Losing Two Ships

Another reminder that it is EVE Online that I am playing, and not the Happy, Happy Elf Game.

Moving back to Caldari space has taken me some time, but it is pretty much done now. Running cargo through the same 16 jumps was dull work. Not being patient enough to drive every run in person, I let most runs fly via autopilot to their destination while I did something else.

I did not give this much thought. Having moved both to Amarr space earlier this year and then back to Caldari space, I must have passed the 50 mark for round trips some time ago, and I have never had a problem.

Last weekend I had a window of opportunity to move some stuff, so I got out the hauler and made the trip on manual to get in a run while I could.

On the first trip back, I noticed a lot of CONCORD ships sitting at one of the gates in Niarja.

That’s a lot of ships!

Later, I made another manual run and noticed that there were still a LOT of CONCORD ships around the gate.

That is enough for a policeman’s ball or some such.

Still, I did not give it much thought, all those NPC enforcers hanging around one gate. After all, there didn’t seem to be many around the gate at the other end of the system.

That last run secured most of the key items for my main. Now I wanted to get my alt, the miner, and his equipment back to Caldari space.

Thankfully, he can fit most of what he needs immediately in a single Badger. So I packed him off and pointed him towards Caldari space. I had some stuff to do, so I put him on autopilot and let him go, keeping and eye on him as I could.

I took a peek at the computer a while later, and there he sat, in his POD.

CRAP! WHAT HAPPENED!?!

Look at the log:

Victim: Selirus Szin
Corp: Twilight Cadre
Alliance: NONE
Faction: Caldari State
Destroyed: Badger
System: Niarja
Security: 0.5
Damage Taken: 1834
Involved parties:Name: Red Dingo (laid the final blow)
Security: 0.0
Corp: Residual Rampage
Alliance: NONE
Faction: NONE
Ship: Brutix
Weapon: Heavy Neutron Blaster II
Damage Done: 1834

Well damn! Brazen Piracy! Smash and grab! And in a high security system!

Yeah, that CONCORD outing in Niarja, that was a warning sign I guess. It seems that there was a corp sitting at the gate away from all the NPCs, zapping people as they cruised by on autopilot and looting their wrecks.

I pulled Wilhelm out, got him in his hauler, and headed back to see if there was anything left.

Of course, there was nothing. The had a freighter sitting there by the gate to hold all their booty.

Time to assess the loss.

The Badger. Well, that is about 290,000 ISK. Not insubstantial, but some ISK. Plus it was insured, so I got some cash back. Certainly not the first hauler I have lost.

The Badger’s fittings. Two expanded cargohold II modules, worth about 1.5 million ISK each. Well, that is a bit of a pain. ISK starts to have meaning once measured in millions, but I can replace that.

The Badger’s cargo. Oh, what did we have inside?

Destroyed items:
Condensed Scordite, Qty: 5932 (Cargo)
Modulated Strip Miner II, Qty: 2 (Cargo)
Pyroxeres Mining Crystal I, Qty: 2 (Cargo)
Veldspar Mining Crystal II, Qty: 3 (Cargo)
Scordite Mining Crystal I, Qty: 3 (Cargo)
Crystal Compound (Cargo)
J5b Phased Prototype Warp Inhibitor I (Cargo)
Cold-Gas I Arcjet Thrusters (Cargo)
Bloodclaw Light Missile (Cargo)
Hobgoblin I, Qty: 7 (Cargo)
Medium Hybrid Turret (Cargo)
Dropped items:

Modulated Strip Miner II (Cargo)
Drone Sharpshooting (Cargo)
Pyroxeres Mining Crystal I, Qty: 7 (Cargo)
Veldspar Mining Crystal II, Qty: 12 (Cargo)
Scordite Mining Crystal I, Qty: 2 (Cargo)
Mining Laser Upgrade II, Qty: 2 (Cargo)
Survey Scanner I (Cargo)
Multifrequency S (Cargo)
Scordite, Qty: 9482 (Cargo)
Gatling Pulse Laser I (Cargo)
Gleaming Alloy (Cargo)
Hulk (Cargo)
Small Shield Extender I (Cargo)
Expanded Cargohold II, Qty: 2 (Cargo)
Hornet I, Qty: 9 (Cargo)
Condensed Alloy (Cargo)

A few things of value in there… like my Hulk mining barge!

The Hulk and its fittings… over 100 million ISK.

Oh, and a ship that has be packaged up for hauling… no insurance.

Welcome to EVE Online.

On the bright side, while I was checking out the prices on Hulks, somebody purchased the Rokh I previously built, which boosted my bank account by 127 million ISK, temporarily putting me over the half billion ISK mark.

But now I must go ship shopping.

13 thoughts on “Losing Two Ships

  1. Kirith Kodachi

    If you’re going to do afk hauling through High Sec, get Tech II Deep Space Transports. Their defenses are 10 times that of Tech I industrials and much much harder to gank. Its worth the investment. Not to mention Blockade Runners (same skills) are very good haulers too.

    Like

  2. Godlesswanderer

    Wow, that CONCORD fleet has been there for quite a while. I posted a blog post about it around three weeks ago.

    CONCORD Gatecamp?!

    It’d make sense that they’re there to keep the pirates at bay but what doesn’t make sense is that they’ve been there for three weeks.

    Like

  3. Adam Tiler

    Oh, ouch. I, too, am a hauler. While I have not suffered so great a loss in a single incident (I don’t think), I hardly ever travel outside of a corp convoy. If I were towing a hundred million ISK fitted ship, though, there’s no way I would be AFK anywhere. I have been dusted in Empire far too many times for that.

    Not to sound scolding, of course; travel is dull as ditchwater and pirates are rare enough in high sec that sometimes it seems worth the risk. I travel mainly in null and low sec now, so it’s sort of a moot point.

    Like

  4. syncaine

    Yea sorry to hear about the loss, that’s a killer. Good thing you have plenty of ISK to replace it all, as annoying as that is.

    Like

  5. Pingback: The Common Sense Gamer » Eve - Kicking my Ass

  6. Eric

    Ouch :(. If you know where these camps are (Sivala – Uedama is another one), you can warp to 0 around there and afterwards use the autopilot.

    I hardly ever move anything of value in the hauler though, if you move something like bpos use a battlecruiser or something alike. Moving a Hulk is another matter, might have to warp to 0 it to it’s destination next time, which is a bit tedious.

    Like

  7. WTM

    Ouch….

    I recently started a new character in empire for trading, and have rapidly noticed how much more prevalant suicide ganking is now (versus 1.5 years ago).

    I’m finding I’m ding the trip between my two markets manually, but luckily living mainly in 0.0 I’ve got used to 20-40+ jump round trips.

    The best solutions I’ve found is fit inert stabs, helps you align and warp faster, and in conjunction with warp to zero, has saved my hauler a fair few times already.

    Like

  8. Wilhelm2451 Post author

    Oddly enough, I flew through the other night and now all the Concord ships are at the other gate. No doubt these gankings draw them over after a while and the pirate corp has to change gates. Not that it makes difference if you’re making round trips like I was.

    Like

  9. cryonic

    Ouch – a salutory warning to us all. Ive never lost a hauler yet to such an attack , but ive had a few near misses – mainly when hauling large consignments of megacyte from Amarr. I never do it afk with a valuable cargo though.

    Like

Comments are closed.