Daily Archives: December 12, 2023

My Twitch Time in 2023 and the Influence of Twitch Drops

The annual recaps are starting to appear.  The summaries of 2023 are being sent out.  And the first good one I have gotten so far is for Twitch, which has summed up what I spent my time watching in 2023.

Twitch is Twitch

I say the first good one because Reddit has also put out their recap and… well, it kind of sucks compared to past years.  Aside from the banana scroll count… and I was down 10K bananas compared with 2022… it was pretty generic.  I mean, I like that they did subreddit recaps, but even those were a bit “whatever” in content.

So I am going straight to Twitch and what I did there in 2023.

Twitch Recap 2023

I was in for 325 hours total viewing, over 138 distinct days.  Last year it was 214 hours over 85 days, so more time on more days I guess.

I place the blame for more hours spent firmly on Twitch Drops.  I certainly did not spend 100 more hours watching Twitch, or even listening to Twitch.  I spent a lot of those hours with Twitch open in a tab on my browser but muted.  And my top categories bear that out.

My top categories for viewing were:

  • EVE Online
  • Music
  • New World
  • World of Warcraft
  • Guild Wars 2

EVE Online I did actually watch some of… though probably not as much as you might imagine.  As I said last year, I tune in whenever I remember to when CCP is broadcasting so I can earn channel points from their streams, which can be turned in for SKINs.  So, for example, I probably watched half a dozen matches in the Alliance Tournament, but I had it running in a browser tab for a lot more of it.

But more so I was tuned in because of all the Twitch drops they have had since they discovered them as a promotional medium.  I have collected 38 different Twitch drops for EVE Online, and I think they only started doing them in August for the Alliance Tournament.  That is almost 10 a month, and I am clearly there for them.  They show up so often that I sometimes just stream EVE Online on the off chance there is another drop available… and sometimes there is.

So EVE Online is clearly #1 for me.  And I was in the top 10% of viewers for EVE Online… which is a bit worrying… for the game, not for me… because I don’t think I actually watch that much.  But, like I said, muted tab in the browser was a lot of it.

Music I probably did listen to, maybe more so than EVE Online.  But that is usually because I tune in Mind1 on Saturday night for his Saturday Night Swarm DJ set, which you might say is EVE Online related.  Once again, top 10% viewer in the category.  Seems unlikely, but sure.

Then New World, World of Warcraft, and Guild Wars 2… I had those tuned in solely for Twitch Drops.  I don’t think I’m likely to ever go back and play New World or Guild Wars 2, but on the off chance I made sure to tune in while they were giving stuff away.  I was also in the top 10% of viewers for New World, which is a bit sad honestly, because I was only there for the drops, which means some people didn’t even watch long enough to get those.

And which channels did I watch in 2023?  Well, the top three for 2023 were all repeat entries, which I have listed out below along with the hour counts for past years… when they were available.

  • Mind1
    • 2023 – 101 hours
    • 2022 – 30 hours
    • 2020 – 29 hours
  •  CCP
    • 2023 – 84 hours
    • 2022 – 76 hours
    • 2020 – 9 hours
  • Imperium News
    • 2023 – 16 hours
    • 2022 – 41 hours
    • 2020 – 74 hours

So the big winner, at least when it comes to me tuning in, was Mind1.  I will admit, he is my go-to channel when there are EVE Online Twitch drops to be had… and, as noted, Saturday Night Swarm.  Mind1 was in third place last year and in second place in 2020.

CCP is in a solid second, once again largely due to my need to earn channel points to spend on SKINs.

Then, finally, there is Imperium News, which has fallen off quite a bit.  It was strong in 2020 due to the war, and persisted in 2022 due to The Mittani and then his ouster.  But in 2023 it just hasn’t been that interesting.  I used to make time to watch the Meta Show live on Saturday during World War Bee, but now… not so much.  I like Brisc, but the energy between him and Mark Resurrectus just isn’t as engaging.

And hell, Brisc isn’t even on the CSM anymore.  He’s just another pilot in KarmaFleet.  Even I can make that claim in the game.  But at least his emoji was one of my top… though Twitch says I only used it four times and I cannot even use it anymore because I stopped giving Imperium News my Bezos Bucks, the Amazon Prime subscription you can apply to channels.  I think Dave Archer of ASCEE is the current recipient.

Anyway, that is my Twitch recap for 2023.  You can read more about them and find your own here, as well as reading the overall Twitch Community 2023 recap… which wasn’t at all interesting to me.  I have never watched any of those streamers.

Past years: