVE Online resource on my other blog. (Look, I even linked to it again, right there.)

    What EVE Agents doesn’t do, and what I think CCP should have done ages ago, is tell me immediately, without my having to paste in a system name and get the route, how close a given agent of the faction/corp/level I want is from my given position.

    When I was grinding faction, this was an incredibly annoying process. And now it is gone. That I can now, in-game, get a list of applicable agents sorted by distance in jumps almost makes me want to build some faction with another corp.

    I will have to go back to see how the new Agent Finder deals with research agents. That may be one place where you still have to go to EVE Agents to get what you are looking for.

    Like

  6. Aufero

    It’s okay for research agents, but it doesn’t have an option to search based on research skill. If you’re trying to figure out what corporation to build faction with for a particular research goal, I suspect Eve Agents is still the superior utility.

    Like

  7. Christopher

    I wish I could get excited about this but finding agents was never a problem for me. All this upgrade did for me was add problems, grief, over heating and garbage … without giving me anything in return.

    Like

  8. DerMuffin

    Ah, thanx for the hint about the button in the “people & places” window. I had already wondered if I had to switch on CQ for finding agents.

    Like

Comments are closed.