Daily Archives: December 23, 2023

My Steam Replay for 2023… Plus My XBox 2023 Stats

I think the message to draw from my 2023 Steam Replay is that I did not spend a lot of time playing games on Steam in 2023.  Here is my overall summary that Steam nicely put together for me.

Steam Year in Review 2023

Ten games, 40% of which were some flavor of Civilization (early in the year I did a whole play through of ALL the Civilizations, so that is where these came from) are all I managed.

Actually, that isn’t so bad.  When we look at the median values for all players on Steam in 2023, I am above average.  The median for total games played was just four.

Where I rank in the grand scheme of things

Median, for those who opted out of taking statistics, is the exact mid point when you line all the values up in ascending order, as opposed to the mean, or average, where you add up all the values and divide them by the total number of entries.  The median is often more valuable because it tends to remove the weight of outliers.

For example, I know somebody who earned 422 achievements in 2023, a value large enough to likely lift the average a tiny bit, but having little impact on the median.  This is why the median salary at a company is more important to know that the average salary, because the median remove the obese weight of the overpaid CEO and executive staff.

So ten games is well above the median and, honestly, is pretty close to the total in my Steam Replay 2022 post, which has 11 games listed.

What is different is that in 2022 I had about 300 more play sessions and 70 more achievements earned.  I suspect that my total time spent playing… if they reported that stat… would have been much greater in 2022 as well.  We were in the midst of a Valheim re-run last year.

But then Wrath of the Lich King Classic landed and… that ate up most of my play time since.  We’ll get to my total game time stats in the new year.  I prefer to wait until the year is over, but I can already tell you that WoW Classic is at the top of the list… and that isn’t on Steam.

I did play some new titles in 2023.  Steam says that 20% of my play time was with new releases, compared to 9% of play time overall.  So many people are still playing Grand Theft Auto V.  You watch, that will be in the top ten of their end of year stats.

Steam – New titles played

That 20% was mostly Baldur’s Gate 3, which Potshot and I have been playing sporadically since it launched.

There are also some numbers from Steam… which mostly indicate that I did not spend much time playing on Steam.

Steam Replay 2023 Numbers

I guess the little bit of time I spent playing LEGO Star Wars: The Skywalker Saga pulled the chart to the LEGO axis.  Seems like an oddly specific axis, but there it is.

And for those dying to know, here is the full ten titles I played on Steam in 2023, sorted by time played.

My Steam Titles of 2023

I logged into Valheim a couple of times before I saved off our world and shut down our server rental.  The Jackbox Party Pack 3 was for an online team event at work.  I will get to Wizardry in a future post.  And I am pretty sure I launched Endless Sky by mistake… hence it being in last place for time played, below the 20 minutes I have spent in Wizardry so far.

So that was my Steam journey in 2023.

But wait, I have an extra tidbit.  I have my XBox Games journey to share as well!

My XBox games for 2023

At one point I played Froza Horizon 5 using the XBox game pass.  Since then, however, I have not really gone back to it as a service.  However, they have since integrated Minecraft into that platform.  If you have a Minecraft account you probably received 900+ email messages about migrating your Mojang account to a Microsoft account, an annoying process that gave no success feedback and, given the number of follow on dire “you better do this soon” follow on messages I got, not something Microsoft was tracking very well.

So did I play 15 minutes of Minecraft in 2023?  No.  There is a further chart down the page for my 2023 in review.

Welcome to the Minecraft launcher

I was in the launcher for 15 minutes in 2023, probably checking again to see if the dire warning from Microsoft about migrating my Mojang account was true or not.

So, no time spent playing Minecraft in 2023, or anything on the XBox Games platform.  But who knows, maybe in 2024 they will count time spent in WoW, WoW Classic, and other Blizzard titles.

Now there is a scary thought.  One does not use the /played command in WoW unless one wants a disturbing insight into the hollow shell that is their life.