Five New EVE Online Wishes

Six months ago I wrote a post titled “Five EVE Online Wishes.”

Since then I have done a lot of flying, a lot of training, and a lot of experimenting.

I have learned a lot.

I have learned enough that my wishes for the game have changed.

While a skill training queue is still something I want badly, I would put this new list ahead of everything else I wrote back then.

So what is it I want?

System Asset Location

Doing a lot of buying and selling in EVE, I end up using the Assets window a lot. It is very useful, but not useful enough.

Specifically, I want an additional option in the search tab that allows me to see all of the assets I have in a given system.

Sometimes I am on the fence about whether it is worth a run out to a given area based on one transaction, so I find myself wondering if the trip would be worth it based on other items in that same system. Unfortunately, the granularity currently allowed by the assets function will show me all of my items, all items in my current region, all items in my current constellation, all items in my current solar system, and all items in my current station.

Of that list, all items in my current solar system is the most useful, and I would like to be able to direct it at a specific solar system on demand.

Agent Locator Interface

I already know how to find an agent in EVE Online, so nobody has to explain that to me.

How to EASILY find an agent of a given faction that is close by, offers the missions you want, and is available to you is another story altogether.

I want an agent search window akin to the assets window I addressed above. This should be easy to do, it is just database queries. Yes, there are web sites with details about agents, but I want something in game. Furthermore, I want something I can use in a station. I have spent hours floating outside a station, looking through the list of agents, setting their systems as my destination, only to say, “Whoa! 28 jumps? Next!”

And I know I am not alone in this desire.

On the all time list of most viewed articles for my blog, “How to Find an Agent in EVE Online” is Number 3, only falling behind “Play On: Guild Name Generator” and “PowerColor Radeon x1950 AGP Review.”

(WordPress.com just put in the feature to let me see that statistic! Such timing!)

Somebody has come to the site every single day in the six months since I put it up to view that post.

With that many people looking for help, I think we can safely say the demand is there.

CCP, make this feature happen!

Email Notification

For me, most of the time, in game mail is not very urgent. The majority tends to be from ISK sellers, though that has tapered off dramatically of late, or from people who read the blog and just want to drop me a note to say I should:

  1. join a corp
  2. get to 0.0 space
  3. all of the above

But now that I have started doing research with Ishukone Corporation, in game mail has a bit more urgency for me. Every once in a while, an in game mail will show up from the R&D agent telling me that research has stopped and that I have to come by and fix the issue, usually by supplying 900 units of tritanium. Since research points accumulate slowly over time, hours spent stuck waiting for me to cough up the tritanium are hours I am getting no points!

So I would like an email notification feature with a simple set of rules. Something simple would do. I would like to be able to set up a rule so that if I get an in game mail from an NPC Agent and I am not online when it comes in, send an email to my registered account (and I get enough email from CCP to be sure they know my email address) with the content of the message.

The rule set should be able to filter and allow notification based on corp membership, rank within a corp, buddy list, and so on. This isn’t as light or easy as my first two wishes, but it is certainly achievable, though they might have to beef up the CCP mail server. It won’t be much good if there is a 12 hour delay.

Lighten Up Trinity

I do not know what CCP did to the code between Revelations and Trinity, but I want it put back the way it was.

Before Trinity, I could run EVE pretty well on my work-issued ThinkPad with its dinky ATi x300 video card. I wouldn’t have recommended running kill missions with dozens of NPC ships, but for mining or hauling trash, it was the little laptop that could.

Since Trinity though things are just not the same. Obviously I am not running the new “Premium Graphics Content,” the x300 isn’t even close to being capable of that, just the plain old “Classic Graphics Content.”

But even running the lower quality graphic package, EVE now beats the crap out of the poor little machine. I’ve turned down all the settings I can find and things are still bad. I launch EVE and I can tell you right where that 1.86MHz Pentium M CPU is in the case; it is where the plastic feels hot enough to melt… and did I mention I do not need to leave the station for this?

From the downloads page (but not the FAQ!) I found that the current listed system requirements for EVE Online are:

Minimum

OS: Windows System 2000 SP2 /XP/ Vista
CPU: Intel Pentium? III 800 MHz or AMD Athlon 800 MHz
RAM: 512 MB or more
HD space: 6.0 GB
Network: 56k modem or better Internet connection
Video: 32 MB 3D graphics card. GeForce 2 Series or greater, ATi Radeon 7200 or greater and Similar chips from other manufacturers
Drivers: DirectX 9.0c (included) and latest video drivers

Recommended

OS: Windows System XP / Vista
CPU: Intel Pentium? IV 1.5 GHz or AMD XP 1500+ MHz
RAM: 1024 MB
HD space: 6.0 GB
Video: 128 MB GeForce 6200 class card or higher, ATi 9000 series or higher and Similar chips from other manufacturers
Network: Broadband Internet connection
Drivers: DirectX 9.0c (included) and latest video drivers

With the possible exception of the video card, my laptop fits nicely into the “Recommended” category. Even with the weakness of video card, it is still well above the “Minimum,” which makes me think the “Minimum” is no option at all, since the game is pretty much unplayable now on my laptop.

So, CCP, do something about this. Tune the “Classic Graphics” version so it will at least run as well as it used to with Revelations.

A Simulation Mode

I am going to go out on a limb on this one, as this one comes close to a controversial topic. One of the things that annoys me about EVE Online is that, for a lot of things, there is no way to learn how to do it without actually just trying it. I suppose that is fine for production and invention where you can assess up front how much ISK is really on the line. But when it comes to ship operations and combat, “learn by doing” means “learn by dying.” Fighting NPCs, which is a risk to noobs like me in and of itself, does not train you to take on live opponents.

So what I want is a No Risk/No Reward simulator in which you and maybe two or three other people could join together and fly a simulation of your current ships in a mock battle that lets you try out your configuration and feeds out a parse report at the end on the engagement so you can see how effective you were. Simple, instanced, and completely believable within the technological scope of EVE Online. CCP or their NPCs in game would have to charge ISK to use this simulator, available only in special CONCORD stations, probably based on the size of the ship you wish to simulate (frigates fly cheap, battleships cost more dear, and so on). I want No Risk/No Reward, I did not say it had to be free!

This would allow players to get some experience with their ships without having to replace them if they screw up. In the end, I suspect this would increase the number of real in-game battles, as people would have some degree of confidence in their abilities.

Now somebody is going to come along and say that learning the hard way is “real life,” and they are going to be wrong. For anything in life that is risky, there is almost always more training in advance than EVE gives you. When I went parachuting there was a considerable amount of training before I was allowed to jump out of an airplane on my own. Done the way EVE does it, somebody would have flown me up to 2,500 feet, handed me an unpacked parachute, some goggles, an airline safety-card sized guide to parachuting, and pointed me towards to door… but they would have recommended that I buy life insurance before I jumped.

What I do not want, what I am not asking for here, is some version of the World of Warcraft battlegrounds ported into EVE. I agree with the purists in the heated threads about this on the EVE forums: Such a thing has no place in EVE.

But a ship simulator that can be used for training, that has a cost in ISK but is otherwise No Risk and No Reward? In a technological environment where you spend your time in a pod, this seems like a no-brainer. Hook the pod up to the simulator, set it appropriately, turn on the ISK meter, and let me experiment in my own little play instance of virtual space.

Anything Else?

Those are my five current wishes for EVE Online. They are considerably different from the five I put up just six months ago, and I imagine that that six months down the line, if I am still playing EVE, I will have five different wishes again.

What are your current EVE Online wishes?

18 thoughts on “Five New EVE Online Wishes

  1. Eric

    Nice points, I certainly agree with the simulator and the agents locator. What i do now, is go to eve-agents.com and make a shortlist of the ones I might be interested in and look them up in game. Kind of sad that i need a third party site to look for info that should be in the game itself.

    But now that I have started doing research with Ishukone Corporation, in game mail has a bit more urgency for me. Every once in a while, an in game mail will show up from the R&D agent telling me that research has stopped and that I have to come by and fix the issue, usually by supplying 900 units of tritanium. Since research points accumulate slowly over time, hours spent stuck waiting for me to cough up the tritanium are hours I am getting no points!

    No need to worry over this, it’s just a bit of RP i think. What happens if you do a mission for a research agent, he will double your rp points for the day. Nothing happens if you dont / cant make it on that day, as far as I know :).

    Like

  2. syncaine

    You can log on to SiSi and do all your testings. It’s what most people do when playing around with ship fittings. Ships and fittings are all basically free.

    Like

  3. Kirith Kodachi

    Agreed with Eric: you can ignore those evemails and life is rosy for months on end.

    Also, regarding the simulator: a number of people set up clients to use the test server for this purpose. I am not one of them, but hey, the option is there.

    Like

  4. Bellatroix

    For your first point, I’m going to pimp one of my out-of-game projects:

    http://nonninja.net/eve/assets.php (does *not* work in the IGB at this time)

    While certainly not as good as an in-game solution, I’ve been finding having a slightly more powerful view of assets out-of-game to be pretty helpful. If nothing else, the API itself exposes the contents of containers which you can see in the app which is often worth the price of admission – I use station containers in any system I spend much time in to organize all my stuff.

    In general, coming from WoW, EVE’s UI is… clunky, to be nice about it. It does look like CCP is putting more time into UI improvements (see the latest devblog about overview changes et al) but it’s still pretty far away from where I’d like to see it.

    I think the 3rd party tools for Eve are pretty great but I agree it’d be nice to have some more of these things integrated with the game itself

    Like

  5. Mark

    I really like Eve, I really do. But I have had to put my Eve life on hold since if I only have an hour or two there is little I can achieve not being in a large 0.0 Corp, or not having the hours and hours of time it takes to learn to PVP effectively (or even survive in 0.0).

    So for me it’s mission running and I did that to level 4 in my Raven but the randomness of the missions meant I could get one that takes 20 minutes or worse something like World’s Collide that takes literally a couple of hours. Then I would have to keep hikiong back to pick up the loot in my “loot ship”, all told I could be at it for 5 or 6 hours.

    Therefore I would like a ship I can kill and loot in effectively, Ravens are so slow for picking loot up and with their tiny cargo capacity very ineffective.

    CPC give the casuals some hope, lets have an all rounder ship and some more choice on the length of missions Agents hand out, then I would be back :)

    Like

  6. bluelinebasher

    Eve skydiving — hysterical. Also, 1 parachute out of 4 would be more successful given the weather conditions.

    1) A means for safe travel. All they would have to do is take default shuttle and make it non-fittable (no weapons/targeting/anything) and flag it for non-pvp with the sole purpose of moving to other stations where your gear is. But as it stands now, I get podded in an empty shuttle while in low-sec, so I can’t even get into a ship that pirates would want to farm.

    2) Bigger payoff for taking skills to level V. For a lot of skills there is a very small benefit for taking skills to the max.

    3) A faster way to group people up. COH is the only MMO to do this effectively with the teleport self & other superpowers. If there was a way to jump any ship to other domains with the group leader setting some sort of jump beacon, this would be nice. Not that I group frequently, but when I see someone on they are usually 25 jumps away I’ll either take an hour to get there or usually longer if I get podded.

    4) Some way to make 0.0 more solo accessable. I don’t have the dedicated time to run with a 0.0 corp, and I can’t seem to make it to other areas in the universe because people blockade and pod empty shuttles in low sec. Since all corps are protective of their 0.0 space, everyone is KOS, and entry points are camped. It’s gotten to the point where I expect to lose whatever I take into low sec and 0.0, but it would be nice to have some success to take away from the experience.

    5) Up the environment somehow. Maybe some market tickers or something. Eve gets rather rough when salvaging mission loot or mining, some streaming market or news feeds might be a nice touch, without lagging around with the database. Something like a news report of any average of mineral prices in regions would be a nice addition. Basically there’s a slew of stuff offline for this game, I’m sure CCP can impletement it in-game easily.

    Like

  7. Wilhelm2451 Post author

    On Singularity: I am always very skeptical when the answer to anything involves the test server. Most of the user base in games like this generally does not know or care about the test server. And, being the test server, there is no guarantee of accessibility, reliability, or stability.

    Like

  8. notasnoob

    dude…lol…you are still a noob…

    you can just sort items by region then expand the stations in the system you want…its really not hard.

    Like

  9. notasnoob

    btw…read the first blog…not figuring out the clicking on target think made me laugh for days. but seriously, join EVE-University and become un-noobified.

    i know eve is brutal and the learning curve is insane…but really…some of these wish lists and mistakes you make are things that are so easy to remedy; i cannot believe you took the time to blog about them.

    Like

  10. Wilhelm2451 Post author

    @notasnoob – A fine representative of the EVE community, with such helpful advice and showing the courage of his convictions by posting anonymously.

    Like finding an agent, finding items in the single system I am looking for is possible, but not easy. I have a lot of stuff floating around in different stations across my current region. A simple addition to the search tab would fix my issue.

    Like

  11. Captain Braddock

    What i like to see changed in EVE :

    1 icon change for bpo and bpc so you can see immedialty its a copy
    2 change the fact that ratters can make more ore than miners can (who are dedicated to mining) just by reprocessing the loot they get from rats
    3 autopilot 0m
    4 a timer on each miner to see how long the cycles has remaining lik when you build something in command and conquer(i know i’m old school)
    5 put our corp logo on our ships

    my goals.
    1 get a pos in empire
    2 reach the 50 membecount in the corp
    3 get caldari invention started
    4 own a freighter
    5 own a t2 bpo

    I know nothing special but hey we all need to start small

    that’s my top 5

    Like

  12. michael, St Erroneous

    @Mark: CCP included a class of ship in the Trinity update that, at least partially, is aimed at use by mission runners – the Marauder class, I think. They have half the number of turrets/launcher slots, but each slot does double damage, effectively halving ammo consumption rates, and leaving lots of high slots available for tractors and salvagers. They also have double size cargo bays, and a tract beam range bonus.

    Any of that sound useful for you? :)

    They’re Tech 2 ships, so get lovely Tech 2 resists, but does mean they cost a fortune – around 500M at the moment, I think.

    @Blueline Basher: shuttles already are unfiittable – they have no slots. They’re also (almost) the safest way to travel (I think interceptors may align faster, but it’s a close thing). And pods insta-warp if you’re feeling brave.

    If you want totally safe travel, a jump clone is what you want. I can’t imagine CCP ever implementing an in-space absolutely safe travel method, it would be too easily abused for spying purposes. If they decreased the 24 hour jump clone cooldown time somewhat, that would probably help a lot of people become much more mobile (and able to group up more).

    @Cap Braddock: a module timer graphic is a frequently requested game improvement – it would be useful for a lot of systems. A circular sweep of the green glow around the active module would probably do the trick – say, bright green becoming dark green as a module’s cycle time progresses.

    @notasnoob: Out, damn’d spot!

    Like

  13. Wilhelm2451 Post author

    @michael, St Erroneous

    The jump clone timer is a good thought. I just started using them for an annoying long haul I have to fly to a certain R&D agent and I was surprised that you can only jump once every 24 hours.

    @Eric/Kirith

    I will try ignoring those message. I just get anxious when I get a message (over and over again) that reads, “Our research has been fruitful, but I’ve encountered a snag and our research has been halted. Please contact me as soon as possible.”

    That part about “our research has been halted” seems pretty unambiguous to me, but maybe the agent just craves attention, way out in that 0.3 sec system.

    Like

  14. Tholal

    How about the ability to learn new skills without having to physically fly somewhere and pickup a damn book! What year are we supposed to be in again? They can create clones, implant circuitry in your brain, cross vast interstellar regions via a jumpgate, but somehow, they
    can’t email me the skills book or download it directly to my synapses!

    Like

  15. Marius Deterium

    I get really bothered by people who insist in making Eve into a single player game. What I’m talking about is a poster above looking for safe ways to get around in 0.0 and low sec, or another asking for logistics help with missions, or another asking for 0.0 to be more solo friendly.

    EVE is a MULTI-player game. This means you are SUPPOSED to have to rely on other people. You are SUPPOSED to have to deal with other people. If you want the sort of experience you are describing play Freelancer, or Freespace, or whatever the latest incarnation of that game it. It is very much like Eve, except you don’t have to worry about player pirates, and missions are accessable.

    The main point of Eve is for you to join up with a group of people and not be able to do EVERYTHING youself. If you have a 6 month character and you are still in a NPC corp, you haven’t done any PvP, or you are still in The Forge running missions for the Caldari Navy you are really missing out on 90% of the fun Eve has to offer.

    Eve is set up such that a new player can easily get involved in and be useful in PvP, there is no “end game”. You don’t have to kill badgers over and over until you are level 70. Get over you inhibitions and just jump into it. What is the worst you are going to loose? A ship? Fly cheap ones, don’t plug in implants. Just get out there and do it!

    You don’t need to join some giant mega-alliance either that is going to demand all of your time. I run with a small group in a small alliance and I have far more fun than I did with the big 2000 man allainces.

    I played Eve on for a month, then left my account dead for 6 months 3 or 4 times before I finally decided to make the jump to a 0.0 corp. I now have 3 account and have been playing solid for well over a year.

    The real fun does not come when you play Eve like it’s a single player game, or when you hide in Empire crying for safe travel from here to there. The risk is the fun, just get out there and do it!

    Like

  16. Wedge (Kusabit ingame)

    I agree with the speed of EVE, but i’ll take the slight ding to the wonderful additions they’ve been adding. And their only getting better.

    As for the simulator, that would be awesome! You technically could do that on the test server, although some changes might not make it accurate to tranquility. *Shrug* A thought.

    Like

  17. Draka Dark

    What about having a HUD or cockpit view when flying. That would add real fun to Eve.
    And one more thing , I really get annoyed by all those inframe game menu windows. CCP should make them out of frame so we do not have to switch continuesly from clear screen to menu screen.

    Like

  18. Anonymous

    System Asset Location: This would be nice, but you can almost get there by using the All tab and expanding out the one or two stations within the desired system that you have stuff stored, so I guess I’m a bit surprised that this would be in a top-5 list.

    Agent Locator Interface: Yes, something like eve-agents.com would be great to have in-game.

    Like

Comments are closed.