Daily Archives: March 10, 2016

The Pokemon 20th Anniversary Continues with a Legendary Celebi Download Event and More

The Pokemon 20th Anniversary hit late last month, but Nintendo has things lined up for most of the rest of the year to celebrate, culminating with the holiday launch of Pokemon Sun & Moon on the Nintendo 3Ds.

Last month fans on the 3DS got Pokemon Red, Blue, & Yellow as a purchase option for the Virtual Console as well as a GameStop download event that featured the legendary Pokemon Mew.

For March we get Legendary Celebi.

It is Celebi time

It is Celebi time

However, this time around you do not have to go to GameStop to collect a card, as with the Mew event.  I only figured this out when I told my daughter she had to pick up a card for me while she was at the mall and she came home empty handed.  I suppose if I had bothered to read the right page on the Pokemon site I would have known that. (Instructions for how to do the download are on that page as well.)

Not getting a card is a mild bummer, because I thought the Mew card was pretty neat, a nice little collectible to stick in a drawer and forget about for a few years.

On the flip side, since it is just an over-the-internet download, I can get a Celebi for both my copy of Pokemon Alpha Sapphire and Pokemon Y.  Double Celebi!

Meanwhile, Nintendo has other special things planned for the month, as spelled out in this short video.

As for upcoming Legendary download events, I will update my list so I know which are direct Nintendo Network downloads and which require a run up to GameStop:

  • April – Jirachi (Nintendo Network)
  • May – Darkrai (GameStop)
  • June – Manaphy (Nintendo Network)
  • July – Shaymin (Nintendo Network)
  • August – Arceus (GameStop)
  • September – Victini (Nintendo Network)
  • October – Keldeo (Nintendo Network)
  • November – Genesect (GameStop)
  • December – Meloetta (Nintendo Network)

So that is the download plan out through to the release of Pokemon Sun & Moon.

And if that wasn’t enough, if you own and are up-to-date with Pokemon Bank, you can grab three additional rare Pokemon, Regirock, Regice, and Registeel.

Pokemon Bank Special

Pokemon Bank Special

You can find the details here, but the basic info is that you just need to log into Pokemon Bank between March 3 and October 31, 2016 to be able to download these three Pokemon.  They do require Pokemon X & Y or Pokemon Omega Ruby & Alpha Sapphire to acquire.

So a plethora of Pokemon to collect this year.