Daily Archives: December 30, 2023

Looking Back at 2023 – Highs and Lows

Back again on the path out of 2023 with what is sometimes my final reflective post to be written during the year.

My 2023 banner courtesy of our daughter

Once more I am going to wrap up the year in something of a stream of consciousness flow of highs and lows on various topics.  For the historical perspective, here are past posts:

It is a measure, a test, of what stuck with me through 2023 as much as anything, so it probably says more about me than it says about the importance or relevance in the grand scheme of things.  If I have forgotten anything critical… and I am sure I have… let me know.

Blizzard

Highs

  • They have finally jettisoned Bobby Kotick
  • Microsoft deal closed successfully, and Microsoft is generally a good place to work
  • Diablo IV shipped and received a good initial response
  • Wrath of the Lich King Classic delivered all I wanted out of it… I am quite satisfied
  • Cataclysm Classic announced, so core WoW Classic will carry on
  • WoW Classic Season of Discovery is an interesting twist
  • WoW Classic Hardcore servers show Blizz is listening some
  • WoW Dragonflight held on to its customer base better than Shadowlands
  • Warcraft Rumble landed on mobile devices
  • Overwatch 2 shipped or something
  • Hearthstone is still cranking out expansions
  • Rumors that they might actually be able to get back into China under Microsoft

Lows

  • Bobby Kotick was so greatly enriched by this deal that it makes one ill to think about it
  • Is Microsoft going to necessarily be a better steward of the A-B portfolio of titles?
  • Diablo IV managed to alienate users with a post-launch, fun killing nerf patch
  • Overwatch 2 PvE? Unpossible!
  • It feels legitimate to ask if there is there any point to WoW Classic after Wrath
  • I mean, I am going to play Cataclysm Classic, but it might just be to get myself ready for Pandaria
  • WoW Season of Discovery isn’t the Classic Plus some were looking for
  • Classic Plus will never be a thing
  • The varieties of WoW now available seem to mean that retail WoW will forever be diminished… at least I have no interest in going back to it
  • We complained when Blizz did what it took to not get kicked out of China and we complained when they did get kicked out of China… is that market worth the effort?
  • Wasn’t there some sort of survival game they mentioned a year or so back?
  • StarCraft?

CCP

Highs

  • Hey, EVE Online is 20 years old now!
  • Two new expansions shipped this year
  • The “back to expansions” plan seems to be working so far
  • The Viridian expansion seemed able to fight off the dreaded “summer slump” even if it wasn’t all that exciting
  • The Havoc expansion saw a big boost in players online
  • Lots of players online since October, whether you prefer the average online or peak concurrent measure
  • Actually have plans for other products including a board game, a mobile title, and what might end up being a PC title
  • Got that EVE Online API Microsoft Excel plug-in to work finally, long after it was announced
  • Finally seemed about to ship EVE Vanguard, that first person shooter they have so longed for

Lows

  • 20 years is an achievement, but the baggage is not to be ignored
  • Jury still seems to be out on pirate insurgencies… I mean, the pirate factions love them, but the system might need some tuning
  • WTF CCP? Why is EVE Online chat breaking still a thing after what… five years with the new system?
  • CCP giveth and CCP neglecteth or something… the Abyssal tournament and the EVE Portal app die for lack of attention
  • EVE Vanguard is on the main launcher, so we’re going to have to live with it even if it too dies of neglect
  • EVE Vanguard is a long way from being done
  • The Microsoft Excel plug-in only works with the Office 365 version of Excel
  • Expansions aren’t ALL going to be faction warfare focused, are they?
  • Project Awakening, the crypto blockchain title promises to be a disaster, and while it is $40 million of Marc Adreesen’s money, it is still an opportunity cost for devs to work on that rather than something that won’t be a flop

Daybreak / Enad Global 7

Highs

  • Expansions for all the titles… or all the Daybreak titles I keep an eye on
  • Doing well financially
  • Being publicly held means we get more detailed news about the company
  • EverQuest 25th anniversary is coming up
  • Plans for a new EverQuest title
  • Plans for a new H1Z1 title
  • Roadmaps adhered to and generally good updates adopted

Lows

  • Ji Ham still pursuing his acting career
  • Most of the financial good news is on the back of My Singing Monsters, a success that is receding
  • Being publicly held, capitalism is requiring that the company hand over half of its profits without any consideration about reinvestment
  • Oh, it just so happen that the profit demands benefit greatly those in charge at EG7, so no surprise they didn’t argue for reinvestment
  • No remaster for LOTRO and no 4K support for LOTRO any time soon, if ever
  • Do I need to say “Console plans for LOTRO scrapped” as well?  I guess I do
  • The “new” H1Z1 title is reviving H1Z1 Just Survive, which was previously closed for not being financially viable
  • The new EverQuest title might land in 2028, maybe
  • The idea that an EverQuest title that is hardcore like Elden Ring is a good idea

Other Video Game Items

Highs

  • Baldur’s Gate 3 was a really good title and set a high bar for the industry to follow
  • Grand Theft Auto VI has finally been announced
  • Pokemon Go remains the one game my wife and I play together on a regular basis
  • A couple of good
  • Pokemon Scarlet & Violet got updates and expansions to keep them going
  • My daily Wordle and Wordle-likes remain a tradition going into another year
  • In smaller news, TorilMUD is still around and active 30 years after launch
  • Feeling some preliminary hype for the EverQuest 25th anniversary and the WoW and EQII 20th anniversaries in 2024
  • You can, in fact, play all of the Civilization series titles still…
  • Valheim carried on with some solid improvements, even if we are still waiting for the Ashlands biome
  • SWTOR moving to Broadsword seems like the best possible outcome for now
  • A lot of titles… SWTOR, Runes of Magic, Guild Wars 2, Lost Ark, New World… out there carrying on, getting updates, and making money still

Lows

  • The industry itself… layoffs and greed as usual… go read this summary
  • Oh my, the amount of whining about the expectations set by Baldur’s Gate 3 was phenomenal
  • Maybe I should get around to playing GTA V… I actually own it
  • I bounced off of Pokemon Scarlet pretty fast… might be done there…
  • No Pokemon Black & White remake yet
  • Spotify bought Heardle, which my wife and I played together daily, and shut it down because capitalism will destroy everything given the chance
  • I really don’t play anything on my Nintendo Switch… the Pokemon Diamond & Pearl remakes were the end of the line there
  • Whoa, that whole Unity pricing fiasco… John Riccitiello screws up again and ends up resigning
  • Am I actually going to ever go back and play something like EverQuest again?  The likelihood seems remote
  • I did try a bit of TorilMUD and all that scrolling text gives me a headache… I am officially post-MUD I think
  • You know Broadsword is a wholly owned subsidiary of EA, right?  This isn’t new ownership, but an accounting maneuver to keep a few profitable live service titles off the books because their margins were otherwise dragging down the corporate average
  • Playing Civilization I and II requires some effort
  • And, mostly, maybe I could play something new?

Tech in General

Highs

  • We have finally turned the corner and blockchain isn’t constantly being touted as something worthwhile
  • The FTC is finally reigning in crypto organizations that were clearly just trying to bypass trading and securities regulations… those laws are in place because unregulated capitalism becomes a con game very quickly, as we saw in 1920s Wall Street
  • The metaverse has gone back to being a niche talking point for enthusiasts… even Raph Koster, the most believable of the metaverse proponents, says he needs a game there first before a sandbox can be achieved
  • Decentraland proving that trying to cross pollinate crypto AND the metaverse was, at best, a comically premature idea, though I am convinced that the perverse incentives it created doomed it and will doom any future imitator

Lows

  • Did I mention layoff under games?  Under tech in general as well… that link in the last section covers tech as well
  • The subscription model for software like Officer 365 is becoming harder to avoid… my copy of Office 2021 looks to be the last version that won’t require a monthly fee to use
  • Getting out of the blockchain cycle required a lot of people being scammed out of their investments
  • I am sorry so many people bought into the hype and failed to understand either the technology (slow, awkward, expensive, and a poor alternative to existing solutions) or basic economics (BitCoin only has value if you convert it to a real world currency so it hasn’t replaced anything) but the signs were out there and people were shouting it was a scam all along
  • How are people still having their bored apes stolen?  How are there any left and how do they even have any value that makes stealing them worth the effort?
  • Now eight out of every ten headlines at VentureBeat, my personal barometer for over-hyped tech, is about AI or LLMs, meaning we’re headed for an AI crash at some point
  • Having been there for the rise and fall of Netscape, I have always been convinced that Marc Andreesen was more lucky than good, but his Techno-Optimist manifesto just confirmed to me that having money and being smart are not the same thing (I generally go link and tag free on these posts, but for that monstrosity I’ll make an exception)
  • The New York Times suing OpenAI essentially because if you prompt it correctly it will summarize articles from the paper… a paper that has a long history of summarizing without credit the works of others… is not just typical hypocrisy, but also a return to the bad anti-AI idea that remembering and learning from reading something is somehow a copyright violation

Television and Movies

Highs

  • Writers and Actors strikes settled with some gains
  • Some necessary consolidation of streaming services
  • I have settled on a focused set of streaming services, though I will add or remove them as we go off to find some new show
  • Netflix has something new on a regular basis… every Friday night for me… that it remains worthwhile to us
  • Apple TV+ rolled out some surprisingly good stuff this year
  • We’re starting to get some bundle deals, to you get Hulu and Disney+ for a reduced price, or when you subscribe to Paramount+ you also get Showtime content
  • We went out to the theater to see a few movies this year
  • Movie theater popcorn is still the best

Lows

  • The meager ask of the writers versus the profits of the studios just highlights the greed inherent in the system
  • Studios spent many months not negotiating hoping to starve the writers out, expressing a desire for them to lose their homes
  • The implosion of HBO, ditching the name, removing shows, and otherwise making easy for me to cancel it… sorry John Oliver
  • Disney is just determined to milk the MCU dry with more content that just isn’t getting much traction
  • Same with Star Wars, with the possible exception Andor
  • I think we saw THREE movies in the theater, Barbie, Oppenheimer, and Ferrari, which isn’t enough to keep theaters alive no matter how much popcorn we order
  • My wife steadfastly refuses to allow butter on the popcorn… it is still good dry, but I love greasy, over-buttered (or whatever it is they pour onto it) movie popcorn
  • JFC why is there always some old guy… and it is always an old guy… who has to check their phone five times during a screening? (And it isn’t me, I put my phone in my pocket when the previews start and don’t take it out until the credits are rolling)
  • Streaming as a revenue stream has completely failed to replace the old post theatrical release DVD sales channel
  • There isn’t room in the market for more than Netflix and one or two competitors in monthly subscription zone… sounds like MMORPGS
  • For Streaming, there is a parallel free to play future called FAST… Free, Add supported, Streaming Television… which is exactly what it sounds like, a return to TV with ads just like when many of us were growing up, just on demand now
  • Those who can’t be Netflix and haven’t gone towards FAST yet remain locked into the “one episode a week” model to try and keep their audience subscribed
  • More services, including Amazon Prime, are now going to put ads into their current model and require you to pay more to remove the ads which sounds like a very “I don’t understand consumer psychology” view of the world… seriously, just raising the price of Prime and offering a discount if you wanted ads would have been a much better path

Social Media

Highs

  • I mean, Elon Musk hasn’t completely broken Twitter… you can still block him, the nazis, the racists, the anti-semites, the MAGAs, the insurrectionists, and the awful tier of ads now showing up… Cheech & Chong edibles are dearly missed… and just stick to the “Following” tab, you can still achieve a nice balance of interaction with the Twitter circles that remain
  • Nobody is calling Twitter “X” and even news outlets who try to always feel they have to append “Formerly Twitter” to every article because “X” is a bad name that left behind the value of the brand
  • Most of the really dumb ideas Musk has floated… Twitter will be a bank, or a dating services, or a floor wax, or a desert topping… have failed to come to pass
  • Grok, Musk’s AI addition to Twitter became “woke” immediately and called out his own lies when asked
  • The PopTarts Bowl mascot coverage this week was a brief flash of what made Twitter great
  • There was the rise of the Twitter alternatives in 2024, with Post, Tribel, Substack Notes, Mastodon, Spoutible, BlueSky, Threads, and probably a few more I have forgotten
  • There is also Reddit, Facebook, Tumblr, LinkedIn, TikTok, and whatever…

Lows

  • Twitter is in an awful position (for users) of remaining the unquestioned dominant player in whatever its category is, so you cannot leave it without leaving friends and communities behind, while just being run by the least well adjusted billionaire in town… and as a class billionaires are the worst people
  • Musk has vowed to re-work Grok until it is as horrible as he and his fans are
  • Twitter hired a CEO whose job it is to follow Musk around and whenever he shits the bed, the take in a deep breath of the aroma and announce to the world that it was a masterstroke and smells better than Channel No. 5
  • The Twitter alternatives, the seven (or however many) dwarves, all started off against Twitter, but now have formed their own little silos where they complain about each other, often more bitterly than their actual primary competitor
  • If you want news about Twitter go to Mastodon, BlueSky, or Threads, as there is an audience on each absolutely obsessed with Twitter and ready to bring back any tidbit of news
  • And even if they aren’t talking ABOUT Twitter, they are copy/pasting Tweets FROM Twitter
  • Also, a good percentage of those people are still ON Twitter and cross posting everything anyway
  • I am not above blame as I am still on Twitter while using a few of the other platforms
  • I have almost no followers on any other service… despite being one of those people who cross-posts all the same stuff across multiple platforms… and the few I have are often the same individuals from Twitter… and with low engagement comes low interest
  • I am also very bad at finding people from Twitter on other services, so I am also not following that many people
  • How can we be beyond a year of Musk owning Twitter and its major competitors still don’t have all the basic features of Twitter?
  • Meta Instagram Threads has the same algorithm that Amazon has where when you buy a new router every decade the site offers up new routers for the next six months every time you visit the site like you buy 20 routers a year… so I hit “like” on a post about some Threads feature and then got several dozen similar-to-identical posts in my feed
  • WTF did Reddit change the UI to be like this time… seriously, I am not a old Reddit adherent, but after a dozen years or so there I am in danger of becoming one…

The Blog and Blogging

Highs

  • There are still a few active bloggers out there on the MMORPG beat
  • WordPress.com turned 20 years old in 2023, and I’ve been around for 17 of those years
  • WordPress.com, for all my complaints, has been and remains a reliable platform on which to write a blog… the end metrics that count, things like availability and uptime are solid
  • Kind of a strange and unexplained uptick in traffic in the last two months of the year
  • That traffic coincided with a boom in ad quality during the holiday season, which meant I paid off my annual hosting bill in two months (Please use ad block, I want bots to pay my hosting bills, not actual readers)
  • I still have a core base of readers who comment now and then
  • I made enough that I put EVE Online Pictures on a personal plan to remove all the toxic ads from it
  • Bing relented and put me back in their index, so them and the services that use Bing like Duck Duck Go and Yahoo, gave me a thousand page views in 2023… or less than 1% of what Google sent me… but it is NOT nothing….
  • I now have 52 email subscribers, a net gain of 2 in 2023
  • RSS is still a thing, and a good thing at that… read about it… wow, another link, I am really breaking tradition

Lows

  • WordPress.com does keep breaking things
  • The favored WP.com technique is to push something to production and let the customers find the problems in a way I would be embarrassed to do as a professional in the industry
  • The late 2023 traffic boom will end and things will settle down to the old, post-blogging era normal
  • The comments to posts ratio went down again, landing at 2.8 comments per post… in 2009 the ratio was at its peak with 9 comments per post and even as late as 2016 it was 6.4 comments per post, and comments are the life blood reader activity for a blog
  • At some point WordPress.com lost/purged/forgot a few hundred email subscribers… maybe… I look at the list of 52 and I don’t see myself on it, but I get daily notifications in one inbox
  • WordPress.com introduced a new paid promotion service called “Blaze” that absolutely does not deliver on its promise… seriously, promote something through Facebook before you bother with that (I did a couple of parallel tests because I was bored and curious)
  • There was that whole WordPress app versus the Jetpack app thing that I still don’t understand
  • WordPress.com introduced AI assisted search for blogs… but only if you pay for it, and it doesn’t seem wort the price
  • It feels like a lot of us on the MMORPG beat have branched out into other topics… myself included with all those telephone related posts
  • The EVE Online blogging neighborhood especially, once a large and vibrant community, has shrunk to a few regular writers and even the EVE Online news sites, once considered a threat to the blog community, have all but gone silent… it is bad when I am writing more EVE Online news posts than the news sites…

Real Life

Highs

  • I am still here, married, relatively happy, employed, and with only the typical health problems for my advancing age… my doc keeps saying these things are common for somebody of my age and profession
  • Oh, and I have pretty decent health care options
  • Our daughter will be graduating from college in the spring; parental op success!
  • My wife and I have managed to make it through four years of paying for college for our daughter… grad school, should it be a thing, will require negotiation
  • In my current job I do something that seems to matter, that makes things better for some people… more so than a modem or a computer caller ID device ever did
  • I work from home, so I no longer waste time and money on commuting, and my car racked up a whopping 4,000 miles on it this year
  • I got a 3% raise this year… which is tiny by my early career standards, but between 2010 and 2020 I think my biggest raise was 2%, was more likely to be 1%, and was just as often a “you should feel lucky you have a job” sentiment from the C-suite, where everybody got at least six figure, and sometimes seven figure, bonuses
  • At least I stopped hearing the word “charcuterie” so damn much in 2023… though that is what we’re having for new year’s eve

Lows

  • Having reached something of a major parenting milestone with our daughter’s college graduation… there is still marriage and grand kids or whatever possible out there… one does begin to feel like one has entered the denouement of one’s story… is this the end of my purpose in life?
  • Also, continuing with the naive assumption that life has purpose beyond biological imperatives
  • Those typical health problems are all quite annoying
  • Working from home means I can go five or six days straight and never venture further than the curb to roll out the trash cans for pickup
  • I do not miss the commute per se, but I miss the time I used to spend with an audio book while commuting
  • I no longer work for what one might consider Silicon Valley or on telephony related products, and my ongoing telephony tales will eventually come to that juncture

The World

Still in crisis.  Covid is going to be with us for a long time, though at least vaccines mean it won’t kill another million people in the US alone.  But it is still a hazard to the old and ill.  My mother’s assisted living home has been on Covid lock down a few times this year. I wear a mask when I visit, both to avoid bringing anything in and carrying anything out… and the one time I forgot was the one time they called me two days later to tell me my mother was positive for Covid.

The war drags on in Ukraine, Israel and the Palestinians are back to escalating violence, there is still a civil war going on in Syria, and we’re on the edge of terrorism here as Republicans declare that if they can’t win at the ballot box then they see violence as a completely acceptable alternative, as they did on January 6th.  The curse of interesting times seems to be ours.

2024

I cannot get there yet.  I’m going to stay in 2023 for now.  We’ll get to next year when it arrives on Monday.